Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Beechman1
Johannesburg, South Africa
03 Mar 2019

“Fantastic food and service”
Pomodoro is one of our favorite Italian restaurants, not only because it is close, but because the food and service is consistently exceptional. The owners are always present and this adds to the experience. The menu is diverse, with pizza, pasta, meat, chicken etc - all with an Italian twist (as expected). Good wine selection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 864aishaw
Johannesburg, South Africa
02 Mar 2019

“Italian Birthday Celebration”
Good ambience. Very attentive and friendly staff and the most amazing food.The gnocchi, the ravioli with spinach and ricotta and sage butter was enjoyed by two in our party. The Banting Zucchini pizza base was awesome. So was the topping of prawn, chili and garlic. The waiter wished my friend happy birthday and brought her a decadent scoop of chocolate mousse with raspberry and dark chocolate. While waiting we were served warm pizza breads.We had a relaxed and beautiful lunch.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JohnW10598
Morningside, South Africa
02 Feb 2019

“We love it”
We come here at least once a week. While I have my favorites, there are so many great dishes on the menu that choosing a meal is always a difficult, but never have I been disappointed. Great for everyone in the family, even a picky 4 year old.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Owner at Pomodoro Ristorante, responded to this review.
Hello John, thank you so much for sharing this great review and I'm really glad that you enjoy our restaurant.I look forward to seeing you again soon at Pomodoro. Cheers, Stefano, very proud owner of Pomodoro.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall HippoInAction
Johannesburg, South Africa
26 Jan 2019

“Consistently high standard”
My wife and I entertained an overseas guest for work and we wanted a reliable, quality, casual restaurant where we could catch up without raising our voices. Pomodoro has been our go-to place for many of our entertainment needs the past few years. Sure enough the meals of chicken, seafood pasta and pork chops were on point. I highly recommend almost anything from the menu. Looking forward to our next visit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Owner at Pomodoro Ristorante, responded to this review.
Hello HippoInAction, thank you very much for such great review. It is always nice to know our hard work and passion are appreciated. Hope to see you soon again at Pomodoro. Best regards, Stefano, very proud owner of Pomodoro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 189lynneg
Stellenbosch, South Africa
06 Jan 2019

“Delicious”
Excellent meal. We ordered the fillet with pepper sauce the veal with mushrooms, baby chicken amounts other meals, and everything was superb. Beautifully presented, and outstanding service.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Fakir0
Sandton, South Africa
02 Dec 2018

“Below Average”
Was hoping for gluten free / seafood pasta. Hardly any seafood and pasta was sticking together. Sauce had no taste. Ordered a SPECIAL, But it had 1 clam and 2 pieces of chorizo !!! Very underwhelming. Moses was however an outstanding waiter. Chef needs some attention
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Owner at Pomodoro Ristorante, responded to this review.
Good day Fakir, thank you very much for giving us feedback on your latest experience at Pomodoro. I am really sorry you did not enjoy your meal or, more specifically, the two dishes you mentioned. I cannot comment on the scoglio pasta as I was not here but what I can say is that we would never serve a risotto (the special you had) with only one scallop (not clams as you mentioned in your review) and two pieces of Chorizo. Do you honestly believe that we would survive over 13 years if we did serve dishes like that? I am afraid that your statement invalidates your review as it is misleading and inaccurate. We are a good traditional Italian restaurant. We use only fresh, top quality ingredients which we handle with care to produce delicately flavored dishes as you would have them in Italy. If this is not what you expected then you would have been disappointed. It's simply a question of taste and habits.I do wish you lots of flavorful meals for the rest of the year and the one to come. Regards, Stefano, very proud owner of Pomodoro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Brenda B
Jhb
07 Nov 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Authentic Southern Italian food!”
Been there countless times - never disappoints, close to home, albeit in a shopping centre. Great service. Prefer it when not so busy, but busy is good. Last night early evening meal, caprese starter and calamari starter, salmon pasta and pasta on the specials menu - penne with artichoke hearts and pork meat (delicious). A very good wine selection.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall KathyS3883
Johannesburg, South Africa
03 Oct 2018

“Ok meal”
We haven't been to this restaurant in a while and have previously had good experiences. The experience was still good and my mushroom truffle veal was delicious. It is quite noisy as the high ceilings do not make for great acoustics nut a pkeadang atmosphere nonetheless.Service was friendly but a little inattentive. Although, to be fair, the restaurant was very busy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall HippoInAction
Johannesburg, South Africa
24 Sep 2018

“Always consistently good”
We live close by and often take an early supper to miss the main crowd. We have had pizza, pasta, meat, fish and recently the burgers. All at a consistently high quality. Not to mention the Crepe Suzette which is a real treat to finish off your meal. We would highly recommend this place. They are just undergoing some renovations so should be interesting to see the new look.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Owner at Pomodoro Ristorante, responded to this review.
Hi Russell, thank you so much for taking the time to praise our restaurant. Always nice to know we do things right (at least sometimes!!).We have finished our renovations and are really proud of the end result. I hope you will visit soon so I can walk you through the improvements...Best regards, Stefano, very proud owner of Pomodoro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Candice21
Sandton, South Africa
04 Sep 2018

“Lunch”
So when you’ve been dieting for a month and it’s a cheat day - wow it was incredible the special pasta of the day followed by their almond cake heated with a scoop of cream - decadent and totally delicious. Please don’t walk past thinking the restaurant next door is better - it’s NOT!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Owner at Pomodoro Ristorante, responded to this review.
Hi Candice, thanks for choosing Pomodoro for your cheat day meal, I'm honestly honored! Good luck with your diet and hope to see you for your next cheat meal... Cheers, Stefano, very proud owner of Pomodoro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Pomodoro Ristorante
Book a Table
Contact Pomodoro Ristorante
Contact Us
Address
Morningside Shopping Centre, Shop U36
Cnr Rivonia & Outspan Roads
Morningside

 

View map
Food Served
ItalianGrillsPizzasSeafood
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Saturday
Sunday
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Disabled
Functions
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT