Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall peter r
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
17 Jun 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“An excellent 5 Star lunch!”
Lunch time: My friend ordered a beautiful prawn dish, and I, my favourite, grilled east coast soles. Also salads and chips. 2 glasses of sauvignon blanc.The service was excellent, the food absolutely perfect, the atmosphere lazy, warm (mid winter) and relaxing. We wondered why we had not been there for so long. We will rectify that oversight!!Just 5 Star in all respects!Peter.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 882megf

24 May 2019

“Dismal- avoid at all costs”
We returned to the restaurant after many years and what an incredibly disappointing experience. Firstly the ambience is dull and has no soul. The menu is more like limited cafe food but at ridiculous prices. The waitress, sweet as she was, was completely out of her depth. And the the food: bland and expensive. We will NEVER be back. Would have been better to go to Basilico or Barristers across the road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall AnnakatrineN
Pretoria, South Africa
17 Mar 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Lots of competition - need to up their game?”
Located in the "village" with the entrance hidden on a corner leading upstairs, it opens out to a large dining room. We were 6 people and the noise level was quite high on a Friday night. Menu was extensive but portion sizes not big by SA standards. To be honest it is difficult to write anything specific. There are so many fabulous places in Cape Town we chose this one as it was a good central location for the 3 couples but there was nothing special about it and we may try another place in Newlands next time. Not bad but damned by faint praise....
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Shane S
Durban, South Africa
25 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“modern upmarket restaurant”
spacious well designed for seating ,its good to sit and not having to worry about getting bumped by passing patrons and easy to chat to friends,lovely food excellent service prices a little on the high side good cold beers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall NMB_West_London
London
20 Feb 2019

“Expensive and worst experience during four week trip”
Maybe we were just unlucky but my wife and I, who are on a four week trip to the Western and Eastern Capes, had our worst dining experience at Wijn Huis. Having had many fine meals during the earlier part of our trip, we opted for something a little simpler and ordered hamburgers. Sadly, they were almost inedible and disintegrated into a soggy mess when we attempted to eat them. Out of fairness to the staff, who were very attentive, our complaint was dealt with professionally and we were provided with a substitute. However, compared to other restaurants in the vicinity and our hotel (the Vineyard), both wines and food were expensive. We won’t be going back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 853robb
London, United Kingdom
17 Jan 2019

“Great value well prepared food”
Located in the heart of Newlands “village” this first floor restaurant offers great steaks and salads Clean with a relaxed atmosphere and super service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Tjackso2
Prague, Czech Republic
21 Nov 2018

“Good food, not a lot of atmosphere”
Tuna steak with wasabi sauce was very good. Calamari and bruschetta starters were ordinary. Extensive wine list and decent service, but also pretty expensive.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Anthea D
Newlands, South Africa
05 Oct 2018

“Disappointed”
Was supposed to be a family treat. Maybe lower your standards before eating here...Food was less than average :(
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall DARead
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
21 Aug 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Misses the mark”
First, the good. Our waiter was friendly and attentive and cannot fault his service. The wine list is extensive, well thought out and not over the top with prices. Then the not so good. While the food is not bad, the dishes are not worth the high prices asked. The restaurant could also do without the large, loud sports bar type TVs, which dominate and ruin the atmosphere. The final nail in the coffin was, after just paying the bill and finishing up the last of a bottle of wine, another staff member came to our table and asked us to leave for the evening, an hour and a half before the stated closing time. Unfortunately can't recommend this place and will not be returning.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall EastLondonEjs
East London
18 Jun 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Mild curry a bit hot”
The atmosphere of the Wijnhuis is somewhat unusual. Quite a large high room with some divisions. I liked some of the ornate lettering that dealt with the food and the wines.It was not possible to get away from the two large screens where the world cup soccer was being shown. The sound was however fairly muted.Our waitress was competent and friendly. One of our party ordered medallions of Kudu and these were excellent. The other two members ordered lamb curry and asked for this to be mild. When it came, it was quite hot-so that it was necessary to drink water all the time. Eventually, ones palate acclimatised, particularly if the rice was eaten at the same time. I did finish all the food, bar the very spicy sauce. Our choice of a Cabernet Savignon from the wide selection was a good one. My creme brulle was good and the other members of the pall enjoyed their sweets. The food was relatively expensive, but this is a prime area of Cape Town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Kildare Wijnhuis
Book a Table
Contact Kildare Wijnhuis
Contact Us
Address
Kildare Centre, 1st Floor
Cnr Kildare Road & Main Street
Newlands

 

View map
Food Served
MediterraneanFine DiningItalianSouth African
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Facilities
Outside Catering
TV/Sports
Take Out
Smoking Section
Functions
Fireplace
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT