Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall postscript65
Hermanus, South Africa
11 May 2019

“Friday night fun”
Really authentic Greek restaurant (with the traditional plate smashing at the month end) mixed menu mezzes to calamares. Good wine list; beers on tap; pleasant unobtrusive waiters. Very pleasant atmosphere.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall HelenFourie
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
09 May 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Greek evening with friends”
We loved the look and the atmosphere of the Greek restaurant. The food was typical Greek and I could recommend a few items on the menu.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall wcjones1967
Cape Town, South Africa
07 May 2019

“Great food and great service”
The food, the service, the atmosphere has always been good. I have been going to this family owned restaurant for 35 years and it has always been a fantastic experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JMBFDublin
Dublin
07 May 2019

“Worth the wait”
We’ve been meaning to visit this restaurant for ages and it didn’t disappoint. I had a lovely Greek pasta dish and partner had Souvlaki. Nice Baklava to finish. Excellent service.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall engcmuller
Sao Paulo, SP
02 May 2019

“Surprise”
Finding a great greek restaurante is not easy. This one is a piece of Greece in Africa, The mezzes and the seafood are excellent. Avoid the Moussaka.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall LaraS1891
Bordeaux, France
25 Apr 2019

“Gréât Greek food !”
On my last three annual visits to Cape Town i have not been disappointed ! Gréât Greek food, amazing service and lovely ambience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Craig M
CPT
20 Apr 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Newlands: Good food - poor service - disinterested owner”
Mykonos just recently opened in Newlands. Food is good - but staff are ill-trained. Mains arrived with starters, tables not cleared, orders delayed, waiters 'assuming' all the change is their gratuity - and a general lack of attentiveness.Having just invested a tidy sum - you would expect the owner to be "hands-on" with his latest expansion. Not to be. He sat outside on the pavement the entire time, not once did he or his partner visit any table to see how things were going ... and when we gave him the feedback on our evening ( after waiting 15+ minutes for 'change' ) - his response: "Are you telling me how to run my business?"If that's the owner's response, it's little wonder that the wait staff are not up to scratch. Such an attitude is a sure recipe for failure - especially in the Southern Suburbs where word of mouth makes or breaks a business.Why spend all the money on opening a new restaurant if you are not going to invest in one of the most important parts - staff training ( and perhaps a dash of hands-on management )
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall danay2013
Cape Town Central, South Africa
18 Apr 2019

“A Newby in Newlands”
I have been watching the new baby developing over a few week. Well it opened last night. Waiters well trained, pleasant and willing to go the extra mile. Seapoint imported into Newlands kKj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall GallivanterTouring
Cape Town Central, South Africa
31 Mar 2019

“Really good, authentic Greek food”
If you’re after a great Greek restaurant that offers very good, tasty food in a vibey atmosphere then this is definitely the place to visit. Frequented by locals the restaurant is also attracting more and more tourists. The menu is comprehensive but my recommendation is definitely doing one of the mezze platters - especially the platter for 4. Exceptionally good value for money, the platter is jam packed with a great selection. The wine list isn’t extensive but offers a selection of really great wines for all budgets Desserts are also exceptionally good - You have to try the halva ice cream or the yoghurt and honey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Waggy1610
Edenvale, South Africa
11 Mar 2019

“It's OK, But coukd be better”
We went for pre Cape Town Cycle Tour dinner. We were a big party and ordered a selection of foods. As it was a traditional Greek place I ordered the lamb souvlakia. I have eaten authentic Greek Food many a time, and this just did not make the grade. It was ok.The Greek table salad was good, and my wife's chicken meal was good.We ordered bacclava for dessert and, it was flaky pastry with very little to it, definitely not good.So, they have a good name, seem to be an institution, but should be better.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Mykonos Taverna
Book a Table
Contact Mykonos Taverna
Contact Us
Address
343 Main Road
Sea Point

 

View map
Food Served
GreekGrillsMediterraneanVegetarian
Average Price$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Tuesday - Sunday:
18:00 - 22:30
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Functions
Weddings
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT