Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall lekud
Cape Town Central, South Africa
07 Aug 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Superb meal at Bombay Brasserie section”
We wanted to go to the Bombay Brasserie restaurant, but that is currently being renovated. However the Mint Restaurant is serving a trimmed down menu from the Bombay Brasserie so we decided to try that. Food was superb - especially that starters and deserts - mains were ok but need the full menu to do justice to a meal here. Service was a trifle slow and haphazard, but did not detract from meal. Wine selection was adequate and reasonably priced. Definitely will go back to Bombay Brasserie once it re-opens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Travelfromhampshire
Guildford
05 Aug 2019

“Nice but quiet”
Mint is in the Taj Hotel, so you can enjoy an aperetif in the glorious foyer lounge bar area before moving through to this relatively low key, subdued modern decor restauant; steaks, fish, burgers and various South African delicacies on the menu. We have eaten here several times and enjoyed it without being completely wowed. The service is fine but it is quiet without feeling as rarified and special as the Bombay Brasserie at the other end of the Taj.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Craigp0017
Sydney, Australia
05 Aug 2019

“A little chaotic”
Food is good, menu is narrow and appropriate for a cafe.Co-ordination and service is dodgy with mains arriving while eating entre, needing to chase staff for a drink, incorrect billing and incorrect orders being delivered.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall RParbhoo
Johannesburg, South Africa
29 Apr 2019

“Early lunch”
We just checked in and got in for lunch They open 12 to 3 I ordered veg Mumbai tiffin which comes with 2 curry 1 dhal and rice 1 paratha Ok not so tasty My husband ordered chicken curry small portion And my son bunny chow which was a half roll not a proper bunny bread Quite pricey Sunday afternoon not many restaurants around Taj CPT for lunch opens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Nicola_Catton

26 Apr 2019

“Horrible Experience”
Food arrived after 1 hour and cold, staff was neglectful and rude. I remember coming to The Mint in 2016 and it was nice back then. will not be going there again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall nirajsomaiya
Singapore, Singapore
03 Apr 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Superb breakfast with masala dosa”
This is inside the TAJ hotel and breakfast is outstanding. We had great time having Upma , Masala dosa dosa , Pongal etc. The spread is huge and outstanding. Masala chai is also avaIlable. We had a great time.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall carolevendal

31 Mar 2019

“Mint waitrons not minty”
I am a regular to this restaurant however the waitrons need to learn a lot. They are becoming slower by the visit and cannot take an order correctly. You have to call chef to take order properly. They are not observant as they did not see we had no vutlery and they are slow. The food however remains excellent compliments to chef last week Sunday.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall quantockm
Taunton, United Kingdom
22 Jan 2019

“Variable food and service”
We ate here a couple of times and some dishes were very good e.g sea bream, grilled prawns others lacked flavour. Very good wine list. Service friendly if a little slow on occasions.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall savvy_dave
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
14 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Disappointing meal”
We came here on a Sunday night when most restaurants in the city centre were closed. We tried to eat at Bombay Brasserie, but were told it was fully booked despite there being at least 5 unoccupied tables. So, we ended up at Mint. The food was disppointing for a 5 star hotel, especially a Taj property. The calamari starter was quite good, but the beetroot cured salmon seemed to lack freshness and the accompanying "spiced cauliflower puree" was tasteless and the "grilled sourdough" was absent. Bunny chow was ok, nothing more. My main of grilled kingkip with "potato mousseline" was poor. The piece of fish was tiny and the potatoes just a very average mash. The beurre blanc sauce was almost cold and lacking in flavour. I sent it back but had to wait an age for it to be replaced.Maybe the chef had the night off, but the dishes fell short of what was indicated on the menu. A disappointing meal and I cannot recommend this place.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall jelptex
El Paso, Texas
17 Oct 2018

“Good food in a casual atmosphere.”
Facing St. George's mall and inside the Taj, breakfast, lunch and dinner are offered at fair prices. "Bunny chow" is a must have version of a popular street food.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Mint Restaurant @ Taj Cape Town
Book a Table
Contact Mint Restaurant @ Taj Cape Town
Contact Us
Address
St Georges Mall
cnr Adderley & Wale Streets
Cape Town
8000

 

View map
Food Served
Global/InternationalGrillsLight Meals
Average Price$$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Open Daily: 07:00 - 22:30
Facilities
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
Outside Seating
Smoking Section
Functions
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT