Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
  • Media Reviews
Overall PAR249
Southampton, United Kingdom
31 Jan 2020

“Our favourite in Stellenbosch.”
An amazing restaurant with fantastic staff.Ate here twice whilst in Stellenbosch and could not fault it. Highly recommend it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 704felipeg

30 Jan 2020

“Amazing food experience”
Awesome! Lots of flavors, lots of good mixings and excelent food! Gerald was perfect. Me and my wife had such a great night and great experience! A must go!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall chrishK5181ZK
Sandton, South Africa
10 Jan 2020

“Delicious food but overpriced”
The food was absolutely spectacular and we loved it. There is also an extensive wine list.The restaurant is set in the gardens of Kleine Zalze wine estate and, while it is beautiful, it doesn’t have the spectacular views that some of the surrounding wine estate restaurants have.The food is more expensive than your average upper class restaurant. The beef fillet was R320.00, and a fillet at a good restaurant will normally cost around R200.00The high prices did not detract from the wonderful taste of the food. Expect a great meal and a large bill.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Cagrogers

01 Jan 2020

“Hard to find value for money”
If you ask me if I enjoyed my meal, I did. If I had a enjoyable night out, I did. But I feel like it’s just too expensive. R175 (not sure of the exact price but it’s somewhere there) is the most I have paid for chicken liver parfait, R325 is the most I have paid for a steak, was it the best I have ever had, no. 3 stars might be a bit harsh, because the staff were great, food was more than good. But the place is just to expensive.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall NickvdM82

23 Dec 2019

“Great food. Great service.”
Great food. Great service. Wine list was solid but young vintages. A reserve list would be a great addition.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Dorie67

01 Dec 2019

“12h00 to 13h30”
I did not experience the staff to be that good. It all depend on who you get. Between our two starters and two mains two were excellent and two were intersting but the tastes clashed. It's personnel opinion. Still a good esperience but expensive on SA standards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall john l
wheathampstead
28 Nov 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“This local just gets better and better!”
We have been dining here for over 10 years now and the food has now definitely reached one star Michelin standard. There is no long winded menu - 3/4 mains of the day with great starters like swordfish carpaccio with a mild honey dressing and a superb "steamed" kingklip in a very unusual light soy/duck dressing - just excellent!! The staff have almost all been there also for years and genuinely want you to enjoy and come back, plus they can give detailed explanations of the dishes.Location for those who have never been at the Terroir is just perfect!While they do serve very very expensive local wines , stick to their own De Zalze list -especially the Grenache.Price - this is in ZA terms expensive but more than worth it. For us Europeans its fine dining at a discount.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Mark C
Cambridge, United Kingdom
27 Nov 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Highly recommended”
We've been here a couple of times for lunch on the terrace before, but last time it was so good we decided to go for dinner on this visit to Stellenbosch. It did not disappoint. It's very casual / has a great informal atmosphere, which is great for such a high quality establishment. The manager was great, seating us first outside and then letting us quickly move inside when my wife decided it was going to be too cold. The table service was really good and the food was excellent. ALso, being a winery, and quite a good one at that, you have a great range of wines by the glass to match with your courses.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall nolanar
Cardiff, United Kingdom
27 Nov 2019

“Good food”
It’s in a house area and golf course. Head up to the security house and they take photos of your driving license and your car plates.The restaurant is nice, dark interior with two outdoor areas. We sat in one of the two terrace facing the gardens.Had the ceviche which was good followed by the beef which was also good. The house bubbly was average and the Chardonnay was suprisingly good.The desert with shoe pastry was good.Waitering was attentive.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Shocking
Berkshire
23 Nov 2019

“Just perfect”
Had a fabulous meal on the terrace. Risotto the best I’ve ever tasted and the duck sharing dish was excellent. Chalmene our server was lovely and made the experience even better. Can’t wait to visit again next time we are there.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Terroir
Book a Table
Contact Terroir
Contact Us
Address
Kleine Zalze Wine Estate
Strand Road (R44)
Stellenbosch
7603

 

View map
Food Served
Cape Provencale
Average Price$$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Tuesday - Sunday Lunch: 12:00 - 14:30
Tuesday - Saturday Dinner 18:30 - 21:00
Closed on Mondays
Facilities
Fireplace
Secure Parking
Disabled
Outside Seating
Accommodation
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT