Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Hornby11
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
28 Jan 2019

“Disappointed in the food”
We had lovely service and nice cocktails. But the house salad and bruschetta were very mediocre. Very little difference in taste between the four types of bruschetta and a salad less interesting than you’d make at home.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall BrettG671

14 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great spot for families with kids”
Great little find for families with small kids. There is a large jungle gym for kids to play on-one small one for toddlers and one for older kids. There is sand painting which the kids love. We had live music on the go when we arrived. The menu is large and the food is tasty.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall CarriiG
Pietermaritzburg
08 Jan 2019

“Great for kids and breakfast”
We always enjoy coming here. The food is a very good standard and the additional bonus of a great kiddies entertainment area is a big draw card. The only complaint is that service can be slow. The food is freshly prepared and wholesome, which is why it takes time, but even coffees can take a while when it’s too busy. So be prepared for a little wait and if you’re impatient maybe try somewhere else.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sage125, Owner at Sage, responded to this review.
Many thanks for the review, we are so pleased you enjoy visiting.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Donnalee E
Boksburg, South Africa
02 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Shocking service sub standard food”
We went there for breakfast, waited over 45 minutes for our drinks and over 1 1/2 hours for our food, we had a four year old with us so this was a looooong wait. Someone came and apologized for the delay and asked if we were still good to wait they were busy with our order which made us think they had not yet started the preparation, our order was quite straight forward but when it arrived we could see it had been prepared in a hurry, the eggs were overdone and the general appearance was not at all appetizing. This meal was extremely disappointing we won’t go back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sage125, Owner at Sage, responded to this review.
Hi thereThanks for the review, I agree this is not acceptable. To explain though, we hd 4 Staff not pitch at work because of new year and I was in the kitchen cooking- not ideal-and we were swamped with holiday people. Please do give us another try as this is completely not our usual standard, in fact, we would like to offer you a free do- over of the meal to show you what we are really about!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall SueTravelLots
Cape Town Central, South Africa
28 Dec 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Simply Sage”
Nice find in this area. Laid back, relaxed atmosphere - we were seated on the verandah. Trees offering leafy shaded areas down below. Life music echoed from the cobbled square below. We opted for the Durban curry mutton, which was juicy and spicy, yet not too hot. Service was good,order taken promptly, friendly staff. We did wait a little while for food to arrive but it was well worth the wait. Generous portions, reasonable priced. Homely food.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sage125, Owner at Sage, responded to this review.
Many thanks for taking the time to review us, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall sallyannel2016

26 Dec 2018

“Terrible!”
Horrendous! Won’t be back every order came out wrong with rotten lettuce to add to the experience! Very disappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sage125, Owner at Sage, responded to this review.
HI Sallymany thanks for the review, I am glad we were able to refund you for the meal, and apologise once again for the experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Magwaza
Sandton, South Africa
19 Dec 2018

“Breakfast Goodness”
We come here every Decemebr holiday for breakfast at least 3 times a week...and they only get better every time...food is super yum and a tippingnodnthe hat to Khule..outstanding service as always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sage125, Owner at Sage, responded to this review.
many thanks for the fabulous compliments I will make sure to pass them on to the staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall chrisbM1673NJ
Ballito, South Africa
01 Dec 2018

“Old age Sage”
We were there for a Saturday breakfast with 3 adults and 3 kids. There was a market on the go so one could expect a fuller than normal Sage. We have lived in Ballito for 12 years and had always enjoyed Sage. But today will probably be the last! There was no attentiveness by anyone upon our arrival. After calling a waiter we were eventually served. Service was average until the end of the main meal. Food was very bland. Home-made sausages as claimed on the menu are NOT home made. ( They were a bit, and I was looking forward to them again!) Poached eggs were overdone. English muffins were stodgy. Crumpets were cold when they arrived. Coffee was good through but took ages to arrive at our table. Had to hunt the waiter down when it came time to settle the bill. What has happened Sage???? Need to up your game to stay in the game!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sage125, Owner at Sage, responded to this review.
many thanks for the review, it is never ideal as an owner to receive one such as this. no excuses, but perhaps pop in again sometime as we have made some management and waiter changes which had a positive effect over the very busy season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall andreaja2018
Durban, South Africa
24 Oct 2018

“Uninspiring”
Slack service, rowdy staff, and the worst, most tasteless Melanzane so thick with rubbery Mozzarella it was like chewing a tyre. This place has passed its sell by date.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sage125, Owner at Sage, responded to this review.
Many thanks for the review. As an owner it is always very disappointing to receive such criticism, no excuses, this is unacceptable and I sincerely apologize.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Beatrice D
Durban, South Africa
06 Oct 2018

“Lovely play area!”
This is a great spot for families with kids. There is a big outdoor jungle gym area as well as an indoor soft play area for babies. The kids area is on the far end of the restaurant and has tables close by for parents to sit and enjoy their meals while checking up on their kids. The food is also delicious, although a bit expensive. However they seem to use quality ingredients which is worth every penny. Great vibe and definitely worth visiting again... And again!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Sage Café
Book a Table
Contact Sage Café
Contact Us
Address
1 Old Fort Road
Fox Hill, Umhlali
Salt Rock
4390

 

View map
Food Served
ItalianBreakfastContemporaryGourmet Burgers
Average Price$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Saturday - Thursday: 07:45 - 15:30
Friday: 07:45 - 20:00
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
Outside Seating
Disabled
Functions
Wi-Fi
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT