Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall MikeC7806
Somerset West, South Africa
25 Mar 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Without doubt one of my favourite restaurants – worldwide!”
We have dined at Pembreys on a number of occasions since 2013 and have never been disappointed (I plan my visits to Knysna subject to our being able to make a dinner reservation at Pembreys!). We were delighted that the restaurant managed to escape the ravages of the devastating Knysna fires (but sad to hear that the owners home, and staff accommodation were destroyed) and it was our first visit since they re-opened.The menu offers an interesting selection of freshly prepared food, and the dessert menu is to die for! On this occasion our party enjoyed our Springbok loin, grilled East Coast Sole and Bobotie mains, followed by Peter’s Bread & Butter Pudding with homemade Cardamon Ice Cream for desert. It was absolutely delicious.No visit to Knysna would be complete without dinner at Pembreys.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Lyall W
Hermanus, South Africa
07 Mar 2020

“Old world charm”
Really good food in an old school type of way. My wife and I visited this place on a quick breakaway. The decor could use some updating when we were there but then again it kind of adds to the old school charm of the place. If you are up for tasting food that might be slightly outdated but cooked really well this is a great place. Well done on some delicious dishes!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall adturner2016
Chester, United Kingdom
05 Mar 2020

“Well worth the wait”
Having tried three time to get a booking at this very popular restaurant we eventually got a place. And it was well worth the wait!We all enjoyed our meal with the lambs livers and the lamb shank getting the thumbs up.The dishes were freshly made and wholesome. What makes Pembreys different is the menu. The choices are different from other restaurants in the area making it a must if you are staying for some time in the area. Staff are attentive and knowledgeable. The wine selection is not vast but covers a range of prices and tastes.All in all, Pembreys deserves to be one of the top rated restaurants in Knysna.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Davidahendon
Guildford, United Kingdom
25 Feb 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“The best place to eat in the central southern Cape”
We were very happy to return to Pembreys, re-opened after the terrible fire that devastated the area a couple of years ago. And the experience was as wonderful as ever. The food is amazing and the menu choice is impressively large. They have a great wine list that is reasonably priced. The service is relaxed, capable and friendly. The meal was excellent value for money. It was nice to chat to the chef-patron Peter after he had finished the service. All in all this gets our very highest recommendation. You need to book well ahead, which means a phone call as they don’t take bookings on line, but don’t risk missing out on a very special meal.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall michaeldufty
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
24 Feb 2020

“Super Pembrey Bistro”
This is a lovely restaurant run by a great husband and wife team. We always have to book in advance to dine here but we would be very disappointed if this was not on our itinerary.We highly recommend here but be warned it is very popular and you have to book well in advance.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall johnhG6702BU
Solihull, United Kingdom
06 Feb 2020

“Outstanding”
Wonderful restaurant out of the mainstream but booking required well in advance. Nice wellcolm by wife of owner and food was outstanding with excellent service.... Chef/owner came to talk with us after the meal.... Definitely in our top 5 restaurants to go to on our South Africa vacations... Highly recommended
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Heike374w

24 Jan 2020

“Great”
Very good menu and wine selection. When the restaurant is full, it can get loud. Springbok fillet was delicious. Great selection of desserts.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall puntamax
Punta Arenas, Chile
18 Jan 2020

“Terrific Food”
This is some top cheffery, a must try if in the Knysna area. Lamb shanks were really good and the creme brûlée off the charts. Wine list needs the odd superstar option but a small criticism for a top dining experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall alewync1996
Centurion, South Africa
19 Dec 2019

“Best cuisine in Knysna.”
Tastiest lamb bobotie I've ever had.Best cut and crunchy chips.Delicious salads with fresh produce and tranquil vibe across the delightful bistro :)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Schmee123
Knysna, South Africa
19 Nov 2019

“Superb food and wine”
We live in Knysna and don’t visit this restaurant enough. A very varied menu with a great wine list catering to all budgets. A standard on the menu is their Cheese Soufflé - it is delicious. For mains I chose Ox tongue with an artichoke, caper and mustard sauce. The portion was more than generous and the melt in your mouth tongue could have been cut with a fish knife. Their pasta dishes are well worthwhile trying. Pembreys is a great place to enjoy with mates.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Pembreys
Book a Table
Contact Pembreys
Contact Us
Address
Brenton Road
Belvidere
Knysna, 6571
Telephone bookings only, no online bookings

 

View map
Food Served
MediterraneanCountryVegetarian
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Tuesday - Saturday: Dinner from 18:30
Sunday & Monday: Closed
Facilities
Functions
Fireplace
Secure Parking
Disabled
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT