Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall NicciRobertson
Johannesburg, South Africa
17 May 2018

“Unexceptional”
Based on previous reviews I expected an amazing experience. But in all honesty I’ve had better Asian at Kai Tai and Simply Asia. Saigon is still streets ahead. Fusionista was at best, average and I wouldn’t be in a hurry to return.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
We regret that you only found Fusionista to be average, which is of great concern to us. We have had no customer complaints for sometime and you do not say which dishes you ordered.Our number one priority at Fusionista is to be a top rated Asian restaurant serving food of the highest quality,appreciated by totally satisfied customers; which we have achieved with the overwhelming majority of our patrons.Kindly therefore let us know what dishes you ordered and your comments on these dishes so that we can take whatever steps may be necessary to improve these dishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Chad D

07 Apr 2018

“Great couples dinner at an awesome restaurant”
The wife and I had dinner there on 06 April 18. What a great treat. Great staff that attend to your every need from the guy look g after the car, to the waiter, to the chef and I'm the way to the owner. All true friendly and more than happy to make the evening a great outing. The venue is stunning and cosy which is just right for couples and a good family dinner. As for the food, well if the aforementioned wasn't a good enough reason to visit then the food is. We have been there a few times and Lways had great authentic This, Japanese and other eastern meals. A definite must do.Will be back soon.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you very much Chad for your positive review. Always great to receive appreciation from someone who is able to appreciate authentic Asian food. We look forward to treating you to another fantastic Fusionista experience in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Lars N

24 Mar 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Pad Thai?”
The most tasteless Pad Thai I have ever eaten. The restaurant is located in a really dark area. I was negatively surprised since the Tripadvisor rating was good.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
We regret that you did not enjoy your Pad Thai, which you have commented on in your one and only review of a restaurant on Tripadvisor. We also note that you had a takeaway Phad Thai. We have only had one other complaint about a Phad Thai and that was also from a takeaway and we commented in our response to that review that the flavouring often sinks to the bottom in the takeaway containers, resulting in the Pad Thai losing flavour. All our customers who have eaten at the restaurant have commented very favourably on our Pad Thai. As a result of your negative review as well as the previous one relating to a takeaway Phad Thai we have decided that with immediate effect Fusionista restaurant will no longer be doing any takeaways. Regarding the restaurant being located in a really dark area this is simply not true. There is adequate functioning street-lighting and in addition we have approximately 15 outside lights of our own to light up the perimeter as well as the parking area, which lights include up-lighters, down-lighters and a large metal halide light. In addition to this we have 4 large lit up signs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall angeliqueerasmus84
Johannesburg, South Africa
11 Mar 2018

“Another AMAZING lunch at Fusionista”
I can honestly say that I have not visited Fusionista once where I have not been treated like royalty, and I am stunned that the food is exceptional EVERY time doesn’t matter what I order. I don’t mind driving 40min because there is no other place that can even compare. My favorite waiter is Tantendu. This place truly is one of a kind.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Hi Angelique. The fact that you are prepared to travel many times for 40 minutes to visit us, passing many restaurants on the way, says it all. Thanks a million for your great review and we very much look forward to your next visit :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall lieslmcilwraith
Johannesburg, South Africa
06 Mar 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Anniversary Dinner”
Excellent food and excellent service! We didn't know the restaurant, just googled Thai and happened upon it. We love Wangthai and 2 Thai 4 and were tossing up between those when we found Fusionista. WHAT a menu!!! We loved the fact that there was so much on offer so we decided to give it a go. Emailed a reservation, received an answer within the hour and they were friendly and really seemed enthusiastic to receive us for our special day.We booked for a Monday night which is quiet as they have only just started opening on Mondays, however the atmosphere was still great and we had the best table in the house! Couldn't fault it and to top it off they were kind enough to give us an anniversary gift :-)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you so much Liesl. So glad you decided to spend your special evening as our guest and that you had a great time! We hope you pay us another visit soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Kalahari C

22 Jan 2018

“Take out- disappointing”
Besides the carry bag, we found the food to be pretty disappointing, as visitors to the area wanting a quick Sushi/Thai fix, we went onto trip advisor for a suggestion. As the highest rated location we opted to give it a try. Admittedly takeaway sushi and Thai is never as good as eating it at the restaurant and so hard to judge restaurant experience. But basing our rating on quality of food alone I would not be giving it the 4/5 star rating that seems to be the norm. Our Chicken Pad Thai was rather tasteless and needed a lot of salt to actually give it some flavor. Which anyone who know a knows I never ever do. The various rolled sushi we had was lacking ingredients, very very small rolls and undercooked rice. I don’t think we will try it again. Adios.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
As you correctly state "takeaway sushi and Thai is never as good as eating it at (the) restaurant and so it is hard to judge the restaurant experience." It is well-known that both Thai and sushi food do not travel well and as such we do not believe it is fair to give us a rating based on takeaway food. We do not do deliveries or have any contracts with delivery companies. The problem is that when the food is placed in a container it "sweats" and also a lot of the flavour sinks to the bottom, and thus the food can rapidly lose favour. If you eat at the restaurant we also offer a whole variety of sauces to add to the food so that one can make it suit ones individual requirements perfectly. Naturally one does not experience this if one has takeaway food. Apropos the sushi we have never had, since we opened over two years ago, a complaint about the sushi from someone who has eaten at the restaurant. Again it probably has more to do with the fact that it was takeaway sushi than the actual quality of the sushi. Our sushi rolls and the quantity of the ingredients are standard; they are not smaller and they do not have less ingredients than comparable sushi sold at other sushi restaurants. It is also important to point out that when one has sushi at Fusionista the sushi comes with not only the normal soy sauce but also with Teriyaki Sauce, and 2 other Fusionista Speciality Sauces. It is extras like this that make Fusionista special and different and if you haven't experienced them you can't really say that you've eaten at Fusionista. The complaint about undercooked rice also has more to do with the fact that it was a takeaway. When the rice is takeaway it rapidly dries out, especially in the heatwave that we have been experiencing lately, and might give the incorrect impression of being undercooked. Our rice is top-quality and many customers have commented on this. You mention the other ratings with "4/5 star rating" being the norm which you do not agree with but these ratings were all from customers who ate at the restaurant, unlike yourself. In conclusion we state that by having takeaway's you've missed the entire Fusionista experience and in our opinion it is very harsh to rate us on this basis.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Leon N
Johannesburg, South Africa
12 Jan 2018

“Awesome GEM”
Found a gem on our front doorstep that was unknown for 2 years. Had an awesome evening with wife, good food, service and ambience. We'll done David Smith and Co.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
And We'll Be Waiting For You, with more tempting dishes to treat your taste buds to :-). So glad you discovered us. Pity it took so long but now you know that you have mouth-watering Asian cuisine around the corner from you we hope to see a lot more of you. Thanks so much for the support and so glad to have met you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Gillian S

12 Jan 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Very impressed”
Last Saturday in the sweltering heat, we popped in for a quick bit to eat and to cool down. I felt like sushi, and found this place on google, so decided to give them a try. We were very impressed. Menu is extensive. Decor is elegant. Service was great. We will be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you so much Gillian. Looking forward to hosting you again when you feel like some more delicious sushi or other Asian food
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Grant F

05 Jan 2018

“Shocking experience”
What a disappointing evening at Fusionista, firstly no duck and no dim sum Asian food mainstays? We got past this and ordered our meals the only decent thing was the sashimi salad and our waitress Tiffany’ service. The Vietnamese leaf parcel was tough and tasteless, the Thai fish cakes were “ rubberized” I could go 4X4 with them. The Phad Thai chicken was tough and tasted as though it came out of an old takeaway box the Cambodian beef curry tasted purely of raw turmeric and coconut milk - disgusting. No love in the preparation of this food. The manager apologized which is ok however we went to Fusionista to celebrate my girlfriends birthday how do we get that back? You spoilt our celebration. This restaurants value guarantee is non existent and the manager seems totally out of touch with customer service. Fusionista wins the prize for serving the worst Asian meal I have ever been served any where in the world and I have travelled a lot. I score this restaurant 0 out of 5. — at Fusionista Restaurant,Super Spa, Beauty Salon & Corporate Venue/ Functions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
We regret that you did not enjoy your meal. Our aim at Fusionista is to create a unique and special dining experience serving the finest Asian food. We are therefore all deeply upset after reading your harshly critical review. However your review does require a detailed response in order to set the record straight. Firstly we need to point out that you are the first person, in more than two years since we first opened, to have eaten at Fusionista restaurant and given us a negative review on Tripadvisor; and the same applies to Facebook and Jozi restaurants where you also posted exactly the same review. Readers of this response are invited to confirm this on Tripadvisor , Facebook and Jozi restaurants. On Tripadvisor and Facebook approximately 80% have rated us 5 stars and the majority of the balance have rated us 4 stars. On Jozi restaurants all our reviews have been positive, except for yours.Secondly during the course of your visit to Fusionista restaurant you aggressively accosted the manager and stated, word for word, "I will shut this place down". This is a malicious and selfish comment and we believe readers of your review should read your review in the light of this and your stated ulterior motive of wanting to shut us down. What gives you the right to attempt to shut us down just because you did not enjoy your meal. Must all the other people who eat at Fusionista and love our food suffer because you allegedly don't enjoy our food.Thirdly the manager clearly explained to you that the reason we did not have duck and dim sum was not due to our fault. We had been given a firm assurance from our suppliers that the duck and the dim sum paper would be delivered during the course of the day but unfortunately they failed to deliver, probably due to staff shortages at the beginning of the year. You ate at our restaurant during the first week of January (on our first trading day of the year) when as everyone knows the majority of people are still on leave. In over two years this is the first time that we did not have dim sum or duck available and this was for only one day. You responded angrily to the manager's explanation and stated that if we were not in a position to serve duck and dim sum we should not have opened on that day. However there was no reason for us to suspect that our suppliers would let us down. It would be absurd for us to shut down on this basis since we receive deliveries from suppliers on a daily basis and we cannot close the restaurant and cancel bookings just because one supplier might not deliver.Fourthly regarding the actual food I will start with the 3 starters and point out that your table finished these 3 starters despite your sarcastic criticism of 2 of the starters. We have never previously had any criticisms in respect of any of these 3 starters. Apropos the mains you ordered the Pad Thai Chicken and the Cambodian Beef Curry. At least half of The Pad Thai Chicken was eaten so it couldn't have been that bad. We serve authentic Pad Thai and in this regard I refer to just one reviewer who stated the following on Facebook, " Had the best padthai in South Africa here. Been in Thailand twice and this dish is the real thing...will definetly be back when i am in jozi again"- Rolenda Carolissen‎. The Cambodian Beef Curry was the only dish that was sent back after one or two bites. This is a very different dish and we are the only ones in Johannesburg to serve it but we accept that people have different tastes and it is not for everyone, especially if one doesn't like turmeric. Having said this your view stands in isolation because firstly it is the one and only complaint we have had about this dish. I quote the following from another reviewer - "The Cambodian beef curry is lingering on my tongue. What a taste experience!" Arno Christopher Britz Meyer. Of the dishes that you criticise we have had such overwhelmingly positive responses from our customers that we have put 3 of them on the Customer's Favourites section of our menu, these being the Vietnamese Leaf Wraps, the Pad Thai and the Cambodian Beef Curry; and you enjoyed the Sashimi Salad.Fifthly you state that, "the manager seems totally out of touch with customer service." This is a reference to the fact that the manager wanted to charge you for the starters which you had eaten. He was prepared to take the Cambodian Beef Curry off the bill, as this was barely touched, and to give you the benefit of the doubt on the Chicken Pad Thai even though at least half of this was eaten. How does this make him out of touch with customer service. The general rule in restaurants is that if you eat it you pay for it, why should you be the only exception to this rule. When you received the bill and saw that we had charged for the starters this so enraged you that you got up from your table and strode angrily to the manager at the entrance, and it was at that point that you stated in a loud and aggressive voice that you would shut us down.Sixthly you allege that your girlfriend's birthday celebrations were spoilt. Yet the spa manager states that your girlfriend was so happy with the massage that she had prior to the meal that she gave the spa manager a hug. So your girlfriend had a great massage, you ate all the starters plus half the pad Thai and you had good service from Tiffany the waitress, which most people wouldn't consider too bad.In conclusion we suggest people reading the above review come try the food at Fusionista and decide for themselves on the quality of our food.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Leonilda K
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
24 Nov 2017

“An phenomenal Asian gem awaiting discovery!”
From the moment attentative staff came running with a huge umbrella to help us inside as we drove in- in the pouring rain, to the beautiful tranquil setting as we entered the restaurant , it became on unforgettable experience! Exquisite, delicate, delicious cuisine. A favourite in a well executed menu, are the dishes on the customers favourites pages. What a selection throughout the menu ! Beautiful decor! Closely seated yet incredibly private! Great selection of soft and unobtrusive music so you can have a conversation at dinner !. From the Fruit Blossom punch cocktail to the delicate Vietnamese leaf wrapped starters it was like being transported to another world. Completely absorbed and in the moment of the East!. Excellent excellent service. !!!. Excellent value for money. A wonderful evening on every level!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Hi Leonilda - Thank you from all of us at Fusionista for your awesome review. Beside your amazing description of our cuisine, cocktails and ambiance, its always great when someone takes the time to appreciate and comment on the little extras we provide to make the customer experience at Fusionista special and memorable. Looking forward to once again transporting you to another world for another very special experience at our restaurant :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Fusionista
Book a Table
Contact Fusionista
Contact Us
Address
14 Rabie Street
Randburg

 

View map
Food Served
AsianFusionSushiThai
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Saturday: 11:00 - 22:30
Sunday: 11:00 - 17:00
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
TV/Sports
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Disabled
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Load Shedding
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT