Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall LAMBORETTI

14 Feb 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“A day trip to Gordons Bay & back to the Strand and Surfside Restaurant for lunch”
A booking was made for 40 Residents from Pinelands Place. We were seated in a seperate section of the restaurant over looking False Bay and the Strand seaside,The service was good and the food served was also excellant. The atmosphere was pleasant and the outlook from our seating was perfect just looking out to sea.The owner Andrew Morton paid a visit to the patrons and wished us a pleasant meal.All meals served were pre ordered as a list of individual meal choice by each resident was mailed prior to arriving. This made the meal service flow easily and ech received their meal of choice timeousley. Thanks to our waiter that worked hard to serve and please one and all.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Smw61c

12 Jan 2020

“Arrogant waiter”
When arriving we saw the shusi menu in front, we were seated, waited for 15min, we asked for the shusi menu, waiter reply i dont know how you could have missed it in front as we came for JHB we're not used to this as there are no instruction in font. He was rude, could have expailned that they dont have shusi menus, the menu can be view in front
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside349, Manager at Surfside Restaurant, responded to this review.
Good afternoon.Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We certainly do not condone any intentional rudeness from our staff and will definitely follow up with the team on shift on Sunday 12 January and address the matter. Kind regardsSurfside Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Roelfvdm
Observatory, South Africa
31 Dec 2019

“Please update the place”
I grew up in Strand and we always had our special occasions at Surfside, so I have find memories.I recently went back home to visit my parents and decided to go to Surfside because of our history there.I was shocked to see that the placeooks basically exactly the same as it did in the 90's. Literally still the same tables and chairs etc. They have just been painted.The menu wasn't too great either. Not bad, just not great.This used to be a wonderful place, but I dont think I'll go back again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall jennifermB6747LN
Augusta, Georgia
22 Sep 2019

“Birthday Celebration”
Surf side Restaurant is located near the Strand Pavilion. We enjoyed our meal and the ambience of the restaurant. The staff were attentive and took the time to respond to our questions.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall NeilMarietjie
Western Cape, South Africa
16 Sep 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Dinner for 2. and breakfast”
After i read the numerous negative reports on Trip adviser i was very concerned. We had breakfast and dinner there and the staff were very friendly and competent . The breakfast was fine and the dinner good. They even went out of their way to get me mustard at Spar across the road for my Eishbein .The waitress Martha good,friendly and efficient.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall julian b
Parow, South Africa
14 Aug 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“A farewell dinner”
This venue was chosen to bid farewell to family members leaving for South Korea. We were allocated a separate room to the main restaurant where we could enjoy family fun which was a huge success. The steak ordered was cooked to perfection, a perfect medium rare and the prices were quite reasonable. Unfortunately they never got the prawns right, which were quite over cooked and dry. This was my previous concern as well when I visited this restaurant. Try avoiding the prawns and you will enjoy the experience of the venue, situated partly into the sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall mariaan_volschenk
Brackenfell, South Africa
03 Jul 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“fAMILY OUTING TO THE SURFSIDE RESTAURANT AS WE STAYED AT STRAND PAVILION”
Wonderful view, but we expected more from the food. Service was average, but then the restaurant was also not so busy - minimum staff. If you want to enjoy seafood, i will recommend Ocean basket at the Ocean Breeze hotel in Strand. Just to relax with a drink and enjoy a nice view, maybe with a basic order of fish and chips, I will recommend The Surfside restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall AartiS331
Cape Town, South Africa
28 May 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Sunday lunch”
The Surfside restaurant is perfectly positioned on Strand Beach. Awesome 180degree views of the ocean. On Sundays they have a carvery buffet and 50% of cocktails. Great value for money and excellent service. They also have great daily specials.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Amanda B
Strand, South Africa
29 Apr 2019

“Tea and coffee with friends”
We visited Surfside with friends for tea and coffee. We specifically asked for warm coffee and cappechino. Sorry to say, but the coffee and cappechino was cold and and when we received our tea, our friends already finished their coffee and cappechino. I think the worst was the tip wee gave the waiter and discovered afterwords that a 10% service was added to the bill! And that for 6 drinks?!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall avdberg2017
Johannesburg, South Africa
21 Mar 2019

“Surfside restaurant”
Great restaurant right in the sea with the best sunset views from your table. fantastic food with specials daily. also happy hours on cocktail that are really very tasteful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside349, Manager at Surfside Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you for visiting us and giving your positive feedback.We are pleased you enjoyed your experience at Surfside Restaurant.Kind regardsSurfside Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Surfside Restaurant
Book a Table
Contact Surfside Restaurant
Contact Us
Address
Strand Pavilion Centre
Beach Road
Strand

 

View map
Food Served
SeafoodBreakfastGrillsSushi
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Coffee Shop:
Monday - Sunday: 08:00 - 18:00
Restaurant:
Sunday - Thursday:
12:00 - 22:00
Friday & Saturday:
12:00 - 23:00
Facilities
Child Friendly
Outside Catering
TV/Sports
Take Out
Smoking Section
Functions
Dancefloor
Wi-Fi
Fireplace
Secure Parking
Disabled
Weddings
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT