Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
  • Media Reviews
Overall Dawn v
George, South Africa
05 Jun 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Not a great meal”
We have been here twice before when visiting the area - we are planning to move to Tokai soon. Thought this was going to be a good local for us, but our last visit was a bit of a disappointment.We ordered the pork cooked in the slow cooker - expecting it to be succulent and tasty (had it before) but it was tough and could not be chewed - mash was not great and veggies cold - I think the meat needed to cook a bit longer and perhaps should not have been offered until later int he evening. The waiter put it into a takeaway for us - but we dumped it at home as not worth saving.Sadly we came in the early evening and not when it was busy, as before so the waiters were not yet on form and kind of ignored us.Maybe will give it another try someday but perhaps the pizza would be a better choice.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall f51mustang
Cape Town Central, South Africa
03 May 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Poor service”
I normally enjoy this small restaurant, but had not been there since December last year.I booked a table last week and arrived at the appointed time. Entered the restaurant and although many people seated at tables, not a single staff member to be seen. Wait a minute, wait another ... all while standing like an idiot whilst the other patrons stare back at you.Eventually a waiter arrives and points to a table at the back whilst he goes on his way elsewhere. We sit down. There are used glasses and a plate on the table, a dirty serviette stares back at us. We wait. We wait some more. No waiter to even clear the table.Any restaurant who treats their customers like this obviously doesn't need our custom. So we leave. The waiter sees us leave and doesn't even bother to acknowledge us or ask why. They certainly won't be seeing us again in a hurry. Really terrible service, where is the management?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall andrewe232
Scarborough, South Africa
07 Mar 2019

“Good food, a bit grubby though”
Small restaurant that offers surprisingly good food, perhaps that’s not fair, but the surprisingly comes from the place feeling a bit grubby and in need of a good clean or refurb. Pasta and pizza and salads where great Espresso good service adequate. Would I go again. Yes.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall patgrahamt
Dunchurch, United Kingdom
13 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Good food, friendly atmosphere”
Been there twice this month and both times surved by an amazing waiter (don't know his name but a Zimbabwean). Friendly and amusing as well as carrying and efficient. Food was delicious on both occasions.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Zobur1
Stamford, United Kingdom
30 Nov 2018

“Fantastic Place!”
Went to the restaurant with my family while on holiday and we had a wonderful time. The food was outstanding and the waiter was so sweet. Made us feel like VIPs!! I could not recommend this place enough. Excellent.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JanineB1813
Cape Town, South Africa
19 Nov 2018

“Best square pizza in the Southern Subs”
My husband and I love Italian Kitchen for their square pizzas with the thin bases, prompt and friendly service, fairly good wine list, and comfortable, open dining area. Nothing is worse than a tiny table with waiters bumping into your elbows! Neat and friendly, with good flavours.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall BrettW1408
Cape Town Central, South Africa
01 Nov 2018

“Wood fired Good Pizza”
IF authenticate it what you want then this restaurant is where you want o eat. With an assorted menu which would cater for any tongue, the food is fresh, tasty and filling. I suggest you try the Pizza with a bite, my favourite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MBassi
Cape Town Central, South Africa
16 Aug 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
Atmosphere
“Tasty food served cold and”
Food was tasty but my pasta dish was served too cold - and we received our pasta last in a group of 14 (3 pasta orders). Also the pasta was cut into small pieces like for a child - have never experienced that, and definitely not in an Italian restaurant. And I seem to remember receiving spaghetti instead of linguine/tagliatelle as asked. By that point we were so hungry I just left it. Disappointed since the pasta dishes are quite a bit more expensive than the pizzas.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Tammybawesome
Cape Town, South Africa
14 Aug 2018

“A little slice of Italian Heaven in the Heart of the South.”
I have always loved Italian Kitchen. The Pizza with a bite is my most favourite Pizza of all time, so far (Prawn, chilli and avo), but this time I thought I would step out of my comfort zone and try and few other Italian Kitchen bites and I was so lucky I did, because it is a treasure trove of delicious meals. First we shared the Chicken Livers, which I must say, is something I never eat, because they are always so powdery and tasteless, but I braved it out and was happily content with the taste and flavours of the dish, which I would order again in a heart beat! I know, I was even shocked, hahaha. Then for mains we opted for something you wouldn't normally order at an Italian restaurant, but our wonderful waitor, Josh, said we should try one of the burgers on the menu, because they are really good and boy was he right. A delicious Lamb burger, with Camembert and caramelized onion and a Pork belly Pizza was our order for mains and both decisions were a perfect combination, because obviously I wasn't going to only sample one main , I had to try both(no, I am not a fatty, I made sure my partner ate most of it, but I had to try both, they both looked so delicious!!!), I am not a burger girl, but it was juicy, medium and the camembert added an extra depth to the burger. However, I have to say that the pork belly pizza was heavenly and a winner for any Pizza loving fan like myself. For dessert we tried the Ice cream cake and it was the perfect ending to a great night. I will definitely be heading back there and if you are ever in the area and head to Italian kitchen, make sure to ask for Josh (Waitor), he was so good to us!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall leverne2018
Cape Town, South Africa
15 Jul 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
Atmosphere
“One of our favorites”
Second time at Italian kitchen and definitely not the last. Great food, great service and comfortable and cozy atmosphere.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Italian Kitchen - Tokai
Book a Table
Contact Italian Kitchen - Tokai
Contact Us
Address
21 Tokai Road
Tokai
7966

 

View map
Food Served
ItalianLight MealsPastasPizzasSeafood
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Monday - Saturday:
12:00 - 22:00
Sunday:
17:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
TV/Sports
Fireplace
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Weddings
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT