Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall GC_31427
Western Cape, South Africa
01 Nov 2018

“If you don't know what it is then say so...”
Reasonable egg and bacon I suppose... No choice in toast type and tasteless bacon. The health breakfast was very nice though but really, a flat white is not a coffee and a separate jug of hot milk. If you don't know what a customer is ordering then say so!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall karmal962
Cape Town Central, South Africa
28 Oct 2018

“Breakfast stop”
The breakfast menu for thos restaurant is very limited as I dont think its focus is breakfast but lunch and dinner. We had the home made muesli (this was nice) with fresh fruit, here is one of the areas it fell down for us as we felt it could have been more exciting with berries but it was just standard fruit with apples ,bananas and pineapple. The yogard was good and the orange juice tasted like it had preservatives in it so I am sorry but this was not an impressive breakfast. The surrounding is lovely if you sit outside as there are lovely trees in the garden.I must say there lunch time menu looks great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ismeorama

17 Aug 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Delicious traditional”
Easy to find and very popular stop for tourists.Traditional meals are deliciousLovely to dine outside on the patio overlooking the streetService was ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall lauren j

14 May 2018

“ABSOLUTE GEM - fantastic food & service!”
We loved our time here! We were heading through swellendam on route to CT and stopped in here for the night with our 6 month old boy. The staff couldn’t have been more accommodating. They were so friendly, polite and went out of their way to help us where they could (supplying a make shift baby bath at short notice and cleaning our baby bottles for us). The room was immaculate and spacious, the bed was so comfy and just enveloped us after a long drive. The shower was lovely and hot too. The room was so quiet and we had a good nights sleep. We were able to have a lovely meal in the restaurant that night as the staff organised for us to have a room close to the dining room (on our request) so our baby monitor reached the table. THE FOOD WAS ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS. Undoubtedly the best South African cuisine we’ve had in ages. The waiter brought us some complimentary bread and olives which took the edge off! My husband had an ice cold beer and I had a (very generous) glass of the house red which was on a par of some of the internationally acclaimed wine we tasted in Franshoek the week before. For starters we had bobotie springrolls and springbok carpaccio. Both were fresh and very tasty and the perfect sized portion. We went with the chefs specials -Karoo lamb curry and waterblommetjie bredie for mains and we were honestly so impressed. The meals were both so flavoursome with just the right amount of spice. The meat just fell off the bone - very soft and tender. All the food was cooked to perfection and we went to bed full and happy!! My husbands best part was the breakfast spread we had before our departure. Cereal, muesli, yoghurt, fresh tasty fruit, orange juice, tea and coffee, toast, Parma ham and cheese, AND THEN a hot breakfast!!! I had an amazing omelette and my husband went with eggs and bacon. What a great start to the day! The staff throughout our quick visit were very efficient and happy to help. The stunning old building and manicured gardens are truly beautiful and made me feel as if I had gone back in time. All in all, we were very happy and are quite confused by the small handful of negative reviews below. We are very well travelled and this was one of our best little stopovers.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Robx431
Johannesburg, South Africa
11 May 2018

“Walked out”
Arrived for lunch on Friday, Available tables had not been cleared from the previous diners. We eventually seated ourselves at a table waiting for the staff to clear the dirty dishes, and waited for a staff member to acknowledge us. After 15 minutes of being ignored, we walked out. Won't be back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall StefanV2162

21 Apr 2018

“Overpriced”
Setting and service was great, but the food feels store bought and the prices are inflated. At R100 a burger, I was expecting more.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall IvantheOrgan
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
29 Mar 2018

“Good from year to year”
We sometimes use this restaurant as a stop-off for coffee or lunch on our journey along the Garden Route. Nice to be able to sit outdoors in very pleasant 'gaa rden' although overlooking the nearby road. Food is good and varied menu.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Stephen B
Wigan
18 Feb 2018

“Worse meal and service since we arrived in South Africa”
We arrived on a quiet Sunday afternoon, waited 20 minutes to place our order. Waited a further 20 minutes for our drinks despite two reminders. When the food arrived, it was barely warm and very disappointing. For the standard this place charges way too much . Could never recommend it. Understaffed or poorly trained.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 247LiveLife
South Africa
12 Feb 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Average food but great service”
At first, there didn't seem to be any staff on duty, but then Jason came to serve us. His pleasant attitude made up for his lack of training. We didn't have wine, even though they had some Aan't Vette from the local winery in Riversdale. We tried the Belgian beer, which seemed a bit out of place in Swellendam. Food was average."Belgian" Icecream was full of ice crystals and a bit thin and watery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall EbenB38

11 Feb 2018

“Expected better”
Not bad, but pricey, waited long for our lunch (wasn’t a busy day) and the burgers lacked in flavour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Old Mill Guest House and Restaurant
Book a Table
Contact Old Mill Guest House and Restaurant
Contact Us
Address
241 Voortrek Street
Swellendam

 

View map
Food Served
BelgianBreakfastCape MalayMediterraneanSouth African
Average Price$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday
07:00 - 00:00
Facilities
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
TV/Sports
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Disabled
Smoking Section
Functions
Accommodation
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT