Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall clairebB7806BU
London, United Kingdom
12 Apr 2019

“Frozen oysters - not good!”
We booked a table for Mythos for last night and were very excited to eat there, being keen lovers of all things Greek. We ordered 2 oysters, dolmades and some calamari for starters. When the oysters came out, they were presented in their shells on a bed of ice. We covered them in lemon and were shocked when we put them into our mouths, as they were literally blocks of ice!! We couldn’t believe it - our first experience of oysters in South Africa this year and they were frozen!When we told our waiter, he took them away and offered us more, which we obviously declined. Later into our meal, the general manager came over to say that we shouldn’t worry, as frozen oysters are totally fine to eat. Having typed ‘I ate a frozen oyster’ into an online search engine and the first response that came up is as follows:‘Oysters may be frozen, but once thawed, the texture of the meat, becomes softer and the oysters are generally not suitable for raw consumption. Frozen oysters, however, are quite acceptable when they are cooked.‘ These were not cooked, they were being served as ‘fresh’ and raw. What made things worse was that we were given our bill and we weren’t even compensated for the disappointing frozen food. They said ‘well we were going to give you a free coffee or pudding, but you don’t want one’. Too right - I’ve had an oyster ice cream, I don’t need another pudding now!! We questioned this and were given a whopping 45 rand off of the bill. Very disappointing and would not recommend this restaurant due to the frozen ‘fresh’ food being served and the ignorance of the management. There are tens of restaurants around Umhlanga - don’t waste your time here!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Marilyn G

03 Apr 2019

“Authentic Greek Food”
Very pleasant meal with authentic Greek Food, horta, lemon and rosemary roast potatoes, soutsakakia, Greek salad and a very nice carafe of Retina, well worth a visit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall VanessaNarotam
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
30 Mar 2019

“Good food and great vibe on the Umhlanga strip”
We were a table of 8 and most of us weren’t that hungry. The best part of coming to a restaurant that specializes in mezze is that you can order lots of starters or mezze-type dishes and share. We ordered the grilled peri peri calamari, crispy squid heads, 2 portions of crispy lamb chops, hummus, pita crisps, cheese croquettes and deep fried halloumi. Mains - a full chicken, chicken souvlaki with chips and the fish and chips (grilled hake). All the dishes ordered were well prepared.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Ludwigakrause
Durban, South Africa
20 Mar 2019

“Lunch with family.”
With some of my family doing the low card diets, this place was a win. Great food and awesome service. The meat was well prepared and had great flavours, the seafood was fresh and good portions. Truly enjoyed the through back era to good Greek food.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall clarkwhite
Ipswich, United Kingdom
18 Mar 2019

“Good experience”
Friendly staff, and nice greek food. We both enjoyed our meal and would eat here again next time we are in UmhlangaThe cocktails are good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Nicky4Angel
Johannesburg, South Africa
15 Mar 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Incredible Atmosphere and Vegan Options!”
I had an incredible experience at the Mythos in Umhlanga. They had multiple vegan options, an amazing atmosphere and friendly staff. I would highly recommend a visit to this wonderful Greek restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Tauri06

14 Mar 2019

“Pathetic Service”
Pathetic customer service. Not even worthy of a single star rating. Half way into our meal, We had just ordered another mezze platter & a manager (Sifundo I think, per the pic) whom had never come to our table before during our time there, suddenly appears at our table, telling us that we have to leave the restaurant within 30 minutes because our table is reserved for someone else. We were in shock, yet there were so many empty tables around us and our table was a small table for 2 people. In all the restaurants around the world Suncoast Mythos is the first restaurant where paying customers are chased in the middle of their meals & already occupied tables are still being booked out. The managers at this restaurant need some serious training on customer service. I will never return to Suncoast Mythos due to pathetic customer service. The waiters however were a pleasure & they seemed to know a lot more about customer service than the managers in this restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall CJJLLR
Vereeniging, South Africa
14 Mar 2019

“Terrible Kingklip”
After visiting this Mythos a couple of times since it opened the kingklip was excellent but last night 13th March 2019 it was totally terrible. Fish was underdone and had no taste. Even the lemon butter sauce was awful. Had to send back all 3 plates of food but wasn’t charged for it by the owner. I know that fish loses its taste after its been frozen for too long and that it’s been over cooked but it can’t happen like this all the time. The calamari was great as always. All that we want is to have a decent meal in the evening but it was a total flop at the end.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall NadineB335
Johannesburg, South Africa
08 Mar 2019

“Terrible food”
I would not recommend this particular Mythos to anyone. The lamb dishes were dry and unpleasant and the fish meal I had was the worst fish I have ever had. I had to cut it when it should be falling off the bone and I think I chewed forever. The place is always quiet which is never a good sign.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall StoneColdTricky

06 Mar 2019

“Great food and service”
Really enjoyed our evening at Mythos.Attentive service with huge smiles and cracking food - what's not to like?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Mythos - Lighthouse Mall Umhlanga
Book a Table
Contact Mythos - Lighthouse Mall Umhlanga
Contact Us
Address
Lighthouse Mall
14 Chartwell Drive
Umhlanga

 

View map
Food Served
GreekGrillsSeafood
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday: 11:30 - 22:00
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
TV/Sports
Functions
Wi-Fi
Outside Catering
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT