Website
Weather
OverviewMenuReviews
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall vusivokwana

07 Jun 2021

“Dining while Black and female is not permitted”
Every. Single. Time. I try to come into this restaurant without a male companion, I am not served. It is made abundantly clear, by servicing every single table around me with exceptional vigour, that patriarchy lives here. I have complained to management on multiple occasions without any change in behavior. It's 2021 and a black woman is not allowed to be in this restaurant without a male escorting her. This is a disgusting experience and should not be allowed to continue.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Rachelle A
George, South Africa
03 Dec 2019

“Slow service”
We met for coffee, but the waiter took forever to bring the coffee and red cappuccino which was Luke warm when it was served. He promised to bring honey, but that took so long that I had to ask twice.By then my drink was completely cold, The manager brought me a hot cappuccino with honey. I might give them a second chance but not a very good first impression.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ericnC4384IN

24 Nov 2019

“Cozy but slow on service”
Place is great and cozy but the wait is a bit long. Had to pay for my drinks and left to another place.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall TinaM4761
Western Cape, South Africa
04 Nov 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Pleasant”
Service was not as welcoming but it was not too bad. Food was okay and the atmosphere is quiet and pleasant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Robert K
Cape Town Central, South Africa
27 Jun 2019

“Mr”
We went for lunch here and had the hake and chips, it was the best hake i have had in a very long time. The service was great and the prices very reasonable. Great place to relax and eat out and wi fi was very helpful for anyone looking to do some work.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Chantelle N
Cape Town
08 May 2019

“'Ni ici ni la'”
Venue - fabulousOutdoor patio - my favourite was the swing seat, sun behind me on a chilly day, GREATCellar - was ok, had it been underground, more intriqueThe first bottle of wine - returned (delicious hint of vinegar)The little touches such as popcorn snacks, great. The heaters, awesome, the offer of blankets (still waiting). Great idea if followed through. Would probably have stayed longer and spent more.The Food :(, we ordered the burgers as my colleague raved about it. NOPE, NEVER AGAIN. Lacking... flavour, sauce, volume, something. Thoroughly enjoyed the chips ,(don't do the butternut chips unless that's your thing.Would I visit the wine bar again, probably. But I would pop over to noisy Tigers Milk for a bite to eat and then return.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Enibas101
Johannesburg, South Africa
17 Mar 2019

“Service excruciating slow”
The service at this Restaurant is excruciating slow, especially for a business hotel. I am already sitting for 25 min and haven’t even received my drink that was ordered as I arrived. I just wanted a drink and a quick bite before going to bed. At this rate, I’m going to be here until midnight...The food is lovely. But the white wine that eventually arrives is warm, and the bar has run out of ice. Seriously ?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine43584983871, Manager at Square Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this review.
Dear GuestThank you for taking the time to review Square Cafe & Wine Bar, we are sorry for your disappointment during your experience at our restaurant. Your comments have been duly noted and addressed timeously with the team. I can assure you this is not the service we pride ourselves on at Square Cafe , we appreciate your feedback as this helps us identify any shortcomings & move forward to improvise.I hope you will visit us again in order for us to showcase Square Cafe in a different light altogether, if afforded the opportunity.However should it be feasible, I request you to share your contact details with me to reach out to you. Best regards,Restaurant Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall rgrizane
Cape Town Central, South Africa
30 Oct 2018

“Wine and snack on a weekday”
It was our wedding anniversary on Monday and since it is a week day (work and kids school run the next morning). We only had about an hour we could spare and decided to go for a quick glass of wine and some snack in the area (Milnerton / Century City)We had no booking and decided to rather go to Square Cafe instead of the neighbor - Tigers Milk that is more group friendly and can be loud. Parked at underground parking, paid 10 Zar. We chose from unusual wines: 65- 85 Zar per glass and took a cheese platter from desert section under 100 Zar. Wine selection is better if one takes a bottle. We shared the cheese platter which was surprisingly filling.I generally don't like eating out as it takes too long (in my opinion), but this time it was just PERFECT!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanV1038, Manager at Square Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this review.
Dear rgrizaneThank you so much for your review. We love wine and try to showcase a few hidden gems at good prices. We also offer a complimentary wine tasting every Wednesday from 17:00 to 19:00 available for everyone with a love for Wine.Hope to see you at the next one.Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall GerardHome
San Francisco, California
03 Oct 2018

“Try the fish dishes. Fresh and scrumptious.”
I did not expect this kind of food from a mid-range hotel restaurant. My only criticism is the playlist in the lobby. Too loud and out of sync with time of day. Hard rock at breakfast? But you can always sit outside!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanV1038, Manager at Square Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this review.
Dear Gerard Thank you so much for your positive review. Outside on our terrace is perfect for breakfast. We are all about Celebrating and with the holiday season around the corner we have found some exciting music to add to our playlist which will definitely get everyone in the mood to relax and enjoy. Thank you for your review we really appreciate the feedback.Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall debbiemC7281HS
Goodwood, South Africa
19 Aug 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Lunch Birthday treat”
It was my birthday and i was looking for somewhere new to take a few girl friends. I had seen Square Cafe so I booked a table for lunch. I asked if it would be possible to order a cupcake for each friend to have with coffee after lunch and they were very willing to assist. I didn't specify any preference and they quoted me a price which i was happy with. The ladies and myself all enjoyed the lunch we ordered. We found the prices at lunch to be average and affordable. They have a wine room where you can order your wine. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive. The manager popped by to see how we were enjoying ourselves. My friend, who arrived early, asked the waitress to please arrange a "birthday" cake for me as a surprise and it was wonderful. They went to a lot of trouble to put each cupcake in a presentation box in case the guest wanted to take it home. Except for a few service hiccups, we all felt we would return.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan V, Manager at Square Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this review.
Thank you so much for your review Debbie, We are very big on celebrations, especially birthdays so I am glad you enjoyed yourselves. Your support means so much to us and we would love for you to dine with us again whether a special occasion or even a quick coffee. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Regards, Square Cafe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Square Cafe & Wine Bar
Book a Table
Contact Square Cafe & Wine Bar
Contact Us
Address
No. 3 Energy Lane,
Bridgeways Precinct
Century City
7441

 

View map
Food Served
Global/InternationalBreakfastDeli
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday:
06:30 - 23:30
Facilities
Child Friendly
Wi-Fi
Secure Parking
Disabled
Outside Seating
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2021 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT