Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall coen_12
Johannesburg, South Africa
06 Mar 2021

“Really guys,maybe for the masses”
Really guys,maybe for the masses,not sure about anything,especially food,no taste,service average etc etc etc etc etc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing Manager at Rickety Bridge, Marketing at Paulina's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Hi Coen, thank you for your honest feedback. We'd love to follow up on your experience and improve our offering. What dishes did you order?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Spyderman1999

30 Dec 2020

“Lunch during Level 3 Lockdown”
Sadly we could not tasty the wines of the vineyard - beautiful Manor HouseDecided to have lunch at Paulina’s Simple starter and a pizza - average , nothi g to wow about -Since wine with lunch was not available ( due to an incompetent government ) we had to opt for water ,in our case still water that came in an unsealed bottle with Rickerty Bridge logo on it - buyer beware - you get charged R40 per bottle for what is most probably tap water that’s a bit chilled -insist on a branded sealed bottle , our lesson learned .Sadly most staff will most probably be laid off due to the restrictions placed by the Government on wine farms and this crippling a major part of the economy.Will we be back one day ? Most probably under better circumstances , for wine tasting - will pass on the lunch though .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing Manager at Rickety Bridge, Marketing at Paulina's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear Paul, thank you for your honest review. We appreciate the feedback and will take it into account. We hope you are able to return for the tasting in the near future and perhaps a lunch so that we can restore your faith in our restaurant team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall lientjiel
Windhoek, Namibia
26 Nov 2020

“Ideal for lunch”
We looked for a place to lunch and ended up here. The restaurant can open up blinds and windows depending on the weather and presents a tranquil spot close to the vineyards. The service was excellent, the burgers really worth trying and the wine with lunch was good as well even though we didn't do the tasting.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing Manager at Rickety Bridge, Marketing at Paulina's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you for stopping at Rickety Bridge and for the lovely review. Hope you do a wine tasting as well, next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall malaga210511
London, United Kingdom
14 Feb 2020

“a wine tasting and an excelent meal to follow”
A visit to Rickety Bridge is a must if in Franschhoek--do the winetasting and follow with a nice lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicketyMarketing, Marketing at Paulina's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you Malaga210511, hope we see you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Nicholas H
London, United Kingdom
03 Feb 2020

“Great lunch to end our winery visit”
I had lunch here at Rickety Bridge Winery as part of a curated full day wine tour, using the Wine Tram. The three course meal was excellent, with good quality food in generous portions and intelligent wine pairings. I had the Beef Carpaccio starter, Pork Belly main and the African Platter of desserts. Service was friendly and efficient. They don’t hurry you, so it’s a chance to relax and enjoy the stunning views.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicketyMarketing, Marketing at Paulina's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you for the wonderful review Nicholas, we pride ourselves in creating a relaxed atmosphere so that you can get a taste of the Winelands lifestyle. Hope we see you again in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall nmaria
London, United Kingdom
27 Dec 2019

“Ideal for lunch”
We had a great lunch here whilst doing the wine trail. I recommend booking if you want a table outside. Very much gastro style food and good that there is a place where you can still have tasty food. Service is good.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulinasrestaurant, General Manager at Paulina's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Good morning nmariaThank you for taking the time to complete the review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We pride ourselves on offering amazing food, award winning wines and excellent service. We hope to see you soon again.Kind regardsRiaan Oosthuizen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall manshilm
Cape Town Central, South Africa
18 Dec 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Nothing exceptional”
Friends from out of town wanted to go here for lunch. The experience left me feeling that unless one happens to be in the area with no other options, this restaurant is not worth the trip out to Franschhoek. I had a tasting plate with a calamari salad, pork belly and gnocchi. They were presented in a 3 compartment ceramic dish the sort one would expect to be contain sauces or be used to served snacks. It felt a bit clumsy to eat out of. The three portions altogether are more suited to a starter course, and even for lunch felt a bit sparse. The calamari and gnocchi were quite unremarkable. The pork belly was rather poorly cooked, and disappointingly the fat and skin were not properly rendered and was not crispy. For dessert, I elected to have ice cream in a sugar cone. The ice cream tasted rather cheap, and both flavor contained large chunks of ice. The server was very pleasant. We reserved a table on the deck outside, and whilst the view and weather were pleasant, the restaurant itself created very little ambiance.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicketyMarketing, Manager at Paulina's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you for taking the time to post the review, Manshikm,We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations, but appreciate your honest feedback which we will address as a matter of urgency.We hope that we will be able to change your perception in the near future. KInd regards,The Rickety Bridge team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall KathyMisty
Sydney, Australia
03 Sep 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Fantastic lunch with great wines”
Had the tasting plates for lunch here with desserts as well and loved our meal. Each dish was excellent, we shared all six and loved every dish, all very tasty and matched brilliantly with their wines which we loved. The deconstructed eton mess and churros basket were a fantastic was to finish the meal with dessert wine. Service was really very good and we were sat in front of a lovely fireplace so were very toasty and comfortable, brilliant place for a meal.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicketyMarketing, Manager at Paulina's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you for taking the time to review us KathyMisty! We pride ourselves in serving quality food, with excellent service. Hope we will see you again in the near future, perhaps this time on the sunny deck!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ginaw2
Table View, South Africa
24 Aug 2019

“Lunch outside for 2”
Staff and service fab. View nice but there are so many better views in Franschoek. Menu limited. I had pork belly as it's always my choice when on a menu. Nice but not close to the best I've had especially considering it was R195! Beautifully presented. My man struggled to decide what to order and eventually settled for a beef Burger which made me cringe as how can you have a burger at a wine estate (R125). He loved it. But still... he only ordered it as nothing else interested him. PS he asked about the butter chicken and beef cheeks being frozen. Answer was yes!!! I loved my Sav Blanc. But left there thinking that was nice but won't be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicketyMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Paulina's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you for your review ginaw2, we are sorry to hear that your experience was underwhelming. We will be launching our summer menu within the next few weeks and will certainly keep your feedback in mind in regards to expanding our offering. We'd love to restore your faith in Rickety Bridge, so please let us know if you change your mind and take a chance on us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Mel109
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
30 Jul 2019

“Great food, beautiful views, worth the visit”
We went to Paulina's for lunch. Had the Salmon for starters. Wow, what a nice surprise, was very tasteful, a lot of Salmon, overall a great starter. Then I had Beef Cheek for mains. Once again a great plate of food, lovely veggies, great mash, nice succulent meat, and more than enough food. I settled for the Chocolate brownie for dessert. A huge brownie, but a great ending to a lovely meal. You can share the easily share the brownie dessert. We sat on the porch and it was not cold as they have heaters. For a fine dining restaurant you definitely get plenty food. Worth the visit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicketyMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Paulina's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you for the great review Mel109 - we hope to see you again in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Paulina’s at Rickety Bridge
Book a Table
Contact Paulina’s at Rickety Bridge
Contact Us
Address
Rickety Bridge Winery
R45 just before Franschhoek
Franschhoek

 

View map
Food Served
BistroCountryPicnics
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday:
10:00 - 17:00
Facilities
Child Friendly
Outside Catering
Smoking Section
Functions
Dancefloor
Secure Parking
Disabled
Outside Seating
Weddings
Accommodation
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2021 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT