Claim this listing
OverviewMenuReviews
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall fuzzandSue
Woking, United Kingdom
01 Mar 2020

“Is it still open ?”
Owner told us it was closing end of February so beware if you want to visit .Good for a beer and sport on television .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Estelle7012
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
29 Feb 2020

“Excellent”
What an awesome experience. Fantastic attentive host, friendly staff and the best seafood. We had a great evening. Thanks Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall rombrian
Cape Town Central, South Africa
16 Feb 2020

“Rude owner Ghillies Grill”
Made a dinner booking for 4 people for 19h30. When we arrived we were confronted by the owner who asked what we wanted When I mentioned we had made a booking and gave him my name he said that we did not make a booking as he takes all the calls and did not have a booking in my name. When I showed him on my phone that I had called the restaurant at 18h00 to make the booking he stormed off to check with his staff. When he returned he said that we would have to wait at least 40 minutes to be served as he had had a busy afternoon. I must add that the restaurant was partially empty at the time. He then went on to say that as South African’s we like to eat straight away and then leave. He was so rude and obnoxious that a couple who were seated close to where this conversation took place told us that they could not believe what they had heard. Needless to say we walked out. On arriving back at our hotel we mentioned what happened to us and were told by one of the couples that the same had happened to them - they made a booking only to be told that no booking could be found in their name. Definitely do not need to support this restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghillies_Peroni, Owner at Ghillies Grill at Peroni Cafe, responded to this review.
We identified that you were going to be difficult by your attitude when we told you it's a longer wait for foodWe were very busy and you were been very controversial and disrespectful
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Plettenberg20

13 Feb 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Awful”
To start with the sole member of staff was delightful, helpful and doing her best to serve all of the customers on her own. The burger we ordered was tasteless and lacked any pretence to be something other than the cheapest possible. The Karoo lamb chops were devoid of any lamb, consisting entirely of fat and this inedible. It is clear that this restaurant suffers from a total lack of any management nor responsibility for the quality of its food or service. We watched as the owner berated a customer who raised similar concerns to ours and several times ordered the customer to leave on the basis that his South African raised the same issues as they had. We paid our bill and left and can assure the owners that we probably in common with many foreign customers will never return. What has happened to this restaurant, goodness only knows but clearly the owners delude themselves into thinking they have a quality establishment. Believe us they don’t.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghillies_Peroni, Owner at Ghillies Grill at Peroni Cafe, responded to this review.
The chef is not the owner and yes it is very difficult times for business during load shedding when electricity is on and off Many of the tourists really have no knowledge about the load shedding
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall dion701
Cape Town, South Africa
12 Feb 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“My visit to ghillies”
Nice and central you can sit inside and outside depending on the weather very friendly owner always willing to have a chat .food very good a bit on the expensive side though the beer prices are way way too high almost double the price to some of the other places in town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall maw1183
Glasgow, United Kingdom
09 Feb 2020

“Service was seriously slow”
Service was seriously slow food was average at best owner was very rude even had waitress crying by shouting at her in front of everyone he also referred to her as it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghillies_Peroni, Owner at Ghillies Grill at Peroni Cafe, responded to this review.
The chef is not the owner and we made a plan to take you in as we already had closed up the kitchen and we are one of the few places that have a generator
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MikeR5303
Cape Town, South Africa
18 Jan 2020

“Fabulous Ghillies”
It was so good to see Ghillies Grill still open after being away from Plettenberg Bay for so long. The owners greeted us as we arrived and made us comfortable at our table before introducing us to our waitron. We started with an eclectic mix of snails, prawns, bracheta and chicken livers and none of the dishes disappointed. Next was the sirloin surrounded by fresh tomatoes and basil pesto with a side of deliosious fries and Greek salad. The steak was cook perfectly and welll rested before being served. With our bellies full we skipped desert and rounded off the red and white wine with a don pedro. The owners and their staff were never far away and checked on us throughout the meal. Fabulous choice and we will be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall georginau2015
Stellenbosch, South Africa
29 Dec 2019

“Excellent service and food”
Ghillies is conveniently situated, the food was good and the service is excellent. Definitely worth a visit!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 0824935138
Johannesburg, South Africa
28 Dec 2019

“Friendly hospitality”
On a windy day, the meal was great, the view spectacular and the service personal and friendly. It was absolutely lovely.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Ken W
Ottawa, Canada
28 Nov 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great place with a million dollar view!”
Visited Ghillies with some friends and were immediately greeted by Craig (owner), he was a cheerful guy who welcomed us like family right off the bat.The view from the patio is stunning, with a great view out to the ocean, beach and mountains.While we were enjoying our drinks and the view, Craig found out we were on a golf trip and took us over to his golf club around the corner for some beers! What a guy!We also returned for dinner at Ghillies the next night and enjoyed really nice prawns and steak. It was a fabulous meal. The chips and Pirie-pirie sauce are a must as well.We returned the next day after golf for some more patio drinks and chips. Couldn’t get enough of that place!Thanks Craig!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contact Ghillies Grill @ Peroni Café
Contact Us
Address
Cnr Main & Marine Drive
Plettenberg Bay
6600
Food Served
GrillsLight MealsPastasSeafoodSteakhouse
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday: 09:30 till closing
Facilities
Outside Catering
TV/Sports
Functions
Dancefloor
Wi-Fi
Fireplace
Secure Parking
Disabled
Outside Seating
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2021 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT