Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Margrit W
Johannesburg, South Africa
01 Mar 2020

“Was lucky enough to have dinner”
Was lucky enough to have dinner there last week. It was busy but not too noisy, too hot for my liking, but we were seated inside, the terrace would probably be cooler.We both ordered duck liver pate and crispy roast duck. Really delicious and to be highly recommended.There were many other delicious sounding options like wild mushroom soup, a delicious sounding bruschetta with various cheeses , there was a pasta dish - mains were yellow tail, and a steak fish with an asian style sauce.There was also a really good extensive menu if you didn’t choose a “special “We had to skip dessert as portions are generous and the duck was served with crispy potato wedges and a goji berry sauce.A great meal and a good venue - lovely for a special night out - the service was excellent.I can’t wait to try it again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall vincentminnaar

13 Jan 2020

“Date Night”
Service 5*Setting 5*Food 5*Waiters are well trained, very attentive to all tables regardless of whether they are assigned to them or not and know the menu well. The food was fantastic! Mussels are probably the best we have ever had, we asked for more bread to make sure we got every last bit of sauce on the plate. The pumpkin fritter was also excellent. Canelloni and seafood pasta was spot on and generous portions . I honestly cannot fault the food at all.All in all, utterly superb restaurant and highly recommended! Next time we won’t eat so much bread so we leave space for dessert.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall NTW11
Johannesburg, South Africa
11 Jan 2020

“Catch up”
Lovely food, great venue, lovely selection of different foods. My hubby had Duck which he hadn't had in years it was yummy and crispy he was Happy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall CamillaL922

25 Oct 2019

“We felt welcomed”
We had a lovely meal at La Cucino di Ciro. Ciro was very active and present in the restaurant, greeting guests, sharing the specials and generally making one feel at home. Our party of 3 ate largely from the specials menu and no one was disappointed. The service was quick and friendly, the meals delicious and nicely portioned. Although we did not settle the bill, the menu appeared to be good value for money. We will certainly return.PS they have a take away Christmas menu which looks delicious. Maybe give it a try.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall africanaddict
Kigali, Rwanda
10 Oct 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Delightful! Great food, great service.”
After a 4.5 year absence, our return to La Cucina di Ciro was refreshing. It was a beautiful evening and our party of 6 sat outside on the covered patio. The service is provided by a team of servers who seem to work together seamlessly, and were attentive to our needs throughout the evening. Selecting the meals that you want is a bit strange. The menu provides the listing of starters (plates for sharing), salads, pastas, desserts and wine, but no mains. The owner, Ciro, visits each table (not always real quickly) to verbally share the specials of the day, including both some starters and mains. They all sounded WONDERFUL, but it was hard to remember when it came time to order. It would be far nicer if Ciro would bring a blackboard to each table listing the specials, which he could then describe, and leave the blackboard by the table until orders had been taken. I love his personal touch of talking with guests at each table, but it was just hard to remember the choices.We started our meal with seven small plates that we shared between us. All of them were excellent. I particularly liked the eggplant plate, the calamari, and the prawns. But all were very good. For mains, our table ordered the salmon, the risotto, and the duck. All were tasty and fresh. I had the salmon (could be ordered seared or medium) and it was excellent. All of our plates were completely clean after the meal. Always a good sign of great food!The wine list provides a nice variety.Only one member of our group had desert (baked lemon tarte) and she said it was very, very good. Most of us had coffees to end the evening. We were there for a leisurely, 3+ hour dinner of wonderful food and great conversation. We never felt rushed. It was indeed a lovely evening and I would be eager to return again when in that area. Food and service were outstanding.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall KiddoSA
Johannesburg, South Africa
20 Aug 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Mediterranean Magic”
Over the years (and I am talking decades) Ciro never disappoints. His food and service always puts a smile on my face. On this occasion I got to have all my favourite ingredients - from my starter to my main ...they all made an appearance on my plate. Return for you desired choice, but let the daily specials tantalise and tease your taste buds too. Do your own wine pairing as all the wine is available by the glass. I so look forward to returning, yet again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall eduardoc506
Luanda, Angola
11 Jul 2019

“Unexpected good experience”
I thought I was going to an Italian cuisine restaurant but it’s much more. A well varied menu, with specials from the chef that were an absolute wonder! Very nice wines as well. Deserts not as strong.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall grantnader
Sandton, South Africa
20 Apr 2019

“Something different”
Authentic and charming LA Cucina offers real Italian fare but not the run of the mill pasta and pizza. Owner run with a variety of dishes such as deboned duck, calves liver, and homemade pasta. We had roasted fennel starter followed by the homemade pasta ribbons with wild mushrooms. Really tasty if a little creamy. Pear and almond tart for desert was also very nice.Overall it's a romantic, charming owner run restaurant with interesting and generally good food.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall IPM61
Johannesburg, South Africa
17 Mar 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Always Awesome & Original”
Ciro has been part of the JHB restaurant scene for as long as I can remember. Menus reflect the seasons. Impeccably prepared, fresh ingredients and amazing accompanying sauces.Meat, fish, poultry and pasta, all equally goodWine list original and of a high standard, all wines on the extended list available by the glass.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall neelsde
Johannesburg, South Africa
14 Mar 2019

“great place”
was my first time very nice place in an old house had the private room for our function. Waiters was great and food great as well.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at La Cucina Di Ciro
Book a Table
Contact La Cucina Di Ciro
Contact Us
Address
43, 7th Avenue
Parktown North
2193

 

View map
Food Served
ItalianBreakfastPastasVegetarian
Average Price$$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Open for Breakfast & Lunch:
Tuesday - Sunday
Open for Dinner:
Tuesday - Saturday
Facilities
Outside Catering
Takeaways
Functions
Outside Seating
Weddings
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT