Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall alanreg
England
09 Nov 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Wonderful steak meals.”
This restaurant was recommended to us by a local resident and we were not dissapointed. The restaurant is very well set out and the steaks we had were perfectly cooked and very tasty. Very reasonably priced.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall sanderberk
Antwerp Province, Belgium
02 Nov 2018

“Dissapointment”
First off all let me state that i visited this restaurant with two friends of mine while travelling South Africa. The three of us are foodies so we know how to separate good from less good. This place was recommended to is by our accomodation. It was supposed to be specialised in seafood. It has a pretty high rating on tripadvisor with 4/5 on 300+ reviews. Unfortunately for us it didn't live up to it's reputation. We had a starter of chicken livers (we've had some earlier on out trip which we're a blast) and fried calamari to share. Both we're quite bland... The chicken livers we're dry and the calamari we're very greasy. All three of us had the feeling the calamari weren't fresh but instead have been frozen. Afterwards we had a seafood platter for 2 and a catch of the day. The catch of the day was ok, but lacked flavour. The seafood platter was a second dissapointment. The same greasy calamari from the starter, two pieces of hake which wasn't seasoned and was quite dry, and then there we're the prawns. Flavourwise the prawns we're quite okay. But the texture was definitly not that of a fresh prawn. They we're quite chewy which led to the conclusion they we're also from a frozen package, whilst the ocean is only 100m away...Last but not least the staff got angry at us for not tipping at least 10%. If the food would have been good i'd be happy to tip 20% or 30%. Unfortunately for them that wasn't the case.The only positive thing to say is that the portions we're big enough. If you're a foodie then spare yourself the dissapointment of going there, expecting to get fresh juicy fish. You won't be seeing us for a second time.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 133amy
Cape Town
14 Oct 2018

“Prawn special”
They have a prawn special on Tuesday evening's.Read about them on trip advisor...booking is essential cause it's small.the prawns were deliciousLovely ambiance,soft music...Will definitely be back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Gerrit D

03 Oct 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Had a Feast”
This is an awesome place for a chill evening with some wine and good food. Service was slower than what we are used to but it suited us as the plan was to a good social and chilled evening. We were looked after very well and the food was AMAZING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall mich71334
George, South Africa
04 Sep 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Mexican Stlye”
Every time we in Plett, we always make sure that we stop here. Very lovely and they serve very lovely dishes. Would recommend it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall gastronomie2015
Cape Town, South Africa
07 Aug 2018

“Very sub standard peri peri”
I’ve been going to this restaurant since it opened. The first thing I did on arrival at our holiday home was to have our first meal at LM. Thrice now the ‘baby chicken’(as per menu description) was a full blown adult chicken and very old. The peri peri was wet (anyone who knows this dish will know it must be flame cooked therefore crisp and dry) and definitely pre heated from a previous meal.Once might have been an aberration, twice mmmm..., thrice a no no.Worse is the owner who used to be in touch with his clientele to ensure all is good, hardly acknowledges their presence.Sadly I’m voting with my feet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMinPlett, Owner at LM in Plett, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Sir.First of all thank you very much for bringing this to my attention. (Guess what I'll be eating at LM for the next couple of days). It does however concern me that you never mentioned this to me while you were here. Especially seeing, as you said yourself, that I was present.This is quite a damaging review and one would think that you tried to sort it out in person first. Even perhaps when ordering the chicken for the second time, or a third. It's also surprising that you have been having the Chicken for 11 years. Loved it so much that you make a stop immediately on arrival to come and enjoy your favorite dish. BUT not once have you given us a GOOD review. A little unfair I would say.You are also not too clear in saying whether it was 3 chickens ordered at one sitting or did you come 3 nights in a row etc etc. This would help me to know If it was one batch that was not satisfactory or a particular chef responsible or cooking time etc. I have no idea what to look for.What I can assure you Sir is this. I have NEVER ordered anything other than 'baby chickens' and have had the exact same supplier for 11 years. So not too sure where that comment came from. Also the pride we take in preparing our meals has not altered in the least. The recipe and/or method has also not changed. I am always proud that we use the freshest and best quality foods in our restaurant and have always tried to maintain that. I would never knowingly serve an "old" chicken or anything else for that matter.WHEN or IF one slips through the cracks then that is totally unfortunate. And I have NEVER charged anybody for a meal they didn't enjoy. Especially if it was our fault they didn't enjoy it. As for the owner not checking on you? I'm sorry and don't mean this to sound rude. BUT. Perhaps you just looked unapproachable that day. Perhaps I had had a tough day. Perhaps I wasn't even there. Perhaps you should have asked. Perhaps you should have greeted me when you walked in and I looked your way. Whatever it was. It was certainly not worth damaging ones business for it. If I even knew you, or who you are, or even when you were here, I might be able to share some insight as to why I didn't approach you. Either way. I am saddened to lose any customer let alone a regular one.It would be nice if you did try one more time when you return so that you could establish if it is that the restaurant has dropped in standards as you have said. It would obviously be at no charge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Traveleator
Singapore, Singapore
01 Aug 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Super slow service”
The service at LM's was extremely slow and that was the most disappointing bit of our dinner. It took forever to get our food. We ate the chourico for appetizers and the vegetarian dish of the day with noodles + the chicken and prawn curry for mains. The portions were of good size but the taste was towards the insipid side of the spectrum despite the menu promising spices. May be the wait made our moods sour and we didn't enjoy the meal. Obviously we didn't wait for the desserts.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Pieter B

23 Jul 2018

“Sundowner”
If you are after Good Portuguese food this is the place. Well situated in the heart of all the action.Friendly staff eager to assist.Fast service, good food.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall cthc2018
Cape Town, South Africa
18 Jul 2018

“Portuguese Dining”
Still the best Portuguese, if not the only one in Plett, to enjoy fine dining. Value for money. The Espetada is delicious, as well as the baby chicken.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Leslie-ann C
Cape Town, South Africa
10 Jul 2018

“Great Portuguese Restaurant”
Very good meal had here, typical Portuguese meal, peri peri chicken and espetada, both very enjoyable.Worth a meal and very reasonably priced.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at LM in Plett
Book a Table
Contact LM in Plett
Contact Us
Address
Shop 6, Yellowood Centre
Main Street
Plettenberg Bay

 

View map
Food Served
PortugueseMediterraneanSeafoodSouth African
Average Price$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday:
12:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Take Out
Child Friendly
Outside Seating
Dancefloor
Disabled
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT