Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall quantockm
Taunton, United Kingdom
22 Jan 2019

“Variable food and service”
We ate here a couple of times and some dishes were very good e.g sea bream, grilled prawns others lacked flavour. Very good wine list. Service friendly if a little slow on occasions.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall savvy_dave
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
14 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Disappointing meal”
We came here on a Sunday night when most restaurants in the city centre were closed. We tried to eat at Bombay Brasserie, but were told it was fully booked despite there being at least 5 unoccupied tables. So, we ended up at Mint. The food was disppointing for a 5 star hotel, especially a Taj property. The calamari starter was quite good, but the beetroot cured salmon seemed to lack freshness and the accompanying "spiced cauliflower puree" was tasteless and the "grilled sourdough" was absent. Bunny chow was ok, nothing more. My main of grilled kingkip with "potato mousseline" was poor. The piece of fish was tiny and the potatoes just a very average mash. The beurre blanc sauce was almost cold and lacking in flavour. I sent it back but had to wait an age for it to be replaced.Maybe the chef had the night off, but the dishes fell short of what was indicated on the menu. A disappointing meal and I cannot recommend this place.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall jelptex
El Paso, Texas
17 Oct 2018

“Good food in a casual atmosphere.”
Facing St. George's mall and inside the Taj, breakfast, lunch and dinner are offered at fair prices. "Bunny chow" is a must have version of a popular street food.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Scarlett A
Snowmass Village
17 Sep 2018

“Nice pleasant casual dining... bistro style!”
Great for lunch or casual dinner! Very good food, nicely prepared. Modest pricing. Calm atmosphere. Banquettes and wood chairs. Adequately comfortable. More efficient than elegant. Inside Taj Hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Ambreesh M
Mumbai, India
30 Jul 2018

“Fantastic breakfast !”
i stayed at the Taj and used the place for breakfast. they have a very elaborate and fresh choice of breakfast. Whatever I ate was great and I did not get bored of the breakfast considering I stayed at the hotel for 6 days! congratulations to the Chef and the team managing the place. Brilliant. Look forward to the next visit and stay at the Taj, Cape Town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall jesusda81
Mexico City, Mexico
04 Jun 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“The buffet is good, the lunch is not good”
Breakfast for guests of the Taj hotel is good. Unfortunately went there for lunch and had to return a dish of fish twice as it was under cooked. Didn't go back. Next time ill eat at the waterfront or any other place. For a restaurant at the Taj this is more like for a 3 star hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JBtravelmad59
Worcester, United Kingdom
30 May 2018

“Average”
We ate here twice and were a bit underwhelmed by the food. The staff were very nice and served quickly but for the cost of the food would probably not use again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Robert T
Seattle, Washington
20 May 2018

“Perfect spot for a meal and people watching!”
A great menu and try to get a table outside on St. George's Mall (the boulevard that it pedestrians only) or a table close to the outside. Food is interesting but service needs help - a little disorganized!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Mimie W
Spokane, Washington
06 Apr 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Buffet Breakfast, Dinner, Excellent Food”
My husband and I had all of our Breakfasts and Dinners at the Mint during our stay at The Taj Hotel where food and service were both excellent. Breakfast was Buffet style with plenty of options: continental style or hot breakfast with plenty of choices for beverage. Dinner was my husband's favorite (Meat Platter). There's certainly plenty of wines available. Wait time for our dinner was 10 minutes on average. Outdoors seating was available which puts the diner in the vicinity of the St. George's Mall. The outdoor experience was more noisy, with plenty of activities to watch around you. Sometimes it could be very windy. The indoor ambiance was quieter. Because the restaurant is small, it's not too crowded (except for breakfast when most hotel guests eat here). The wait staff were very attentive to our needs. I consider dining here as mid-range pricing, which is not too bad, considering this place is in a 5-star hotel. We definitely love our dining experience at The Mint restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ddikelly
Alderley edge
05 Apr 2018

“Something for everyone”
Came here for lunch in between the free walking tours. Super friendly and efficient staff. Something for everyone on the relatively small menu. I had a fabulous ‘bunny chow’, the children tried both the parathas, which were divine as were the ribs and salmon carpaccio. Good wine list and lovely servers. Sat inside the open area which was very cool on a warm day.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Mint Restaurant @ Taj Cape Town
Book a Table
Contact Mint Restaurant @ Taj Cape Town
Contact Us
Address
St Georges Mall
cnr Adderley & Wale Streets
Cape Town
8000

 

View map
Food Served
Global/InternationalGrillsLight Meals
Average Price$$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Open Daily: 07:00 - 22:30
Facilities
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
Outside Seating
Smoking Section
Functions
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT