Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall 38harshit

08 Jan 2019

“Best in Knysna”
We dined in here for lunch during out stay in Knysna. The food was really awesome, portion size was also really good as two portions of curries could easily serve 3 people. Taste was excellent. Highly recommended.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Fagmeedah
Struisbaai, South Africa
06 Jan 2019

“Authentic Indian Eatery”
Simple Indian eatery, I would not call it a restaurant, with authentic, very well-priced dishes. HalaalEach curry had its authentic flavor, but the sauces were slightly sweet. the mango Lassi was excellent, and the masala Chai was brewed to perfection. And the prices were very good.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall oreodiv
Johannesburg, South Africa
06 Jan 2019

“Good food - Dont expect any comfort”
So we stumbled on this restaurant on the main road in Knysna. No character whatsoever, very ancient with limited service. Good food - also full menu was not available when we visited. Take your own drinks as they are very confused on offering. Avoid deep fried.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Michelle_RQ
Johannesburg, South Africa
31 Dec 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Very good meal ... and inexpensive!”
This is probably the only Indian restaurant in Knysna. My husband loved his lamb curry dish but I had chicken tikka which was good but not great. The was one of our cheaper but tastier meals in Knysna.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 842nikunjj

29 Dec 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Consider it as your last option in Knysna”
Ambience- 5/10, Location-7/10, Food- 5/10, Service-6/10, Value for money- 5/10Location- Very conveniently located in the main street of Knysna, just opp. The Knysna Mall. Street parking, finding a parking place will not be an issue though. Worst case, feel free to use the basement parking in the mall and make a peace with it. Ambience- Very basic, nothing much to write about (simple table chair, a small place with 8-10 tables max, will give you a feel of college hostel mess. I visited this place for lunch and it was pretty empty.Food- (My order- Masala Papad, Peas Pulav, Daal Tadka, Tandoori Roti).Daal Tadka had 3 to 4 times more oil than what a normal Tadka needs. Almost half of the service bowl was filled with oil (no, I am not exaggerating). Peas Pulav was a misnomer and turned out to be rice fried with peas (and again a lot of oil, chef’s favourite). Masala Papad was okay, much smaller than my expectation though. Tandoori roti was a disappointment, looked very different and was made of wheat flour aka Maida (wheat flour, not the whole wheat flour). Coriander Chutney served as the condiment was stale, clearly the yogurt used to make it was not fresh. Value for money- 20 ZAR for a very small Masala Papad is not a good deal. Other items were priced in the same range of other Indian restaurants of the same category. However, given the food quality was poor, it’s is not the best use of your hard-earned money. Overall, my recommendation is to avoid this place unless you have run out of all other options. And if you decide to visit, stick to basic items and give necessary instructions (e.g. quantity of Oil, spice levels etc.)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall christophercannoo22
Budapest, Hungary
27 Dec 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Amazing Experience!”
Indian food is a little outside my typical "comfort zone" when it comes to food. I would not usually go to an Indian restaurant as my usual cuisine is more of a European diet. However, this was one of the most DELICIOUS meals I've had at a restaurant in a long time, at a very reasonable price. They may not have spent a massive amount of energy on the interior, but that is likely because all the passion goes into the cooking. Try the Lassi drink (sweet) - it's like a lemon pie in a glass. Phenomenal.Step outside of your comfort zone and enjoy amazing, real Indian food at this restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Natasha0202B
Westville, South Africa
25 Dec 2018

“Such bad service just walking in that we didn’t even eat there”
We called at 19:14 to make a reservation for 7 people. Harold answered the phone and said we could come through and they close at 9:45. He did not ask for a time neither did he ask for a phone no. Just my name and then put the phone down. We got to the restaurant at 8pm. Waited at the door for a while and nobody attended to us. I then had to walk in to the top where I said that we had a reservation for 7 people under my name. Harold attended to us and was very rude and unwelcoming from the beginning. He insisted we made a reservation for 7pm. I showed him my phone call list which proved that I only made the phone call at 7:14 so I didn’t understand how he got the reservation time as 7pm. He didn’t even try to accommodate us. If you want to be treated as a guest at a restaurant then please don’t go here otherwise you will feel more like a begger to eat at this restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Vaidikar
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
24 Dec 2018

“Authentic Indian”
I visited this place not sure about what to expect. The menu looked authentic and was hoping food would too. And thankfully it delivered. The food is authentic and in good proportions. The inside of the restaurant is ok but I would rather sit outside. Visit this place for your Indian food cravings.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall GC_31427
Western Cape, South Africa
23 Dec 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Awesome Again!”
Second visit and just as great as last time! We had a selection of dishes and the food, service and friendliness was great! Ignore the rough and ready decor and furniture - when the food is this good the decor doesn't matter!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall charoos
mumbai
17 Oct 2018

“Truly authentic Indian cuisine”
Raasoie, situated in the hear of Knysna on the Main Road, serves truly authentic Indian delicacies. We ordered vegetarian food, comprising chana dal, vegetable kolhapuri, lachcha parantha, amongst other items. Each item was tasty made to our requirements in the matter of spice and fat content. We were more than happy with our choice. However, the setup and ambience was modest. The prices were reasonable.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Raasoie Ethnic Indian Cuisine - Knysna
Book a Table
Contact Raasoie Ethnic Indian Cuisine - Knysna
Contact Us
Address
1 Memorial Square
24 Main Street
Knysna
6570

 

View map
Food Served
IndianAsianHalaalVegetarian
Average Price$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Saturday:
Lunch: 11:30 - 15:00
Dinner: 17:00 - 22:00
Sunday: Closed
Facilities
Take Out
Outside Seating
Functions
Outside Catering
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT