Website
Weather
OverviewMenuReviews
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall georgebI2881GI
Meyerton, South Africa
27 Jan 2019

“Dinner”
This place is terrible we had Dinner there during our holiday and Pick up foodd poisining.Me and my wife was admitted to Hospital.Went and seë the Manager with several complains from Friends but hê Just pulp is a shoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Ballito, responded to this review.
Good day georgebI2881GI,Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would love to investigate this further. Please urgently send us your contact details using this link so that we can get hold of you. http://eyerys.net/oceanOcean Basket
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Flashpackers_60
Hartford, United Kingdom
26 Jan 2019

“Good value as ever”
Our first visit this year and it won't be the last.Service was excellent and the food was also of the same standard.I had my favourite, kingklip, which was cooked perfectly. My wife had a combo, prawns and calamari, which was a very good serving again perfectly cooked.The wine list is good and reasonably priced.The Ballito restaurant has the advantage of being on the edge of the beach and so you get great views.We eat there regularly and are never disappointed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Ballito, responded to this review.
Hello Flashpackers_60,Thank you for this "reel-y" great review! So glad to read about your awesome experience with us.We look forward to having you back again at Ocean Basket Ballito, soon.Ocean Basket
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall HillDavide_13
London, United Kingdom
23 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Dinner for two with a brilliant ocean view”
Excellent service , young Fortunate our waitron, was very helpful, chatty and friendly, had A good sense of humour for a young lady. There was only one little problemo, the 'synthetic' lemon and butter dressing, which unfortunately the kitchen staff drizzled all over the sea food platter for two, ruining the whole dish . Being a discerning diner, I would have preferred the choice of deciding whether I add a sauce ( this one was custard like , and was terrible, so I touched none of the prawns on the platter ) or not , apart from that, a most enjoyable evening with great company
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Ballito, responded to this review.
Hello Hilldavide_13,Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. As much as we are thrilled to read that the service from Fortunate was a hit, we are sad to read about your meal experience. Please follow the link to leave us with your contact number so we get in contact with to discuss your experience http://eyerys.net/oceanOcean Basket
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall DaveA1966
Plymouth, United Kingdom
04 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Good food”
This was my last meal in South Africa. I took advantage of being able to order King Clip as it is not available in the UK. I was not disappointed. Thank you.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelPowell, Owner at Ocean Basket Ballito, responded to this review.
That’s great to hear Dave! We’re so chuffed your last SA experience was a good one. We look forward to welcoming you back one day. Best wishes from all of us at OB Ballito.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall KZN_REV

01 Jan 2019

“excellent”
Excellent views and food was great. Friendly and welcoming staff. Great place to have a meal while at the beach. Been here 3 times and never disappointed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Ballito, responded to this review.
Hey there Kzn_Rev.Thank you for the for taking the time to review Ocean Basket Ballito! We are incredibly happy to hear it and can't wait to pass on the compliments to the Ocean Basket Ballito team.We look forward to providing you with another dose of vitamin 'sea'.Ocean Basket
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall annp1954
Glossop, United Kingdom
16 Dec 2018

“Fish & chips with an ocean view”
Although Ocean Basket is a chain & I have been to many of the branches, the Ballito restaurant has the edge, not only is the food excellent but you can eat it in front of the ocean, what an amazing vista - I’m sure the food tasted even better because of the location - oh - & the staff are great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Ballito, responded to this review.
Hi there Annp1954,This review is as good as our famous fish & chips! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit.We look forward to having you back again at Ocean Basket Ballito, soon.Many Thanks,Ocean Basket
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall SorayaMcC
Johannesburg, South Africa
10 Dec 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Not what expected”
I booked a window seat to look out at the ocean view, But the windows were dirty that gave an awful view, if any. The complimentary rolls were balls of cold dough. My starter of potatoe fritter was three small oily disks hidden under the dressings. Extremely unappetizing meal.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelPowell, Owner at Ocean Basket Ballito, responded to this review.
Good day Soraya,It's been raining for three days, so we had to delay our window cleaning. It gets done professionally by a contractor, and very regularly. Being right on the ocean front, it is impossible to have clean windows every day. We do our absolute best and got to great cost to ensure our customers have the best ocean view as often as possible.Our rolls are baked fresh every day, twice a day, and we usually get plenty of compliments about our rolls and their authentic Mediterranean flavour. They are a ciabatta dough, and have a chewier consistency as opposed to store-bought rolls which have a flakier, 'cakey' consistency. We do not re-heat them after baking as this makes them even chewier. Our apologies if your Rosti was oily. This is sometimes due to the Mediterranean olive and tomato salsa which goes on top, and it sounds as if the server may have been a bit heavy handed with it, as it has an olive oil base. The Rosti are grilled on the flat top, and are not themselves oily. Next time, kindly ask for a manager and we'll gladly replace them, or make you something else to your taste.Regards,Melanie Powell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 498thatmarrelsdo

28 Nov 2018

“Not that great!”
I strongly feel this franchise is a disappointment to the Ocean Basket franchise. The food wasn’t bad but the service was poor. The portion of roasted veg (which we were charged for, however the menu states that you cam swop your chips for roasted veg), was an extremely small portion. The piece of fish we received with the platter for one was also very tine and thin. When we enquired about the size of the fish, two waiters simply stared at us and waked away. They did not send a manager to the table to assist us, and we did not receive any assistance from the waiters further regarding the matter. A manager did not once come to ask if we were satisfied (which is an iconic thing of Ocean Basket). After we settled our bill, the waiter not being satisfied with her tip pulled an attitude with us. I would not recommend this specific OB franchise.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Ballito, responded to this review.
Hi there, 498thatmarrelsdo, we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience at Ocean Basket Ballito. Please follow the link http://eyerys.net/ocean to send us your contact details so we can get in touch with you. Thanks The OB team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Geostravels
Johannesburg, South Africa
26 Nov 2018

“Awful!”
Bad service, oily food, lack of interest and management, noisy staff, and worst of all no taste. Olive Oil (only on request!) a cloudy mixture of something). Was ‘ordered’ by the waitress to pass the half-empty dishes and they deliberately ignored the guests at the adjacent table. Not, not good!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelPowell, Owner at Ocean Basket Ballito, responded to this review.
Good day @Geostravels,Oh no, we are terribly sorry to hear about your experience. This is definitely not our usual standard and we'd appreciate the opportunity to get to the bottom of the matter. Kindly send us your contact details via oceanbasketballito@gmail.com so we can figure out where it went wrong, and discuss with our staff. Many thanks, Ocean Basket Ballito management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Culture46279094481

16 Nov 2018

“Siwe M”
I always enjoy food at OB. I took my daughter and grand daughter for lunch. We really enjoyed our lunch. We ordered Platter for 2. Waiters and waitresses were fascinated by my grandchild, they kept her entertained all the time. The view is great.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Ballito, responded to this review.
This review is o-fish-ally awesome Culture46279094481. So glad to read about your awesome experience. We look forward to having you back again soon. The OB Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Ocean Basket - Ballito
Book a Table
Contact Ocean Basket - Ballito
Contact Us
Address
Shop 1, 12B Compensation Beach Road
Ballitoville
Ballito
4420

 

View map
Food Served
SeafoodCajun/CreoleGreekMediterraneanSushi
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday: 11:00 - 21:30
Facilities
Take Out
Child Friendly
Outside Seating
Wi-Fi
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT