Claim this listing
OverviewMenuReviews
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall BonAmiGuestHouse
Durban, South Africa
16 Dec 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Average pizza - disappointing!”
During load shedding we had an idea to get pizzas from Marco's as they are wood fired - not the best idea as they were quite dry!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall adelinerodd

02 Dec 2019

Service
“shocking staff attitude”
I booked for Friday night 1 Dec 4 people - clients. My clients arrived and we were not there yet. The hostess at the door was extremely rude and irritable with my client. My client got me on the phone and put the hostess on the line who basically told me "no booking is in the book so too bad" . They turned my clients away. She was totally arrogant and rude.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Jennylee44
Westville, South Africa
12 Nov 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Amazing Italian”
We went for lunch after being recommended and thanks to the ladies who told us about it. We started with a very friendlycar guard outside and were greeted by very friendly staff.An extensive menu needed some time to come to a decision. I chose Prawn Panzerroti followed by tiramisu. Great choice. My main was not too big for lunch on a very hot day.As we sat down we were offered a glass of cold water which was great.They do have specials eg half price pasta on Monday's so look out for them.Really recommend this one.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall RostenH

18 Sep 2019

“Amazing experience”
Best place for authentic Italian food highly recommended and very friendly staff, amazing amazing. Will definitely be back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall HeinrichA28

05 Sep 2019

“Beware of the Italian food”
I might've picked up an extra few kg's after eating at Marco's. Great food and the manageress is so friendly. I sense that she is a great asset so appreciate what her, staff like that doesn't come by often.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall RamolaMakan
Westville, South Africa
01 Sep 2019

“An early dinner”
Decided to go to Marco's on Monday 26 for an early dinner. Did not make a booking and when we got there were told by the waitress that they are closed for a private function. Immediately the manager came thru and suggested we go to Mama Luciana also their restaurant next door.We were warmly welcomed and our food came thru pipping hot and absolutely delicious.We thoroughly enjoyed our meal which was freshly prepared. The foccacia was "melt in the mouth". Pizza delicious on a thin crispy base and a generous topping. The butternut and walnut pasta was superb.Our waiter was knowledgeable and polite.Before the end of the evening the delightful manageress came thru to find out if all was fine.We rebooked for Friday 30 for 6 guests for a dinner party. Phoned to check if we could bring in a celebration cake for the occasion and the request was granted....will keep you posted for Friday dinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Lovetravelling57
Karratha, Australia
11 Jul 2019

“Loved our meals here!”
A busy restaurant with delicious food! The pizza was good and the langoustine pasta was delicious. Very good service too!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall EnglishAnne11
Durban, South Africa
18 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Extremely Disappointing”
We chose our favourite restaurant to celebrate Valentine's evening to enjoy a meal out. We had made a reservation, due to the nature of the day, but on arrival it couldn't be found. After a few minutes of searching, it was found and we were ushered to a table. Service was barely existent and quite frankly it was not due to the inefficiency of the waitress and her one colleague waiter, but the lack of waitrons. Two waitrons were running themselves off their feet for the entire restaurant of twenty odd tables inside and a couple in the smoking area outside, all on one of the busiest evenings of the year. Shocking. Our empty main meal dishes stood on the table for a substantial amount of time before they were cleared. We requested a dessert menu. Waited. Eventually ordered Italian kisses. They took forever. Some time lapsed. We then asked to cancel our order of dessert and coffee and for the bill to be presented. Our waitress then noticed the dessert on the 'pass' at the back and brought them to our table. No cutlery appeared. We had to ask for it. She continued to serve mains to a table of four. Then brought two forks to us to eat ice cream. Time lapsed again whilst she searched for spoons. By the time the spoons arrived, the italian kisses had melted inside and were hopeless to enjoy. I requested this dish be taken off the bill. We left without coffee too as the waitress was too busy. Such shocking service from what was our favourite restaurant over the years. It spoilt the evening. We are regulars too, however, it has left a bad taste. Moral of the story, don't patronise this restaurant over any busy periods as clearly have staff issues.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall c0rfu2
Durban, South Africa
09 Dec 2018

“Dissapointing”
My husband and i visited marcos with a friend from Gabon. I had phoned and reserved a table but in arrival it had not been reserved. Not the end of the world as there was space. The greeting was friendly , the ambience is great but the food was very dissapointing not sure whats happened here but it used to be one of our favourites. I ordered a pasta which was fairly bland ,our friend chose soag bolonaise which i said was a great choice -but not. My husband had the gnocchi which he was happy with. Just sad that this used to be such a great place for italian but it needs some tlc.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall veritasaequitas-2

06 Aug 2018

“Satisfied regular patron”
Seating is both indoors and outdoors. Food is fresh, flavourful, and portions good. Be it an intimate evening or a family/friends atmosphere, this is the ideal venue. Hats off to the chef!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contact Marco's Italian - Morningside
Contact Us
Address
45 Windermere Road
(Lilian Ngoyi Road)
Morningside, Durban
Food Served
ItalianGrillsPastasPizzas
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday:
12:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Child Friendly
TV/Sports
Takeaways
Functions
Outside Seating
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT