Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Kobus v

10 Sep 2020

“Cozy nigh out”
What a lovely place with very tasteful food. A really cozy restaurant with good attention to detail. The waitress makes us feel special. Thank you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Simone-Nicole S
Cape Town Central, South Africa
08 Sep 2020

“Lovely Italian restaurant”
We found this restaurant by surprise . It was absolutely lovely . The staff were so friendly , we didn’t have a booking but they make space for us . The food and the wine is delicious. Well priced too.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Linroos1

31 Aug 2020

“Authentic Italian!!”
The venue was warm, cozy and decorated with the most interesting Italian paraphenalia with pictures of Fabio's home town and family in the mix for added authenticity. Good wine list. The fungi risotto and alfredo were delicious. Amazing hospitality from Wietske, our server.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Jeffthecgef

14 Mar 2020

“WOW! This place is a GEM”
WOW! This place is a GEM-1. Waiters are all well informed, always friendly and they go all the way for the customer.2. The portions are Reasonable for italian stantards but absolutely worth every cent and every bite! This place should be a proper example for the rest when it comes to the TITLE of authenticity! 3- The music , the atmosphere, the ambiance. It feels like we never left ITALY!A round of applause for the Owner and his team! You guys are way underrated and deserve so much more attention! Keep with your winning formula.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 583machelles
Swellendam, South Africa
13 Mar 2020

“relaxing Italian evening”
fantastic food..and service with a smile. background music fabulous and overall a lovely ambiencechuffed to have got there.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Kobusvanwyk
Cape Town, South Africa
07 Mar 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“A good dining experience”
It is always a pleasure to visit Fabio’s in Hermanus. Lovely food, lovely staff, a great atmosphere and nice music. And a big plus point is that there are a few vegan and gluten free options. Definitely one of the best eating places in Hermanus.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Ragamuffin777
Hermanus, South Africa
06 Mar 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Birthday lunch”
Visited on a quiet mid-week day. The restaurant is unpretentious. Service was excellent (but then there weren't many patrons so unable to say if this is the norm). Comprehensive menu; very good Italian fare with generous servings (doggy bags necessary in some cases).
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall jocklinda22

02 Mar 2020

“A touch of Italy.”
Enjoyed a beautiful penne bolognese where the meat itself tasted delicious and it was so plentiful we struggled to finish. Very friendly staff who made every effort to please. We will be back!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 796gretchenc
Wilderness
01 Mar 2020

“DISGUSTING TREATMENT AND LIES”
On Friday evening, the 28th of February 2020, after checking into our hotel we looked on the website to check Fabio's closing time. It clearly states 10pm. So my husband, friend and I went to Fabio's at 10 minutes past 9pm. The young girl at the door refused to let us in and said that they were closing (there were lots of people in the restaurant having meals). When I told her that the Website clearly states that they close at 10pm, she got really rude and said that is "only in season". February is definitely still in season and there us nothing stating that on their Website. Her body language, tone of voice and attitude were extremely obnoxious. Our friend from Scotland was shocked. We will definitely be spreading the word far and wide to other people and telling them to avoid Fabio's. We then went to another restaurant and enjoyed delicious meals with warm friendly service. So please beware of this awful restaurant in a pokey side street in Hermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vafanculoTA, Owner at Fabio's Authentic Ristorante Italiano, responded to this review.
Ciao Gretchen , apologies, we were so full that nite and could not accommodate you , we did explain and advise accordingly , we are really sorry , pls make a reservation and we will certainly assist when you next in Hermanus ( PNG ) , just for interest , we are a private restaurant and do from time to time decide when we deem necessary to close the kitchen in order to accommodate our customers that are in the restaurant , I' m under no obligation to my times !!! & it would have been nice not to shout at us about our advertised times, we are humans and look after all our customers respectfully and would have appreciated if you contacted me directly about this incidence , since you chose to go public to International platforms , we wish you well ADDIO Fabio ( the one that decides what time to open or close )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Marilyn B
Watford, United Kingdom
11 Feb 2020

“Will Not Return”
This was our 2nd visit to Fabio 's. I ordered a calzone pizza, essentially a pizza folded over. It arrived with scorched dough and blackened heat blisters. When tapped with knife it made a hard sound. However I did attempt to eat it, but gave up after two tries as the dough had a bitter burnt taste. I told the waitress who was most sympathetic and offered me an alternative which I declined as I had lost my appetite. My husband's meal was ok and when the bill came we did not quibble and paid for my inedible pizza. A man, who I assumed was the Manager / Owner came over to the table and proceeded to lecture me about cooking pizzas and insisted my pizza was not burnt but cooked perfectly. I felt intimidated by him and hurridly left the restaurant. But I would like to say, that if a paying customer reports in a polite and discrete manner that the pizza looked burnt, smelt burnt and tasted burnt - then it is BURNT! We will not return to Fabio's the next time we holiday in Hermanus.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vafanculoTA, Owner at Fabio's Authentic Ristorante Italiano, responded to this review.
Ciao Marilyn , thx for feedback, not sure what this review is all about as we have pictures of the Calzone that was served to you & as my son / owner clearly indicated that there was in fact nothing wrong with the Calzone, are you not sure perhaps those 12 drinks before your arrival did not make you see the Calzone differently , the whole purpose of the Calzone is to crisp up as the Pizza dough bloats into a type half ball, natural occurrence , if we do not make a mistake in our product & you change your appetite during the evening , then the product will be charged for , will post the pictures and u r most welcome to request for the pictures and I will gladly send them to you , we did kindly & sympathetically offer you an alternative , which you declined , therefore the transaction is completed , would have been better to communicate to me directly rather than choosing a international media house that is operated outside of SA , we seriously regret you did come the second time however we apologize we could not meet your expectations , if you do eventually come to your senses and remove this negative review , I will gladly arrange to have a glass of wine with you when u next in Hermanus ,NB , our Calzones are freshly prepared , hand made "Alla Minute " addio Fabio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Fabio's Ristorante
Book a Table
Contact Fabio's Ristorante
Contact Us
Address
60 St Peters Lane
Hermanus
7200

 

View map
Food Served
ItalianGrillsSeafoodVegetarian
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday: 11:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Child Friendly
Outside Catering
Takeaways
Functions
Wi-Fi
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT