Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall adrianmZ2573YO
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
06 Nov 2019

“Good food!”
We ate veg platter for 1, calamari and Seafood platter for 2. Very good food, very nice athmosphere and good staff! Congratulation!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Lakota75
Cricklade, United Kingdom
19 Oct 2019

“Uninspiring food in a lovely looking restaurant”
I came here last night for dinner with 2 friends. I had a real craving for decent Greek food. Starters were promising- the dips and pita were nice enough (the pita was absolutely lovely) My friend had stuffed peppers that looked lovely Here’s where it went south.I ordered crispy lamb Chops with “upgraded” chips (Greek chips on the menu) I was expecting beautifully caramelised dark looking chops, covered with rosemary.I got very pale looking, skinny and sad excuses for chops (the kind you can buy in bulk braai packs) from the supermarket.Yes, the fat on the ends were crispy- but for the love of all things Greek, that is not what crispy lamb chops should look like. No seasoning either.The chips were ok- covered in a crumble feta.For dessert I had Katifi, which should have been beautifully crispy angel-hair filo pastry. I got soggy, pale and insipid pastry that was chewy as hell The filling was overly heavy on the cinnamon so didn’t taste Greek at all.I was going to complain, however the 3rd and final issue was their birthday music was so loud at the back of the restaurant where the speakers are, it’s actually painful to the ears, and being a Friday night, they had several birthday celebrations.The birthday celebration itself was good fun- the whole team light a sparkler clap and dance etc etc and blare a Greek song of celebration, however the volume was just inexcusably loud- and when this happened 6 or 7 times in a 90 minute period, it became unbearable. The Gin & Tonics are made with flavoured sugar syrup rather than pressed fruit or fresh syrups, so avoid any fruit based cocktail (my friend’s watermelon G&T tasted like super sweet flavoured kids candy rather than refreshingly light watermelon juice) So stick with wine or beer and you’ll be ok Now, on the plus side, the restaurant itself is beautifully designed, and the service from our waiter was impeccable.If you’re coming here to celebrate a birthday, or for a pre-night out dinner, you will absolutely have a blast.If you’re coming here for a good catch up with friends you haven’t seen in 2 years, for a quality Greek meal, it may disappoint you. Sadly, based on this experience I wouldn’t return.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall erekas2018

09 Oct 2019

“Best lunch in the town”
R99 prawns and calamari with glass of RoseQuick serviceBest serviceShe also knows how to upsell! And waiter Michelle was fabulous ! Great tasty foodWill go again gor this great vibe!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MP050607
Rancho Mirage, California
29 Sep 2019

“Lunch special”
Had a fabulous lunch special prawns/chips and a glass of wine for R99 omg is was fantastic. Which I could have had that every day. Staff friendly, manager helpful and friendly.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Mandhir16
Durban, South Africa
28 Sep 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Disappointing Experience”
I had a really disappointing experience with my family.I was made to sit outside despite there being a few tables inside.We were placed in a narrow walkway in a shopping centre which was really uncomfortable and cold. They did have patio heaters which we requested on numerous occasions to be turned on but our requests fell on deaf ears.We watched as plenty of other walk in customers were offered tables inside.We were told that the empty tables were reserved however no one ever pitched up and other patrons were actually seated there while other tables were arranged.The service is well below standard. Our waiter actually came up to us after around 20 minutes then said he is going to serve some other patrons then return to take our drinks orders.Eventually after kicking up a real fuss we were given a table inside.Starters arrived when we almost done with the main meals.Not sure if this is the Greek way of doing things. No management ever came to us to ask if everything was ok.By the way I had taken my 2 daughters for dinner for their birthdays to Mythos and it turned out to be a real disaster.NEVER AGAIN.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall hannetjiee
Johannesburg, South Africa
27 Sep 2019

“Authentic and delicious”
Had a Greek feast there. We shared a very generous meat platter, brimful of meat strips, little meat skewers, chicken livers, succulent calamari, pita bread, tsatziki and tarmosalata. The prawns were not great, but the rest of the food made up for it. Mythos has been reliably good for several years now and one of my favourite go to places in Umhlanga.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall cliffordius1
Cape Town Central, South Africa
18 Sep 2019

“Underwhelming Meal”
Mythos was highly recommended by our Airbnb host, but our visit was nothing special. My wife's vegetarian platter was rather bland, while my mixed grill was similarly unspectacular. A couple of tiny kebabs, a small grilled lambchop and a meat patty could hardly have weighed 200g in total. Taste was ok, but meal portion and presentation were only so-so. Definitely needs more pizzazz !!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Andrew R
Durban, South Africa
10 Sep 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great Greek Food in a relaxed environment”
I had dinner at Mythos recently with work colleagues. We ordered a selection of platters to share with the table - what a great idea. We had a selection of breads, seafood platters and a meat platter. The prawns were great! The service was very attentive, and the environment very relaxed. A great place for a group of friends or a more intimate dinner. Will definitely return back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ClairePhillips031
Durban, South Africa
03 Sep 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Greek Food Deluxe”
As always, Mythos in Umhlanga Village provides top-quality, authentic Greek cuisine followed by world-class service. Their vibey restaurant, set in the heart of Umhlanga Rocks, is a great spot for friendly meetups and birthdays, day or night. Absolutely love the atmosphere here.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Stay816841

29 Aug 2019

“Pleasant”
Fantastic friendly service, veg platter was very good and tasty, rump was supposed to be medium but was a little under done so left a bit that was just not nice, lamb chops were very tasty, had to send back to sear a bit more as under done, would prefer a little more veg with the meal given the price, baklava was amazing... Superb. We enjoyed the meal overall and the staff, maybe just feel like it was just a bit over priced for what we got.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Mythos - Lighthouse Mall Umhlanga
Book a Table
Contact Mythos - Lighthouse Mall Umhlanga
Contact Us
Address
Lighthouse Mall
14 Chartwell Drive
Umhlanga

 

View map
Food Served
GreekGrillsSeafood
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday: 11:30 - 22:00
Facilities
Child Friendly
Outside Catering
TV/Sports
Take Out
Functions
Wi-Fi
Secure Parking
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT