Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Navigator504092

11 Aug 2019

“Great resturant”
the quality of food is of a high standard and makes an excellent choice when dinning with small or large groups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall itchyfeet276
Pretoria, South Africa
20 Dec 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Good food but rather pricey”
We went for the buffet on Saturday evening, and the atmosphere and setting of the restaurant is lovely. A beautiful dam outside with many birds to watch, lush green grass etc. The lady playing the piano and singing in the restaurant also created a beautiful ambiance. Considering the price of the buffet, the starters of the buffet lacked variety and no soup was on offer to the guests. Asking about the soup, I was told that it is available but will have to be fetched from the kitchen. No butter was presented with the breadrolls, we had to ask for butter which was fetched out of the fridge. The price of the wines from the winelist were rather high. Food is of good quality with a fair spread of variety for the main course and deserts. To get your value for money, you have to arrive hungry and ensure that you eat a starter, main meal and desert.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 380neo
Cape Town, South Africa
15 Jul 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Buffet Brilliance!”
The food was absolutely delicious and met my expectations. I especially enjoyed the lamb meatballs, mushroom sauce, the soup of the day, assortment of desserts and overall variety offered. Diners can choose from an unparalleled selection of food ranging from salads, soups, meats, side dishes and desserts. Myself and my family were spoilt for choice! The restaurant manager, along with his staff, were attentive, polite, engaging and eager to ensure our night was memorable -- and it was. I especially appreciated the restaurant manager's assistance pertaining to wine selection, of which this restaurants boasts an impressive range. I hosted a function there last year and was pleasantly surprised some of the staff still remembered me. The cherry on top was the delightful live entertainment provided by a pianist who was gifted vocally and contributed immensely to creating a superb dining experience!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall GillianJhb
Johannesburg South Africa
01 May 2018

“Tastes of the World”
Chose to indulge on the evening that they offer the tastes of the world and indeed there was a great variety but... Unfortunatey there is a but because a lot of it wasn't especially identifiable as a special international cuisine - and in this regard perhaps some more visible labelling and perhaps flag draping could boost the theme. What we did have was tasty - what we didn't have was a surprise - semi sweet white wine by the glass... Nonetheless the service was good - but I have to say - breakfast there was extra good... the food was restocked before you cold even register it was running out. There was a wide choice and service was excellent.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emarketing2017, Marketing Assistant at The Meadow Green Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear GillianJHB,Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.On behalf of the TEAM, please accept my sincerest apologies for not meeting or exceeding your expectations, with regards to the special international cuisine. Thank you for bringing your suggestions with regards to labeling and draping the food with flags. Thank you for your compliments regarding the breakfast and our friendly waiters. We strive to uphold our exceptional service and offerings for all GUESTS.Kind regards,The African Pride Irene Country Lodge Management TEAM.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Rachel M
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
28 Dec 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Pleasurable”
We enjoyed a summer day breakfast in the spa area due to Christmas day lunch preparations at the restaurant. Staff went all out to make the space not only workable but provided incredible service to patrons. I cannot fault breakfast served, everything was fresh and tasty.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Crazyrosesa
Pretoria
22 Dec 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Breakfast Treat for two friends.”
Went to the Meadow Green Restaurant as a treat for my friend ...the very best friend one can have...We started off with fruit juice (a big variety)the cereals were also a big variety then on to the many flavoured yogurt and all kinds of dried fruits and nuts.The next was fresh fruit too many to name...on to the breakfast it's self. Wow what a spread far too many to name but just about anything one could want...eggs done to order, and many other dishes....there was bottled water and sparkling wine where one could help yourself. The atmosphere was so pleasant. The staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. We will be going there again....
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Adventureandtravel
Centurion, South Africa
12 Oct 2017

“Terrible experience - unprofessional management”
We booked in advance for Sunday lunch - confirmed the day before if we can add 2 people to our party. When we arrived they had no booking for us...and were not interested in assisting us. Pity, we have stayed there a few times. Not again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Lutzie
Johannesburg, South Africa
03 Sep 2017

“Excellent lunch”
Huge choice of carvery buffet as well as every starter and dessert you can think of. Truly value for money!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall BenSym2
Centurion, South Africa
27 Apr 2017

“Lovely”
Such a great place to dine, the atmosphere was great the food was great the staff were great. Well worth a visit, we certainly will be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall William J
Arkadelphia, Arkansas, United States
02 Apr 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Very good food, service and ambience”
I ate dinner. Not much of a crowd, but service was good. Wine selection was adequate and the food was good. When I travel to South Africa I try to eat as much seafood as possible. Even though Pretoria is not a coastal city the king klip was great. The menu was expansive so I am guessing that all dishes were as good as mine. I plan to be back at the lodge and restaurant in June of 2017.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Meadow Green Restaurant at Irene Country Lodge
Book a Table
Contact Meadow Green Restaurant at Irene Country Lodge
Contact Us
Address
African Pride Irene Country Lodge
Nellmapius Drive
Irene

 

View map
Food Served
CountryBreakfastBuffetFine DiningLight MealsPicnics
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Breakfast
Monday - Sunday: 06:30 - 09:30
Lunch
Monday - Saturday: 12:30 - 13:00
Sunday: 13:00 - 15:00
Dinner
Monday - Sunday: 19:00 - 21:00
Facilities
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
TV/Sports
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Disabled
Smoking Section
Functions
Weddings
Accommodation
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT