Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall mayamanju

12 Jun 2021

Food
Service
Value for Money
“good food”
very good food and service. one of the best restaurant in Johannesburg that I have visited so far. recommended to all.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall rohan2109
Johannesburg, South Africa
10 Jun 2021

“Dissapointed”
Booked for lunch. First time visit and anticipated a great afternoon with amazing food. Sadly my Kerala fish curry was basically tasteless with small chunks of fish. My guest was happy with chicken korma. Service not great, no cutlery offered for mains.Worst part was a mouse running across the floor in the middle of the meal!Over priced and over rated based on my experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Benjamin_Dey

03 Mar 2021

“Good place to go in Jozi”
Top class food and masala tea, thank you guys. A place I will visit again for sure. Love from a Cape Townian.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall CATHY14372

27 Feb 2021

“Amazzzing food... And best service”
It was our 3rd visit and on all 3 occasions it was the same... Great service.. Devine tasting food...The waiter was on point.. Paying attention and topping us up before we could even ask.. Food is jus amazing.. Devine...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall SHAOK111
Fourways, South Africa
13 Dec 2020

“Extraordinary service and amazing food”
My new favorite spot, for a quick home cooked lunch and dinner, especially the Tandoori chicken. Thava Norwood always been such a pleasurable experience that you want to go back everytime. Friendly service, mouth watering food that never disappoints everytime. Thank you Saiju, for the pleasant welcome and amazing service.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Wickwashere
Cape Town Central, South Africa
09 Dec 2020

“Hands down best Indian in Johannesburg”
One of the best Indian meals I’ve had in my life with the friendliest service. We will most definitely be back!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Travelers23790643

04 Dec 2020

“Superb experience”
Was love this place,Food is always Delicious Awesome service and always Good vibes We will back again and again ..
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall mayamanju

04 Dec 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“The best Indian restaurant in Johannesburg”
Absolutely fabulous experience. We ordered veg plater for 2 for starters and for mains Lamb biryani and chicken chettinadu. Lamb biryani was superb so as chicken chettinadu. Waiter was very friendly .Its a must visit Indian restaurant in Johannesburg. The prices are reasonable.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall tastelife
London, United Kingdom
02 Dec 2020

“#Thavaindianrestaurant Not for #Indians?”
#Thavaindianrestaurant it is understandable that a non-Indian person would never be able to discern a fresh dish served from a stale one. One must have grown-up with spices to realise that difference with food that has been cooked before today. Well, today you tried to “pull a fast one on me” on notifying you, you provided a replacement meal - noting “this one is good” thus implying without shame that you served me a stale meal...shame on you! Given that your prices are the most expensive in #ward73 in comparison to any restaurant - you now using stealth to profit of your customers by serving old food and increasing the spices so we can’t taste the difference. I’d stopped visiting the restaurant for I’d previously complained about the excess fats and oil to the food which provided little taste to the high price tag requested. It’s sad that those “not Indian” or used to spices would not be able to discern and be assisting in paying premium for fine dining well in fact paying for substandard dishes. We know times are tougher with COVID but have a heart - give the customer value for their money! As a previously loyal patron this is not how you reward loyalty! Or maybe I should have also ordered some alcohol so to have bypassed the element of taste!#Norwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Tully J
Singapore, Singapore
02 May 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Nice location , nice ambience, nice food”
Located in the Monte Casino, its very convenient and well located on the entrance of the casino floor. very good seating, good menu choice, the staff is very courteous and waiters are helpful. glad to find this place open till 10 pm and not to run for quality food while playing.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Thava Indian Restaurant - Norwood
Book a Table
Contact Thava Indian Restaurant - Norwood
Contact Us
Address
44 The Avenue & Grove Road
The Gardens
Norwood

 

View map
Food Served
IndianLight MealsTraditionalVegetarian
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:30
Facilities
Outside Catering
Takeaways
Functions
Wi-Fi
Secure Parking
Disabled
Outside Seating
Weddings
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2021 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT