Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall lepstein

28 Aug 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Best Poke in Town”
Hokey Poke is by far the best poke Cape Town has to offer. The staff are friendly and there is always a good vibe-not to mention the food is OUTSTANDING. Definitely a must-try for all poke lovers.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall jankedutoit
Cape Town Central, South Africa
27 May 2019

“Best poke in Cape Town”
By far the best poke that I’ve ever tried! I love the fact that they’re willing to cook the fish for you as well - try the number 3! And have the prawn lollipops to start with!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall BeccaLouise89
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
16 Mar 2019

“Great option for CBD”
We loved the food here so much we got take-out two nights in a row from Uber Eats. The fish was fresh, the flavours were excellent and it was really good value. There was a slight issue with one of our orders but this was resolved well.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JoshuaTree2013
Immaculata, Pennsylvania
11 Mar 2019

“Disinterested, low energy staff - loud music - no ambience”
I wanted to have something fresh and organic to eat for a dinner on the run.I googled healthy eating options in Cape Town and Hokey Poke came up.It’s in a rather dingy portion of Church street, with vagrants sitting outside on the wall of the restaurant.The first thing that struck me was their lack of clients. The restaurant was empty save for one man, apparently the manager, who sat in the body of the restaurant busy on his cell phone. I approached the counter and was asked by a lady server whether it was a take-out or sit-down meal. As I responded that I wanted to eat in, I was directed to take a seat.Service was lack-luster, and my good Choice was not available - out of 6 protein sources I was given a choice of two and told the beef brisket was “far from ready” as it needed to cook for 9 hours - this was an hour before most of the dinner visitors would arrive.I accepted I was a little early, but they serve the same food through-out the day.As soon as I sat down, the music was turned up to a thumping beat that was deafening.I ordered a plum wine and some mineral water - the wine was served in a whiskey glass “on the rocks” and there couldn’t have been more than 100 ml of wine in the glass.The food preparation took long. I had ordered a large bowl, but received a medium serving.Food quality was poor and the shredded chicken was overwhelmed by soy source, even before the house sauce was served! I found the meal unpleasant and once the food reached the table, the server “disappeared” and had to be called to serve me again.Instead of offering me a desert menu or the option of ordering anything else, I was resented with the bill - almost as if they wanted me to leave....A very unpleasant and unsatisfying experience - great idea, poor situation and staff lack training. Food medium to low quality. I won’t be back ....
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Jonse
Prestwood England
19 Feb 2019

“Nice concept”
An excellent fresh meal that was so good I had a take away salad to have in the evening. You need to be careful you don’t over do the vibrant sauces and end up with a soup at the bottom of your bowl. I recommend this place.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Maageda S
Cape Town Central, South Africa
07 Jan 2019

“Fresh tastes”
Great concept. Excellent service. Situated close to Saint Goerges mall, not easily accessible with your own car but great if you doing a walking tour through town. Food is fresh and great tasting. Poke bowls are amazing and rice can be substituted for the carb conscious. Informal causal setting.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Adventure44625
Ashington, United Kingdom
21 Dec 2018

“Hygiene issues”
The food is amazing Unfortunately the guy that prepares the food is wearing a blue glove that he takes your money with and then prepares the food. At no point does he wash his gloved hands while preparing your meal. Several items are picked by hand out of the bowls.I have been there twice and this happened both times.Basic hygiene that food inspectors would come down heavily on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Miasw
Linkoping, Sweden
29 Nov 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Delicious and friendly”
Super good food that was nice and fresh. The service is good, and they don’t mind making changes according to taste. The regular sized bowl might be a bit small if one is really hungry, but still fills you up. Wish they weren’t so far away...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Chandrima B

29 Oct 2018

“Delicious Poke, good wine, friendly service”
I must say the poke bowl I had (with spicy tuna, and avocado, accompanied by a lovely rose) was absolutely delicious! Thoroughly recommend.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall W898ZAstephenb
Cape Town, South Africa
25 Oct 2018

“Takeaways so slow”
Staff moving at snails pace. Don’t go if you’re in a rush. Slow even when there are hardly any other customers.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Hokey Poke
Book a Table
Contact Hokey Poke
Contact Us
Address
1 Church Street
Cape Town

 

View map
Food Served
SeafoodAsianHealth
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday: 12:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Child Friendly
Outside Catering
Take Out
Functions
Wi-Fi
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT