Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall GwynFMH
Durban, South Africa
19 Jun 2018

“Fine Dining”
Wow - creative food options and I believe that they have a Chefs Student School and they get a chance to try their dishes on guests.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall dacabs
Winston Park, South Africa
28 Sep 2017

“What a find!! Wonderful food”
So enjoyed the wine and food pairing evening. Delicious food - 6 courses and a desert served with wonderful wine. So interesting to learn more about wine estates and also the chefs. Service was excellent too. Will definitely return. Highly recommended
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall TnTdurbs
Durban, South Africa
02 Mar 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Dissapointing!”
Trainee chef Kyle was on duty at lunchtime, a very pleasant young man but he should have been supervised. Asked if there was fresh line fish he disappeared for a few minutes & returned with the answer only one portion but he failed to find out what fish it was. Two of us ordered duck which was too small a portion & way too dry & the 3rd member of our party had the dishwasher steak which was overcooked. At 13.30 the manager, clearly dressed for the beach & a tad rude, indicated we needed to order deserts as the kitchen was closing. Needless to say we didn't bother & moved to another venue to finish our wine. No wonder there wasn't another patron in the restaurant!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun S, Owner at Fusion, responded to this review.
I am truly sorry that your dining experience was not up to standard. I have dealt with the parties concerned, and apologise for us seriously dropping the ball. Unfortunately Kyle is indeed a trainee, and I have not showed him this review for his own sake as he would be really gutted and it would profit him little to stress about his role in this - other than to say, as a chef trainee he should have been aware of the fish of the day. Correctly said, I believe the rest was a failure of supervision. I believe you were given a bottle of wine in compensation for the comedy of errors on our part, and I hope in part that gesture was accepted in good faith for our blunder. We certainly hope to see your return under more favourable circumstances. Once again, apologies for dropping the ball. kind regards, Chef Shaun.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Jessie_swan
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
08 Apr 2016

Food
Service
Value for Money
“meh”
Its a little pricey for the quality of food. The chef was also drunk as a skunk when he came out to ask about the food. Not a problem to me, as i was packing away the drinks too, but its maybe not very professional - for this reason, i will not rate this as a family friendly restaurantI liked the dry ice ice cream, that was cool. TBH though, unless the prices were lowered, I would not visit again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun S, Owner at Fusion, responded to this review.
Hi JessieThank you for your review... However I am a bit concerned about this drunk chef that you mention that 'he came out', as all my chefs are female.... only my front of house manager is male.I would really appreciate you making contact with me via email on shaunsmith@fusioncooking.co.za. many thanks. shaun
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall SAtraveller80
Durban, South Africa
24 Nov 2015

“Something a bit different”
My husband wanted to go somewhere a bit different for his birthday last night, and Fusion is really the only place in Durban that can't be categorized into any "standard" cuisine. The food is interesting and just a bit more exciting than the usual popular places. We started with some tapas, delicious although I thought they were a little too salty. Our mains were great (duck and the Mexican dishwasher steak), but brought to our table at different times. Same problem with dessert, mine only came well after my husband had finished his. We found that rather annoying, especially as the restaurant was quite empty. I think the chef that evening was from the chef school, so maybe something to improve on there..? Would definitely go back for the great food and otherwise great service though.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Shivani S
Durban, South Africa
26 Oct 2015

“Undiscovered Gem”
I cannot understand why this place is not busier! Situated almost next to Durbans famous Cafe 99, I have had the occasion to eat there as well and decided to visit this restaurant for a special anniversary celebration.What a discovery- we had the restaurant literally to ourselves almost walking out as we thought it was tooquiet to be good. Thank Goodness we stayed. One of the most delicious vegetarian dishes I have had in this place - the pasta (can't remeber the exact name) in creamy delicious sauce. My husband had an even more incredible experience with his meal. Being a special occasion, the waiters went out of their way to present a visual delight of desserts with etheral ice smoke coming from the dessert and blue drinks non alcoholic. I could not understand why this Chef's training restaurant, is so underarrated and not well marketed..its is an amazing discovery, beautifully presented with scented hand towels. Compared to Cafe 99 - this experience was far more superlative from a taste and experience point of view. It deserves alot more exposure!! But perhaps this is the charm of the space,,and that only the ones who discovered it can go back for more and more. This is the place we take businees colleagues to and special family occasions undoubtedly.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall roselee85
Durban, South Africa
14 Oct 2015

“Most unique restaurant”
One-of-a-kind restaurant, wish there were more of them in Durban! Unusual dishes (dishwasher fillet / colour-changing soup / ice cream frozen at your table with liquid nitrogen), diverse flavour combinations, and all extremely delicious. An excellent restaurant and well worth a visit!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall villavalencia
Durban
10 Oct 2015

“No as good as people say”
Unfortunately was a disappointment .The dish washer fillet , although I insist on a well done , I was medium to rare , I ate it but very unpleasant I don't like raw meat.The nitrogen style ice cream was too hard I rather have a normal ice-cream it is nicer Over all very expensive !!!! No value for money sorry!! Ahhh it was totally empty , we were the only table.Good luck to these young people running the place , but I don't see much of future !
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun S, Owner at Fusion, responded to this review.
Sorry to hear Fusion was not to your liking - we usually receive many rave reviews as we are well known for our friendly service, good wines and excellent food.With regards to the steak - although we would not recommend a WELL DONE steak, it's a pity you didn't ask the waiter to send it back to be cooked further. We would have certainly obliged as it is always possible to cook a steak further. I will find out more info from the team about the 'hard' icecream - sounds like perhaps too much nitro was added. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.Whilst Fusion isn't the cheapest restaurant around, I really wouldn't say we are "very expensive" though - especially given that everything is made in-house by chefs and not bought-in or produced by unskilled cooks. As to our future - we have been around for almost 7 years now and continue to grow from strength to strength. I am very proud of my team and I think a snap shot on a quiet evening is probably not a good indicator of success. I challenge you to keep an eye on us - as I am hoping we prove you wrong, and one-day you return to enjoy the good food and ambiance we are known for :)regardsChef Shaun
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall micim
Durban, South Africa
30 Sep 2015

“Find this Place!”
Wonderfull place to eat! An Enthuiastic selection of wines on hand and you are made to feel welcome !
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall BryanDaddy
Durban, South Africa
14 Sep 2015

“Crazy Foodie Good”
SO I tried the dishwasher steak! Yes you read that correctly. They slow cook a steak sealed in a bag, inside a dishwashing machine. It was amazing.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Fusion Restaurant - Durban
Book a Table
Contact Fusion Restaurant - Durban
Contact Us
Address
Shop 4, Silvervause Centre
Cnr Silverton & Vause Roads
Berea

 

View map
Food Served
FusionContemporaryGlobal/InternationalVegetarian
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Dinner: Monday - Saturday
18:00 - 21:30
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday
10:30 - 16:30
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Disabled
Functions
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT