Website
Weather
OverviewMenuReviews
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall jennyi96
Katima Mulilo, Namibia
11 Mar 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“A nice Italian restaurant with a noisy vibe”
Nice Italian restaurant with good food. Staff are good but can forget about you from time to time. From the reviews and web I was expecting more.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall GoSafariSA
Johannesburg, South Africa
08 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great food!!”
I went with friends on New Years eve and we had a great time. It was busy but the service was fine. The food was great we all enjoyed our meals and we where a mixture of meat eaters and vegetarians and all ordered something different and everyone finished their meals and really enjoyed it. It may be a little on the expensive side but we all had a great time.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall WestCoast_Peach
Doha, Qatar
30 Dec 2019

“Best Meal Had in SA”
Randomly came in on a rainy day, best decision ever. Service was friendly and attentive, which means a lot as a solo diner. The cocktails are POTENT, order wisely. I had the bourbon Breach drink, and I liked it. For the main, I had the spicy chicken dish with fried polenta. This was the best damn combination and the best damn meal I had during my entire stay. The meat was PERFECTLY seasoned and eased off the bone. The fried polenta served a subtle complement.The real winner here is the nougat cheesecake with almond flavored gelato. The cheesecake was fluffy and flavorful and the ice cream was a nice touch.The ambiance of this place coupled with reasonable pricing makes Gemelli a hit. I dined solo, but most people were there with family or on a date. Highly recommended, and I'm going to figure out a way to have that spicy chicken again before I dip!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Peglegg
Johannesburg, South Africa
03 Nov 2019

“Never fails to deliver great Italian food”
A repeat visit to this stylish, slick Italian restaurant. A warm welcome, great service and really delicious, flavorful dishes.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Gugu K
Sea Point, South Africa
23 Oct 2019

“Food good, pity they don’t value all their customers equally.”
Went on a Thursday evening, apparently a big mistake as it was rather full & noisy. Service could definitely be improved on: Our waiter (Don) abandoned us mid-meal & we had to waive to get someone else to replenish our drinks. In interim, the owner of the place spent a lot of time chatting to table next to ours but not so much as a glance in our direction to see that his other customers were ok. When our Don did return, he did not even offer an apology for abandoning us. To add insult to injury, when we wanted to get a desert takeaway he essentially told us we couldn’t get it because there was now a large table outside & a private room which were clearly more important to him. So as much as the food was good, at those prices one is used to & expects a much better experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Maya056
Johannesburg, South Africa
19 Oct 2019

“Supposed to be surprise 10th anniversary dinner”
Disgusting we booked a private romantic dinner only to be shoved in a crowd and loud music and absolutely disgusted when we asked if we could have a romantic setting told no.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ThandekileKhumalo08
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
15 Oct 2019

“My other kitchen”
I am just simply taken aback by this restaurant!The attention to the quality of ingredients and balance in the taste of the food, is a pure joy. I cannot come to Johannesburg and not pass by for the silky and perfect Tiramusi, so much so this time around, I took one for takeaway to eat on the plane back home.Well priced, no need to break the bank to enjoy good grub. This certainly ranks amongst my top food places in Joburg.Whether it’s eggs Benedict for breakfast or Elderflower tonic at noon, this gem certainly gets a staggering notice from me. It has earned its stripes as “My other kitchen.”The location seems relatively secure. If needed maximum Uber waiting time is 3 minutes, how perfect!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall KIM K
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
09 Oct 2019

“YUM!!!”
Went in winter so it was warm and cosy, delicious pasta, good vino, good spot for a friends get together
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 75adeles
Hermanus, South Africa
31 Aug 2019

“Disappointing over priced birthday celebration”
Overpriced ,extremely noisy ordinary restaurant that used to be superb when i last visited 2 years ago.So disappointing for this special birthday celebration. The noise level makes it impossible to have a conversation with anyone else other than the person next to you.The service is shocking...2 hours for the main meal to arrive ...not everyone was served at the same time..it came in relays ! The pasta was tasteless, steaks overcooked but having waited so long no one was going to send anything back.There did not seem to be any manager in charge.The waiters were ill trained ( not their fault ) didn't know the menu.The surprise special birthday cake was messed up by the waiters who brought cake plates & forks 20 mins before the surprise! I explained about the special surprise when i arrived but this wasn't taken care of !Service, food is 3rd rate so you cant charge fine dining prices ! No tablecloths or mats. ..reminds me of large chain restaurants!Tables are far too close ..increasing the noise level
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Thembelihle M

24 Aug 2019

“I love this Place”
So I won't even talk about the waiting time, it's always best to make a booking if you don't want to wait. However I didn't wait long at all, 15min max.The Drinks:I ordered a virgin cocktail with specifications on how it should taste and believe me I got exayly that. The Barteam- Welldone.The Food:OMG okay so let's start with Samantha, thank you so much to this lady, aas my weitress she knew exactly what she was on about. I had my favorite of course, PASTA. Seafood Linguine with some Extra chili and creamy spicy source instead of arrabiata sauce. I'm glad they got that right, however they were abit afraid on the chili side. I still Loved it. Alot.My Favorite Part, DESSERT. OMG it's simply amazing, I didn't know what to have so I told Samantha to surprise me, Listen she didn't waste my time or cravings hey, she served me this amazing Cheese Cake( forgot the name) however it was what my inner soul was craving, the different textures in your mouth, mesmerizing.Ill definitely come back, and I wish I get Samantha again.. Or another Samantha, you'll never know the staff is all well groomed, so I don't expect any disappointments at all. Love it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Gemelli Cucina Restaurant & Bar
Book a Table
Contact Gemelli Cucina Restaurant & Bar
Contact Us
Address
Posthouse Link Centre, Shop 13
Cnr Main Rd & Posthouse Str
Bryanston, Sandton
2191

 

View map
Food Served
ItalianContemporaryPastasVegetarian
Average Price$$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Sunday - Tuesday: 12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday - Saturday: 12:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Functions
Wi-Fi
Secure Parking
Disabled
Outside Seating
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT