Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall 853robb
London, United Kingdom
17 Jan 2019

“Great value well prepared food”
Located in the heart of Newlands “village” this first floor restaurant offers great steaks and salads Clean with a relaxed atmosphere and super service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Tjackso2
Prague, Czech Republic
21 Nov 2018

“Good food, not a lot of atmosphere”
Tuna steak with wasabi sauce was very good. Calamari and bruschetta starters were ordinary. Extensive wine list and decent service, but also pretty expensive.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Anthea D
Newlands, South Africa
05 Oct 2018

“Disappointed”
Was supposed to be a family treat. Maybe lower your standards before eating here...Food was less than average :(
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall DARead
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
21 Aug 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Misses the mark”
First, the good. Our waiter was friendly and attentive and cannot fault his service. The wine list is extensive, well thought out and not over the top with prices. Then the not so good. While the food is not bad, the dishes are not worth the high prices asked. The restaurant could also do without the large, loud sports bar type TVs, which dominate and ruin the atmosphere. The final nail in the coffin was, after just paying the bill and finishing up the last of a bottle of wine, another staff member came to our table and asked us to leave for the evening, an hour and a half before the stated closing time. Unfortunately can't recommend this place and will not be returning.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall EastLondonEjs
East London
18 Jun 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Mild curry a bit hot”
The atmosphere of the Wijnhuis is somewhat unusual. Quite a large high room with some divisions. I liked some of the ornate lettering that dealt with the food and the wines.It was not possible to get away from the two large screens where the world cup soccer was being shown. The sound was however fairly muted.Our waitress was competent and friendly. One of our party ordered medallions of Kudu and these were excellent. The other two members ordered lamb curry and asked for this to be mild. When it came, it was quite hot-so that it was necessary to drink water all the time. Eventually, ones palate acclimatised, particularly if the rice was eaten at the same time. I did finish all the food, bar the very spicy sauce. Our choice of a Cabernet Savignon from the wide selection was a good one. My creme brulle was good and the other members of the pall enjoyed their sweets. The food was relatively expensive, but this is a prime area of Cape Town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall SharonB4738

09 Jun 2018

“Expensive”
Expensive is the first thought. Steaks are a cut above the rest. Deco pleasant and romantic. Wine expensive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall jaysonedwards
Cape Town, South Africa
25 Apr 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Disappointment after disappointment.”
I don’t know what has happened to this, once fantastic, reliable eatery. We visited the restaurant for a special occasion, only to be met with one disappointment after the other. We were presented with their wine list and chose a lovely wine, but when it was brought to our table it was two years younger than we the wine that we ordered. The second wine we ordered was one year younger too, but at this stage just decided to have it.While selecting the restaurant we searched online and were very excited to try a number of the stunning dishes that are displayed on their website. However, we were very upset to find that many of these dishes were not in fact on the restaurant’s menu.This was followed by the waiter taking our order only to be told that they did not have any of a particular dish that we ordered. I am aware that they might run out of a dish or be out of stock, but the waiter did not even bother to inform us prior to ordering it.When the meal arrived, one of the steaks was so overdone, it was grey all the way through, completely void of all moisture and turned into leather and the salmon we ordered was clearly frozen beforehand.When it was time to order desserts and asked what flavour sorbets they had, when we ordered this the waiter then informed us that the flavour we wanted was also out of stock. At this stage the waiter found this completely amusing. Although nearly every single stage of our experience was met with disappointed, at no point did a manager come and apologise to us for our well below par evening.We felt that the best way to deal with the situation would be to phone De Wijnhuis directly. Rather than receiving apologies for the matter we were met with excuse after excuse. This restaurant used to be one of my favourites. I previously enjoyed it so much that I phoned them the following day to compliment the chef and waiter for a wonderful experience. It saddens me how they have fallen from grace.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ht227
Woking, United Kingdom
16 Mar 2018

“Pleasant family dinner in Newlands”
This is a great option if you are staying in Newlands and don’t fancy taxi-ing back to the centre of CT for dinner. The steaks were great, my pasta was tasty and the service was good. Very quiet in there, though it was a Monday so that may explain it!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall mandymuller2015
Mykonos, Greece
06 Mar 2018

“Great food and always good wine”
I have eaten here several times during my visits to Cape Town, the food is always excellent, great value for money and good service, the menu is big enough to accommodate all tastes for good. Worth a visit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Lucy I
Montpellier, France
02 Feb 2018

“Great spot”
We thought this place was great, and don't really agree with people who seem to want to badmouth it. However, we only went once, but it was very enjoyable, and an interesting array of dishes, plus lots of excellent wines by the glass.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Kildare Wijnhuis
Book a Table
Contact Kildare Wijnhuis
Contact Us
Address
Kildare Centre, 1st Floor
Cnr Kildare Road & Main Street
Newlands

 

View map
Food Served
MediterraneanFine DiningItalianSouth African
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
TV/Sports
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Smoking Section
Functions
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT