Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
  • Media Reviews
Overall DayTrip603519
Stellenbosch, South Africa
08 Jun 2019

“Business dinner for 15 people and felt embarrassed. Food averidge en sorbet ineatable.”
Very sad but will not visit again soon. Expensive for average food. What happed to wonderful sauces of Micheal [-] . The sorbet was so sour nobody finished it. So sad that our wonderful restaurant has deteriorated, we will not go back soon if ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall hjferguson86
Somerset West, South Africa
30 May 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Excellent Birthday supper”
We visited earlier on in the month and had their two course winter special. The food was excellent and I can highly recommend the lamb!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Meganvdp
Cape Town, South Africa
29 May 2019

“Absolutely delicious”
We visited for a family birthday and what a treat this was. The reception was warm and friendly, the staff knowledgeable and efficient. The winter special menu is such a good offer, that the outstanding meal that followed was a real treat. Every plate was meticulous and the flavour combinations exciting. Can’t wait to go back!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall GustavPotgieter
Somerset West, South Africa
26 May 2019

“Beautiful presented food!”
The food's presentation was absolutely stunning and the portions ample.De Kleine Zalze 's tasting room is next door, should you like to try their wines before lunch or dinner.Seating is available inside or outside under the oak trees.The lamb cutlets and Apple mille feuille can be recommended.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall bigdude57
Hoorn, The Netherlands
26 Mar 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Where everything works.....”
So now and then you encounter these rare gems, like Terroir on the Kleine Zalze vineyard just outside Stellenbosch. A place that looks, when it rains, more like a clubhouse of a moderate Scottish rugbyclub than a good dining place. If it is a warm night the terrace gives that extra touch. Not this night.Despite that early autumn rain we - the six of us - really had a very very very - yes x 3 - enjoyable evening. The food is fresh and looks tempting. A good wine list and last but not least the best waitress we experienced during our trip thru the Western Cape. Gentle but decisive, welspoken, patience and elegant. What a joy! Thank you Terroir.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Deborah C
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
18 Mar 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Hit and miss”
We had an amazing experience the first time we visited terroir in 2018 - the prawn risotto starter was the highlight. We went back again and ordered this dish as a main - it was just not the same - the risotto was more like porridge and the dish was bland and lukewarm - nothing like we had experienced last year. - it was also expensive at R310 a dish. This time we sat inside the restaurant, and the restaurant lacks atmosphere and is quite dark. The service was good and efficient. We were definitely disappointed overall.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall David S
London, United Kingdom
16 Feb 2019

“Dinner”
Superb setting for this restaurant in the owners wine estate. Fabulous food. We were lucky enough to be able to dine outside in a lovely courtyard area. Very attentive staff made this a great experience. Would thoroughly recommend this restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall nikkiw737
Welton, United Kingdom
11 Feb 2019

“Up to normal standards”
We chose to eat outside which is a lovely setting, but you are given the option of moving inside if it gets too cold. There was a good choice on the menu (we can highly recommend the jam roly poly for pudding) and the staff are pleasant. All in all a very pleasant evening with our friends.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall EnglandKevin
england
07 Feb 2019

“Disappointed”
We have visited Terroir since 2004 but have not been back for the last 3 years. Staff very nice food I am sure was well presented but as we eat outside we couldn’t see what we were eating. I had the prawn starter which was nice But 2 of us had then the fish which was cooked very nicely but what the chef was thinking with the sauces and ingredients god knows it just didn’t work. We dine at many top restaurants and I never post comments but this was very disappointing. In fact disappointing is a compliment.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JohnJen27

07 Feb 2019

“My best restaurant”
Terroir has been our best restaurant for years and yesterday we visited it again with friends. As always the food was superb and the waiting staff tried to be attentive but the whole evening was spoilt by the food taking literally hours to reach us. We waited one and a half hours for our main course - perhaps Michael Broughton is away and the kitchen couldn’t cope. We will always be back but hope this glitch will be rectified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Terroir
Book a Table
Contact Terroir
Contact Us
Address
Kleine Zalze Wine Estate
Strand Road (R44)
Stellenbosch
7603

 

View map
Food Served
Cape Provencale
Average Price$$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Tuesday - Sunday Lunch: 12:00 - 14:30
Tuesday - Saturday Dinner 18:30 - 21:00
Closed on Mondays
Facilities
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Disabled
Accommodation
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT