Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
  • Media Reviews
Overall David S
London, United Kingdom
16 Feb 2019

“Dinner”
Superb setting for this restaurant in the owners wine estate. Fabulous food. We were lucky enough to be able to dine outside in a lovely courtyard area. Very attentive staff made this a great experience. Would thoroughly recommend this restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall nikkiw737
Welton, United Kingdom
11 Feb 2019

“Up to normal standards”
We chose to eat outside which is a lovely setting, but you are given the option of moving inside if it gets too cold. There was a good choice on the menu (we can highly recommend the jam roly poly for pudding) and the staff are pleasant. All in all a very pleasant evening with our friends.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall EnglandKevin
england
07 Feb 2019

“Disappointed”
We have visited Terroir since 2004 but have not been back for the last 3 years. Staff very nice food I am sure was well presented but as we eat outside we couldn’t see what we were eating. I had the prawn starter which was nice But 2 of us had then the fish which was cooked very nicely but what the chef was thinking with the sauces and ingredients god knows it just didn’t work. We dine at many top restaurants and I never post comments but this was very disappointing. In fact disappointing is a compliment.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JohnJen27

07 Feb 2019

“My best restaurant”
Terroir has been our best restaurant for years and yesterday we visited it again with friends. As always the food was superb and the waiting staff tried to be attentive but the whole evening was spoilt by the food taking literally hours to reach us. We waited one and a half hours for our main course - perhaps Michael Broughton is away and the kitchen couldn’t cope. We will always be back but hope this glitch will be rectified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall BerkshireJandJ
Hampshire, United Kingdom
06 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Drove out from Camps Bay to come here”
This place was on our list to try as we have been coming to SouthAfrica for 5 years and have yet to visit so many places! A few tables were occupied outside but we ventured inside and we’re offered a shaded table on either of 2 balconies. Perfect and private setting ... just what we wanted. We had a nice bread platter and my husband had a starter of Tuna Carpaccio followed by Grilled Seabass. I had the Venison which melted in my mouth with an interesting crumble and roasted vegetables. I do not like tuna but tried some of his starter and wished I’d ordered it! The meal was delicious but the wait between starters and mains was too long. Sorbet to follow for me and fresh fruit for my hubby. We would gladly return.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall medea52
Rozendaal, The Netherlands
27 Jan 2019

“Very tastefully in nice surroundings”
We had diner with our friends on a long table outside. The food was very well presented and tasted great. Of course the Zalze wines were a wonderful companion to the food. The service was great.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Al D
Somerset West, South Africa
17 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Return visit with friends.”
It's a long time since we last visited this restaurant but I'm please to say they are still right up there with the best.The staff member who took care of us was excellent. In spite of them having a problem with their wine stacks due to a fire, she was able to find our desired wines. The kitchen still great, good quality produce arrives at the table,excellent game and fish dishes. Well done Chef and your team.*Can't comment on the lighting, we visited at midday.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall LizP1234
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
15 Jan 2019

“Fabulous!!”
We arrived to a very warm reception from our waitress Ossi and were offered a choice of tables. We sat under the tented canopy overlooking the gardens. It is a beautiful setting with a relaxed ambiance. Ossi positioned a large menu chalk board in-front of us and gave a wonderful description of the meals. I chose the prawn risotto which was lovely and my husband had the tuna carpaccio, also a very tasty dish. We both had the venison main course which really was a fabulous plate of flavours and a very generous sized portion. Michael the owner came and chatted with us and gave us some wonderful suggestions of other places to visit on our 3 week trip. All of the staff were friendly and fun, which really made for a lovely evening. I would highly recommend Terroir and will definitely visit again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Weddingexpert
Cape Town
27 Dec 2018

“Underwhelming”
After having lunched at Terroir as a Christmas break highlight for many years - my recent visit left my utterly underwhelmed and disappointed. The indoor ambience is dated and dark, the outdoor atmosphere busy and the concrete table settings beyond basic. Our drinks, bread & two courses all arrived within less than an hour - we felt rushed through the menu. The starters were ok (although not memorable) but overpriced by SA standards - our lamb main course arrived cold and the fish (whilst nice) was so simple that it too did not warrant the price tag. The service was functionally friendly - rather than engaging and passionate.We ended up leaving without having a dessert - as the first two courses were simply underwhelming and the atmosphere not one we wanted to stay in any longer. It's a shame that the once remarkable food has lost its appeal entirely.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ErnstGouws
Pretoria
16 Dec 2018

“Pleasantly surprised!”
First time back at Terroir in over two years. Read some mixed reviews recently. We were pleasantly surprised with the creative, flavoursome and well presented dishes. Service was good and the setting remains special.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Terroir
Book a Table
Contact Terroir
Contact Us
Address
Kleine Zalze Wine Estate
Strand Road (R44)
Stellenbosch
7603

 

View map
Food Served
Cape Provencale
Average Price$$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Tuesday - Sunday Lunch: 12:00 - 14:30
Tuesday - Saturday Dinner 18:30 - 21:00
Closed on Mondays
Facilities
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Disabled
Accommodation
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT