Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall AnnemiekD89
Maastricht, The Netherlands
28 Mar 2018

“Nice easy going spot to eat in St James”
Nice spot to have a quick bite or easy dinner. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food! Would recommend upgrading the wine list though. The service was friendly.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall pnel86
Mossel Bay, South Africa
09 Mar 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great location, but has some work to do!”
Firstly I would like to clarify that this review is in no way shape or form an attempt to do harm to the reputation of the Octopus Gardens. This review is just an honest account of our experience at the Octopus Gardens. After being invited by friends, we met up with our group at the Octopus Gardens for dinner. The restaurant offers inside and outside seating options and we chose to sit outside on couches. The atmosphere can be described as rustic. The black couches that we were seated upon were dirty with several holes burnt into them by cigarettes (that is what it looked like). Although some beers on the menu were not available there were more than enough to choose from. The beers that we ordered were crisp and cold. Our waiter did a good job of checking if we wanted to order something else. Unfortunately our waiter did not keep a very neat appearance. His hands were visibly dirty (very off-putting) as if he had been digging in the ground. He was also dressed very shabby as if he slept over at a friend’s house without bringing a change of clothes with. Someone in the hospitality industry should not be dressed THAT poorly, no matter how rustic the place. Everyone ordered pizzas. These square shaped thin base pizzas were fine. They were whoever served on tiles... the kind of tiles you find on a kitchen floor. This presented the food in a unappetizing, unhygienic and uncomfortable way. Finally, whilst sitting outside someone remarked that they saw something moving out of the corner of their eye. When one of the group members went to inspect (using the light from their cellphone), it turned out to be a huge rat. Someone else questioned whether or not it could be a Dassie due to its formidable size, but on closer inspection it was confirmed to be a massive rat. We also showed the rat to the waiter but he just shrugged. He did not apologize or give an explanation. As the night progressed we kept on seeing more rats in the garden. I still shudder when i think of those rats! Disgusting. This certainly was a first for me. Once again I want to state that this review is not ment to harm but rather to assist management. You have such an amazing location guys and your restaurant should the best that it can be. I hope this review helps to improve your offering because this was certainly one of my worst dining experiences.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall CaptainKhoisan

24 Jan 2018

“Great pizza and live music”
Great beer garden just across the line from St James tidal pool. Good for lunch and a cold beer after a swim. Good kids area too.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Agnes P
Cracow, Malopolskie, Poland
21 Jan 2018

“Excellent food, seats in the garden, cool atmosphere!”
We visited the place few times as we’ve been staying nearby. After first time there we loved the place - we got best food in the area, the staff was super friendly, and live music in the garden nearby the seaside was cool surprise for us as well. We really recommend this place!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 7rinam
Chiang Mai, Thailand
29 Nov 2017

“Appalling and Dreadful! AVOID!”
Worst service. Terrible food. Cranky, rude, discourteous owner who understands NOTHING about customer service. Argued with me when I complained about food... didnt even try and rectify... told me I was after a "free" lunch?????!!! No idea why people go there. It was awful. There are so many wonderful places in muizenberg and kalk bay. Satori pizza and service... great! Go there instead.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InFam00se, Owner at Octopus Garden, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
with all due respect, when food is unsatisfactory one complains about it. you do not finish the meal and then complain about the price. i asked you what was wrong with the meal, if it was not to your liking, you responded by telling me that my buffalo mozzarella isnt buffalo. which i then showed to you that it indeed is. you then said it wasnt enough. which i rightly assured you that our portions are priced according to an industry standard, and that the prices have not changed in over a year and a half.you were rude, assuming i was merely a manager. even threatening me by saying you would tell the owner that i did nothing to rectify your problem. and that this isnt how i was supposed to deal with your complaint. this is when i pointed out to you that i was the owner and that your words and actions are that of someone looking for a free meal.i stand by my initial statement. that our prices are set using an industry standard and that you behaved like someone that was looking for a free meal. im glad you will not return. as we are not in the business of giving out free meals.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall zeecranston
Mercer Island, Washington
17 Aug 2017

“Convenient and good”
This restaurant is right around the corner from blue on blue b&b where I stayed. Nice thin crust pizza was perfect at the end of a day of exploring the coast. It's also right next to the train station!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall omariprobinson
Charleston, South Carolina
26 Jun 2017

“Close and good for a drink”
Right down the street from Blue On Blue B&B where I stayed. Good variety in the bar. I had a pizza which was good.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Joanne J
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
23 May 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Amazing venue, great vibe! Warm, friendly service and lovely food.”
This is my home away from home. Wonderful atmosphere and beautiful venue. Love the new look after the recent changes, and especially 'Out of Africa' feel of the outside tented area, with its long wooden poles, lighting and candles, adding a cosy, romantic vibe. I am always warmly greeted by the friendly and professional staff, who make me feel at home. The food is excellent, the pizzas are divine and the new winter menu keeps me coming back for more!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall GillianRightford
Cape Town, South Africa
23 Apr 2017

“No. Just no.”
How this restaurant has a rating of 4.5 is beyond me. Very limited menu: only pizza. Didn't have many of the ingredients for the limited menu. Service diabolical or non-existent. Then. The wait. Food took an hour and a half and only appeared when I threatened to leave. Another big table left while I was complaining, they hadn't even been served! Apparently a chef hadn't pitched up but that doesn't explain the limited menu and lack of ingredients. So many good restaurants in Cape Town. Please don't bother with this one. Used to be good and now? No. Just no.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffrey B, Owner at Octopus Garden, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience. When did you visit the restaurant? I would like to follow up as this is not the norm. Also, in winter we cut back our a la carte menu as we battle to keep all our ingredients fresh for a full menu.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Jonathan L

23 Apr 2017

“Shocking service”
If you're in the mood for lots of apologies, delayed food and poor service pop on by to the Octopus Garden - where you can get ignored for the first 20 minutes after sitting for no extra cost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffrey B, Owner at Octopus Garden, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
I am sorry to hear you had a poor experience. I am away and will look into it when I return. When dis you visit the Octo?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Octopus' Garden
Book a Table
Contact Octopus' Garden
Contact Us
Address
The Old Post Office Building
Main Road
St James
7945

 

View map
Food Served
PizzasBreakfastFusionLight MealsMediterranean
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday: Closed
Tuesday - Thursday: 12:00 - 23:00
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00 - 23:00
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
TV/Sports
Outside Seating
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Weddings
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT