Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall PatrickMenzies
Copenhagen, Denmark
08 Oct 2019

“Great Italian food”
This restaurant continues to serve great Italian food and the service is great. Location is so-so, but the overall experience is certainly worth the ride to Morningside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Owner at Pomodoro Ristorante, responded to this review.
Good day Patrick, thank you so much for the great review and I am really glad you enjoy our restaurant. Hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Stefano, vary proud owner of Pomodoro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Stephanie_Moss
Johannesburg, South Africa
30 Sep 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Not too bad for a business lunch”
Took clients there with a table of 8 or 9 of us recently for a detailed meeting over lunch. The food was just above average I'd say. The wine was well priced.The overall look and feel of the place is not inspiring at all.We had a variety of dishes for main course from veal - ok, fish - good, pastas which looked nice and I forget what else.The waiter was below average - slow and not on point at all for the neighbourhood.That said, it was comfortable for a quiet work meeting and I'd probably go back at some point - not regularly though.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall RLL1211

16 May 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Owners rudeness brought me to tears”
Feeling disappointed , with a UK colleague in town thought Pomodoro at Morningside shopping centre would be a great place to take him for early dinner , having ordered the spaghetti bolognese on its arrival it lacked the usual tomato sauce and looked very brown and uninspiring , with a taste that was just not right , the lovely waiter tried took it away added a bit more sauce but it looked & tasted the same , the manager then stormed over said the food was not horrid and that I 'must check my mouth " and walked off never in all my years have I been spoken to as rudely as I was night last and brought tears to my eyes... surely a simple sorry madam its not to your liking can I bring you anything else would have been a more professional way ... will never take another visitor there again that is for sure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Owner at Pomodoro Ristorante, responded to this review.
Thank you for sharing your experience at Pomodoro and I am sorry it was not such a pleasant one. It was never my intention to be rude and I apologize if I came across as being so. My comment was in response to you calling our bolognese sauce ‘horrible’. I simply stated that we do not make ‘horrible’ food and that perhaps you had a bad taste in your mouth and therefore it tasted that way to you. The bolognese sauce you complained about is one of our best selling dishes. It is cooked the traditional way for over 4 hours, therefore the darker color, and we get a lot of compliments for it. We have been making it that way for 14 years. I can understand If it is not to your taste as we are all different, but it is definitely not ‘horrible ‘. Please understand that I was also thrown back by your comment. I listen to constructive criticism and often use it to improve our food and service but we work very hard and sometimes can take offense when our food is criticized using words as ‘horrible ‘. Again I apologize for coming across as rude as that is not the way I am with customers. Regards, Stefano, very proud owner of Pomodoro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Beechman1
Johannesburg, South Africa
03 Mar 2019

“Fantastic food and service”
Pomodoro is one of our favorite Italian restaurants, not only because it is close, but because the food and service is consistently exceptional. The owners are always present and this adds to the experience. The menu is diverse, with pizza, pasta, meat, chicken etc - all with an Italian twist (as expected). Good wine selection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 864aishaw
Johannesburg, South Africa
02 Mar 2019

“Italian Birthday Celebration”
Good ambience. Very attentive and friendly staff and the most amazing food.The gnocchi, the ravioli with spinach and ricotta and sage butter was enjoyed by two in our party. The Banting Zucchini pizza base was awesome. So was the topping of prawn, chili and garlic. The waiter wished my friend happy birthday and brought her a decadent scoop of chocolate mousse with raspberry and dark chocolate. While waiting we were served warm pizza breads.We had a relaxed and beautiful lunch.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JohnW10598
Morningside, South Africa
02 Feb 2019

“We love it”
We come here at least once a week. While I have my favorites, there are so many great dishes on the menu that choosing a meal is always a difficult, but never have I been disappointed. Great for everyone in the family, even a picky 4 year old.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Owner at Pomodoro Ristorante, responded to this review.
Hello John, thank you so much for sharing this great review and I'm really glad that you enjoy our restaurant.I look forward to seeing you again soon at Pomodoro. Cheers, Stefano, very proud owner of Pomodoro.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall HippoInAction
Johannesburg, South Africa
26 Jan 2019

“Consistently high standard”
My wife and I entertained an overseas guest for work and we wanted a reliable, quality, casual restaurant where we could catch up without raising our voices. Pomodoro has been our go-to place for many of our entertainment needs the past few years. Sure enough the meals of chicken, seafood pasta and pork chops were on point. I highly recommend almost anything from the menu. Looking forward to our next visit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Owner at Pomodoro Ristorante, responded to this review.
Hello HippoInAction, thank you very much for such great review. It is always nice to know our hard work and passion are appreciated. Hope to see you soon again at Pomodoro. Best regards, Stefano, very proud owner of Pomodoro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 189lynneg
Stellenbosch, South Africa
06 Jan 2019

“Delicious”
Excellent meal. We ordered the fillet with pepper sauce the veal with mushrooms, baby chicken amounts other meals, and everything was superb. Beautifully presented, and outstanding service.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Fakir0
Sandton, South Africa
02 Dec 2018

“Below Average”
Was hoping for gluten free / seafood pasta. Hardly any seafood and pasta was sticking together. Sauce had no taste. Ordered a SPECIAL, But it had 1 clam and 2 pieces of chorizo !!! Very underwhelming. Moses was however an outstanding waiter. Chef needs some attention
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Owner at Pomodoro Ristorante, responded to this review.
Good day Fakir, thank you very much for giving us feedback on your latest experience at Pomodoro. I am really sorry you did not enjoy your meal or, more specifically, the two dishes you mentioned. I cannot comment on the scoglio pasta as I was not here but what I can say is that we would never serve a risotto (the special you had) with only one scallop (not clams as you mentioned in your review) and two pieces of Chorizo. Do you honestly believe that we would survive over 13 years if we did serve dishes like that? I am afraid that your statement invalidates your review as it is misleading and inaccurate. We are a good traditional Italian restaurant. We use only fresh, top quality ingredients which we handle with care to produce delicately flavored dishes as you would have them in Italy. If this is not what you expected then you would have been disappointed. It's simply a question of taste and habits.I do wish you lots of flavorful meals for the rest of the year and the one to come. Regards, Stefano, very proud owner of Pomodoro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Brenda B
Jhb
07 Nov 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Authentic Southern Italian food!”
Been there countless times - never disappoints, close to home, albeit in a shopping centre. Great service. Prefer it when not so busy, but busy is good. Last night early evening meal, caprese starter and calamari starter, salmon pasta and pasta on the specials menu - penne with artichoke hearts and pork meat (delicious). A very good wine selection.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Pomodoro Ristorante
Book a Table
Contact Pomodoro Ristorante
Contact Us
Address
Morningside Shopping Centre, Shop U36
Cnr Rivonia & Outspan Roads
Morningside

 

View map
Food Served
ItalianGrillsPizzasSeafood
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Saturday
Sunday
Facilities
Take Out
Functions
Secure Parking
Disabled
Outside Seating
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT