Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall GCR484
Jersey, United Kingdom
13 Apr 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Simply superb; great ambiance and stunning seafood”
We had the enormous pleasure to enjoy a truly delicious and memorable meal at Origins just one week before SA went into ‘lockdown’Highly recommended; particularly after a very disappointing lunch at another Hermanus restaurant not far from The Marine; see separate review!It was a birthday celebration on a Monday evening; we were a party of 9 and after drinks in the spacious comfortable hotel lounge we were shown to our table in the restaurant.I had the fish cake starter which was lovely but I was very jealous of the truly delicious mussels that other guests ordered; I tasted one and regretted having having chosen the mussels at lunch which had been such a disappointment!I was not disappointed with my main choice of grilled tuna; simply delicious. The springbok fillet also looked pretty amazing and apparently was very tasty too!Dessert, wine and service were all excellent.It is when you have such an excellent and positive experience at a restaurant that it is not only easy to award an excellent rating but also to call out those restaurants - like the one we had been to for lunch on the same day - which really do deserve no better than a rating of ‘terrible’. Life is too short to eat at bad restaurants!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JirkaNovaPaka
Nova Paka
06 Mar 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Average”
We got suggestion for this restaurant like one from the best in Hermanus. We were disappointed. We had to wait too long for average food. Staff was not very friendly. Next time is better to go to Ocean basket...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall david w
Dublin, Ireland
13 Feb 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“consistently high standards of interesting food with great friendly service”
we have stayed at marine hotel for quite some years for about fortnight in january -used to be we only ate in former Pavillion restaurant to avoid hurting feelings of friendly staff -Seafood restaurant was better but now ORIGINS is sole restaurant for lunch and dinner although there are good snacks available at poolside /bar .Blackboard menus change daily [always starter /main /dessert ]and there is extensive menu salads /starters /mains /desserts served at lunch dinner .No problem here in ordering 2 starters[and for europeans who dont have south african appetites its good to know this! main salads are huge and even starter salads are generous -] so choose 2 eg mussels /wok fried calamari- or garden salad /beetroot goats cheese salad-there is also a full vegetarian menu plus similar vegan -fish is days catch /fish and chips [great hake]/shellfish -daily specials include oysters /free range chicken breast /whitebait /tuna tartare so a really wide choice I had loin of springbok medium rare [terrific]but food is only part of this -Florence is in charge of lunch service and Sam of dinner -both preside over as friendly well trained staff as you could find -nothing is to much trouble -have a drink in bar with unrivalled views of Walker bay and here again Sophiwu as head barman and his team cant do enough for you before you go to dinner Suggest you ask for table on seaward side[hence great views ] of Origins -if theres a table its well worth it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall HunterBloemfontein
Hermanus, South Africa
12 Feb 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Pleasant, presentable, pricey”
Origins is trying hard to catch up with the sterling reputation of its predecessor, the Colonial, in the same hotel. Perhaps it's trying too hard. Catering for expensive tastes, it offers beautifully presented food, but with a price tag that will stagger even those with very deep pockets. The pleasantness of the staff and the beautiful new interior take away some of the pain. The chicken I had was served with all manner of interesting and thoughtfully prepared vegetables, and a delightful sauce, but the dessert, the "Origin's mess" was only so-so. Also try the mussel starter. Recommended only for special occasions.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Deb2A

03 Feb 2020

“New Years Day lunch”
We went for New Years Day lunch. It was probably the best meal we had in Hermanus. The kids menu was excellent with lots of choice and it was a relaxed atmosphere. The staff were lovely and the manageress particularly impressive.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall kn0ck
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
31 Jan 2020

“Disappointing”
The staff were all lovely and helpful, clearly working exceptionally hard as its definitely short staffed! We ate here for dinner. Food is over priced for what you get. We had the starter special with peaches which were not ripe and very hard. Burgers were average and we asked for the lamb to be medium and it was rare. We asked for extra bread and got hard bread sticks. We ordered a bottle of white wine which was warm - no discount for that but they did put in in an ice bucket. On reviewing our receipt again after paying we noticed we had been charged for two bottles of water when we only had one.Overall quite disappointing!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall LidikoLodge
St Lucia, Estuary
19 Jan 2020

“Sad service”
Food was good. Service was not existing.Order an expensive bottle of white wine, no ice bucket. Ask for an ice bucket, got a glass of ice. Many tables with views available, allocated table next to till. Disappointing experience. Not expected of a hotel of this stature.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian B, General Manager at Origins, responded to this review.
Thank you for the review . Apologies for the poor service you received at Origins . Will discuss issues with the team with a view of rectifying shortcomings. With renewed apologiesKind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Joedelray
Truro, United Kingdom
19 Jan 2020

“Great Sunday Lunch!”
I had the line fish of the day. It was cooked perfectly with a delicious sauce and a vegetables. The staff were friendly and attentive, the wine was good. My fellow diners had the roast beef and were all very impressed. I would highly recommend this restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian B, General Manager at Origins, responded to this review.
Thank you so much for the lovely review. Looking forward to welcoming you back at Origins for Sunday roast.It definitely is one my favourite dishes as well.Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ZulumannOslo
Oslo
20 Dec 2019

“Great meal”
For some reasons hotel restaurants often lack atmosphere and can be a bit bland or boring. This is somewhat the case with Origins as well. But, you’re normally at a restaurant mainly for the food. And what food! All dishes were really tasty and well prepared. (We stayed at The Marine and had two meals here). And to be fair, the restaurant is nice enough, and service is impeccible. It’s just that you find more cosy places elsewhere in Hermanus. If food is most important, it’s absolutely a place to visit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian B, General Manager at Origins, responded to this review.
Thank you for your lovely review. Our chef and her team will be delighted with your comments about her food.Apologies for the lack of atmosphere. We cannot wait to host you again in the near future. Trust you will have a stunning Festive season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Climber163540

23 Nov 2019

“Good sea food”
Fine dining restaurant in Hermanus. Enjoyed the ambience and the service. We had seafood platter for two and were happy with the choice. Food was fresh and very tasty, all grilled to perfection.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian B, General Manager at Origins, responded to this review.
Lovely review thank you. Chef Tronette is very proud and committed to source only the freshest of her ingredients and personally prepares supervises the preparation of her dishes. We look forward to welcoming you back to Origins.Warm regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Origins at the Marine
Book a Table
Contact Origins at the Marine
Contact Us
Address
Marine Drive
Hermanus
7200

 

View map
Food Served
Seafood
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday:
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:30
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Facilities
Functions
Secure Parking
Disabled
Weddings
Accommodation
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT