Weather
OverviewMenuReviews
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall 668elsabej

16 Jan 2019

“Worst service ever and not real Italian”
We were 5 guests, only 4 received food! The owner who is Afrikaans and knows nothing about Italian cooking never came to spologise. She did not even look at our table. I’ll never go back.The pasta is stodgy, the pizzas flavourless.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Tanita_O
Pretoria, South Africa
31 Dec 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Good Food, Poor Ambiance”
We have been visiting Piccola Italia for years. Their pizza is really excellent and consistent. HOWEVER, the owners use the establishment for their own entertainment. They are always in the restaurant making a noise. The one lady who I assume is an owner once fell asleep and started inaudibly speaking in her sleep. This ruins the atmosphere completely. I would advise that you get take away pizzas from this establishment instead of sitting in the restaurant. It is unfortunate the owners abuse this place like they do.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall WLRoos
Pretoria, South Africa
04 Dec 2018

“Best in the world”
We frequent this restaurant on a weekly basis. They make the best pizza in the whole world.We’ve have had pizza in many countries around the world and keep coming back here.If you are ever around Pretoria( South Africa) and are in urgent need of pizza, this is the place to come to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall IJMatthews
Earth City, Missouri
14 Nov 2018

“Slow service that demands tip”
Although the food is great (pizza and pasta) you have to be ready to wait 90 minutes. Unfortunately this happened all 3 times. If you are not in a hurry and enjoy a glass of wine, this could be your favorite restaurant. Their food is seriously good.Recently I was served by a new waiter, who I had to remind that we are awaiting our drinks, than had to ask if the food was coming soon. Than the bill arrived on a note block paper and he asked why I did not give him 10% tip... That was just to rude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Traveller98125
Nelspruit, South Africa
29 Oct 2018

“Pizza is very average”
My girlfriend and I couldn't understand it, but the pizza just didn't have any flavour. You couldn't taste the tomato base at all. Was not a great pizza.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Sandra D
Pretoria, South Africa
17 Sep 2018

Food
Value for Money
“Shock”
We went with some overseas guests to a food and wine pairing at a set cost which we were happy to pay. The shock came when we got the bill and they had slapped on a 10% service charge!! We always believed that service was part of your costs unless it was previously announced or was a buffet where you service yourself. In addition we think a tip is something given at the customers discretion for good service? We do however normally give a 10% tip to the staff but object to it being taken from us without consultation! We wont be going back to that restaurant or any other which has that policy.....
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall aneilje
Pretoria, South Africa
04 May 2017

“Small restaurant BIG Flavour”
My family loves visiting this little restaurant. Service is always friendly and fast. It is by far the best authentic Italian food you can find in Pretoria. I highly recommend any of their pizzas or the spaghetti bolognese. Go enjoy!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Maripose
Pretoria, South Africa
28 Apr 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Heartwarming soul food”
Eating at Picolla Italia is like visiting your favourite aunt. The atmosphere is warm and friendly, and the food is superb. The thin-crusted pizza was delicious, and my pasta meal made me feel as if it was specially cooked for me to celebrate a homecoming. It is a wonderful, unpretentious place that does not try to be anything else but a cozy family restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall AaC17

24 Apr 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“An interactive Pizza morning”
Piccolo Italia hosted the Tshwane Downs Association’s Jeans and Tekkies club last Saturday morning. The member’s ages range from 12 to 17 years old. The activities included a short introductory talk on the origin of the pizza. This was followed by a tour of the kitchen where they witnessed the preparation of the dough. They could prepare their own pizzas with the help of the awesome staff. A magical experience for the kids to choose the ingredients themselves, mixing the cheese up to create their individual pizzas. This was an informative experience. Thank you very much Marietjie Geevers and staff of Piccolo Italia. You’re the best, going the extra mile with patience and care of our children. The restaurant’s community service is applaudable. Our kids had a most enjoyable morning: the experience 110%. Thank you once again, keep up the good work!!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall GodfriedG7

10 Mar 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great little restaurant”
I have been to Piccola Italia several times over the past years and never failed to be disappointed! It is a great little Italian restaurant with extremely hospitable owners and very friendly staff. It does not claim to be the fanciest Italian restaurant in Pretoria, but what it does is deliver authentic Italian food in a very cosy and pleasant atmosphere. And it does that very well. I have lived in Europe for 20 years and find that Piccola Italia gives a true (and very tasty) representation of what Italian food should be like! I would certainly recommend it highly.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Piccola Italia
Book a Table
Contact Piccola Italia
Contact Us
Address
Shop 16, Monument Park Shopping Centre
Cnr Skilpad & Elephant Street
Waterkloof Ridge / Monument Park

 

View map
Food Served
ItalianLight MealsPastasPizzas
Average Price$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday:
10:30 - 21:00
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
TV/Sports
Outside Seating
Wi-Fi
Weddings
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT