Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall thandi778
Tubingen, Germany
18 Feb 2020

“Lovely location”
We had a long, lazy lunch at SALT. It is located on Paul Cluver Wine Estate which is known for being very environment conscious. The menu is somewhat small, but sufficient in diversity. The food is delicious, portions are sufficient. Our waiter was probably new and so not very on the ball, but the food and views made up for it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Dewald R
Cape Town Central, South Africa
15 Feb 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Next Level”
If you are looking for an amazing food experience in the Grabouw valley then you have to visit Salt @ Paul Cluver, the restaurant opened by chefs Craig Cormack and Beau du Toit. Located on the N2 between Somerset West and the Hermanus turn-off, just take the Paul Cluver turn-off at the Kromco Apple Factory. As you walk up to the restaurant there are beautiful green lawns bordered by big trees with the restaurant on the far end. As it was their birthday we were greeted with a glass of Simonsig MCC. We decided to sit outside as it was a beautiful day and we wanted to take in more of the scenery, but there is also inside seating with more than enough space so you won't feel cramped. While we were perusing the menu for our starters they gave us some of their freshly baked pretzels top nibble on. Our waiters, who were very friendly and well versed regarding the various items on the menu, gave us a walk-through of the different salts available on the table, which was very interesting. They also recommend which salts to pair with the specific dish you choose. Everything from the starters and mains to the desserts was beautifully presented. With each dish all the items on the plate worked perfectly together to give you a next-level taste experience, and afterwards we felt completely satisfied. I can highly recommend the springbok rump main as well as the "soutribbetjies" (salted deboned lamb ribs) main which was delicious. Their wine list has all Paul Cluver's wines available so you can go for a tasting beforehand, see what you like and then enjoy another glass with your meal. My wife also tried some of their homemade lemonade which she said was tasty and refreshing, To end it all off we got some birthday cake to take back home with us. We had such an amazing experience from start to finish and I would just like to thank all the staff for such an amazing experience at Salt.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall FrenchL72
Hermanus, South Africa
14 Feb 2020

“Lunch in the orchards”
Two of us had lunch at Salt restaurant situated in the orchards of the Paul Cluver estate near Grabouw. What a tranquil setting. We had different dishes with a bottle of Paardeberg chenin blanc. I had a meat dish, the so-called “sout ribbetjie” (salted ribs), excellently prepared.The wine was good and the views on the orchards splendid.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 858brendag
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
12 Feb 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great food and service. Awesome vegan surprise”
Finding a restaurant which will offer a healthy and tasty vegan meal can be challenging. We contacted the restaurant the day before to enquire whether they could accommodate us and they sure did. They say they are vegan friendly although no vegan options on the menu, but what a wonderful surprise! I must compliment the Chef who prepared the most amazingly tasty and healthy meal and even personally delivered my dessert.Thank you. Service and Food were top class.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall mikeatitisa
Stellenbosch, South Africa
03 Feb 2020

“Disappointment in a beautiful setting”
The setting, the food description in the menu, the food presentation were all spectacular - unfortunately the food did not live up to the same standard of exceptional - actually many of the dishes we had were below par for a restaurant of this quality.A variety of dishes was tried at our table - pea mozzarella, cheese soufflé, calamari and squid, chicken,beetroot risotto, trio of fish, deboned lamb rib - some of the food ‘seemed’ tired - overcooked risotto, dry fish pieces on a tasteless tagliatelle - not what one would expect. Maybe the load shedding had an impact on the kitchen ! We had a few desserts which were all excellent - beautifully presented and very tasty.Service was ok - the waiters smiled and engaged well when present, however their presence wasn’t always forthcoming (and the restaurant wasn’t full or busy) Fortunately the peaceful setting and good company did not spoil the day.Hoping that they get back to delivering on the promise of a great experience.We will give it another chance!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall nicolas s
Milan, Italy
29 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“excellent lunch”
a lovely lunch and all dishes were excellent. just some advise . i am italian and the espresso was absolutely terrible. also the sparkling water was not in line with the quality fo the meal . excellent service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall happyholidaygirl059
Exeter, United Kingdom
25 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“A beautiful vineyard with a gorgeousy elegant dining room at Salt”
We were recommended this winery by our previous hotel and decided to visit for a wine tasting but on seeing the restaurant we couldn't resist. A beautiful building overlooking the working vineyard. We had some delicious wines from the estate during our meal. There was a good atmosphere and the staff were very relaxed but helpful. I had a salt and pepper squid to start on unusually designed plates. Unusually it was very delicate and had elegant dressing that really worked as a good appetiser. I then had a very interesting dish described as fish cooked three ways - with very much an Asian theme. It was light and the noodles were really light and delicious. My partner had a very tasty twice baked scuffle to start followed by Springbok. We both had desserts which were both very different and good.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 531maudl
Johannesburg, South Africa
22 Dec 2019

“Late Lunch”
We made a booking on Dineplan for 3pm which was confirmed as an instant booking. The restaurant was not ready for us with no fully set 3 seater table available. The setting at my seat had a dirty placemat and the three pots of salt were dirty with finger marks in them and a tiny soft brown ball in the one. I tried not to guess what it was. The staff seemed disconcerted and without a plan as to whom would serve us at first, slowing down our service. The menu is inventive and the food beautiful but the organisation in the kitchen lacking as our beautiful plates were spoiled by items being different temperatures varying from piping hot, luke warm and cold all on one plate for the main courses. A pity that such beautiful and well thought out courses were spoiled. I will still recommend you try them as the menu is worth it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ian c
Sheffield
16 Dec 2019

“Birthday lunch”
Salt was recommended to us and it did not disappoint. Excellent food and wine, with good service. Well presented and good value for money. We would revisit if in the area. First class and worth a visit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall John C
Sydney, Australia
08 Dec 2019

“Great express lunch”
Due to a Good Samaritan local who kindly took us to Salt when we arrived on the Ceres heritage train expecting a little village of quaint eateries. How gracious of her . She phoned & requested a quick lunch as we had to make it back to the train. We had mains & my wife a desert. Beautiful wine. Estate Pinot noir, Noble sticky. Our only regret was that we weren’t able to spend a more leisurely time in this lovely restaurant. Sarine , who looked after us was a darling. (Sorry if name spelling is incorrect)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Salt at Paul Cluver
Book a Table
Contact Salt at Paul Cluver
Contact Us
Address
De Rust Estate
Paul Cluver
Grabouw
7160

 

View map
Food Served
Fine DiningBreakfastSouth AfricanVegetarian
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Tuesday - Sunday: 08:30 - 16:00
Facilities
Child Friendly
Outside Catering
Functions
Fireplace
Disabled
Outside Seating
Weddings
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT