Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall 75AndyB75
Nanteuil En Vallee, France
10 Oct 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great Character, stright out of the 70's”
A really good, Italian restaurant with that authentic 70's vibe. It gave the impression that neither the décor or the menu had changed for a long time. It was just what we were looking for, not the typical chain restaurant where the same old dishes are churned out wherever you are. From the photos on the wall to the recipes used, everything was a truly family business that was authentically Italian.Great food at a great price. Three courses for two with wine 680ZAR (less than £40)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall garry4366
Leeds, United Kingdom
07 Oct 2018

“Great Italian”
In a world of mediocre so called Italian restaurants it’s a real pleasure to dine here. A simple but perfect focaccia followed by an exquisite cannelloni made for a great start to our stay in Hermanus. Very friendly and helpful service.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall docsteffen2017
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
01 Oct 2018

“Nice Italian Food and Atmosphere”
This nice restaurant based in a side street of Hermanus offers authentic Italian food, wonderful pasta and spices. The service is great especially the young guy who had worked in Germany. Nice wines and grappa. Prices are mid range. Good place to go if you had enough steaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall jpotgieter2
Cape Town, South Africa
01 Oct 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Driving all the way from Durbanville to Hermanus, SPECIALLY to eat at Fabio's”
Fabio, I reviewed your restaurant on the 12th of June whilst visiting for the first time. As I've said before, my newly wed wife and I were so thoroughly impressed that we decided this time around to come through again, all the way from Durbanville, SPECIALLY to eat at your restaurant WITH 2 of our friends who we told all about you. We'll be there on Saturday the 6th of October - looking forward to your signature pasta dish again! J Potgieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall mvtouring
Cape Town
22 Sep 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Fabulous Fabio's”
I discovered this little gem about a year ago, and decided to treat my friends to dinner. Our little waitress was so friendly and could not do enough to make us feel welcome without being in our faces. We all had the seafood pasta which was absolutely fabulous, tasty and cooked to perfection. Will be back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall TracyM0724
Johannesburg, South Africa
15 Sep 2018

“Good food but bad attitude”
Spent the weekend in Hermanus and tried Fabios. Ordered focaccia which wasn't very pleasant and 2 pasta dishes which were very good. However, the parmesan cheese for the pasta, is brought in the smallest sized dish (the same size they bring garlic and chillies in). We asked for some more cheese and when we got the bill, we were charged an extra R10. The price of the pasta is not cheap and they have a cheek to charge for extra cheese, without warning you. Pathetic and stingy. Have NEVER experienced this anywhere else. According to the waitress, we need to take this up with the owner as everything has got expensive. Really?????
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio's Ristora... H, Owner at Fabio's Authentic Ristorante Italiano, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Ciao TracyM0724 , hope you are well & glad you ate well at my establishment , thank you for your feedback and appreciate your opinion. The Parmigiano cheese we use has definitely become seriously more expensive over the last few years and it is clearly stated in my menu on my "'Courtesy Page" that the first serving of condiments is complimentary with the dish , any more is charged accordingly !! & we are not the only ones, pls check the qty the Italian Club serves & other restaurants with the pasta & you will realize we are not alone. Never the less , we serve a great quality Parmigiano and it does come with a price, apologies the Foccacia was not your satisfaction , will gladly offer you another one on your next visit , its sad that you did not approach me directly instead of going onto a international site. Kind regards e saluti cordiali Fabio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Nicky H
Derby, United Kingdom
14 Sep 2018

“The best lasagna EVER”
The title says it all!The staff are friendly, the menu authentically Italian and the food is simply delicious. Extremely good value for money and very tasty pasta. I just wish they would share ‘mamas recipe’ for the lasagna as I’d love to cook this at home.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall claudroc
Johannesburg
14 Sep 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“BAD SERVICE AND FOOD”
Went for lunch on the 13th of September with guests. First the waiter wanted to force us to sit in a dark corner, although the restaurant was empty. When we chose a different table he made a long face and was upset. He said we could order half a pizza of one kind and half of another, but the owner came to tell us that he was wrong. A waiter should know the house rules.The pizza dough was not cooked at the bottom, and one of the toppings was burnt. I had snails with mozzarella topping; the cheese was burnt and the snails were probably old because I've been sick since eating them.The service was unpleasant and the prices are expensive.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio's Ristora... H, Owner at Fabio's Authentic Ristorante Italiano, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Ciao Claudia, spero tutto bene. I was there when you arrived just after 13h00 and we seated you at the most popular table that was open , we have another five tables at the time and according to my recorded visual you chose to sit somewhere else, we have no problem with that , if the table is open & not specifically booked, u r most welcome to sit anywhere ( spoke to my table attendant ! He really has no problem where u want o sit , he is happy if you are happy ) , however your attitude was un desirable , perhaps you were angry with your guests , especially when you told my manager to talk to them about the pizza and not you , the response was very fierce and indicative to serious animosity amongst you three !!! The pizza chosen was a " Fabio's Special " which is like a" Quatro Staggioni " just with our selected toppings, therefore the fact of splitting such a pizza does not make sense , so not sure as to what you understood with the explanation !! I have a snap photo of the pizza and it looks perfect , my cameras show the clients eating the pizza and seem to be very content , if there was a problem , they would have raised the concern with the table attendant or my manager however did not. The product you consumed is very popular & we sell many , in fact to our surprise we sold quite a number that day & a staff member also ate it as a choice of their staff meal, no other issues have been raised, remember the cheese is crisped on top as a norm & and not burnt. I discussed the whole issue with the table attendant & he mentioned that no concerns or issues were raised and that the couple you were with left very happy , not too sure if you have a issue however we did what we had to do , your opinion of pricing is your opinion , my reviews says different and wish you a pleasant year further, hope you feel better with all aspects taken into consideration , regards Fabio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall DayTrip814363

11 Sep 2018

“Best Italian restuarant in the Cape”
We loved this place, amazing big portions, with a true Italian flare. Thank you to Claire our fantastic waitress! Will definitly be back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall yvonne1506
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
10 Sep 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Consistently excellent!”
My husband and I spent this weekend in Hermanus. We ate at Fabio's on Friday and Saturday night and both evenings were - as usual - fantastic. The experience starts before you walk in the door: the lovely smells of garlic and cheese surround the restaurant and the Italian Music that can be heard as you approach, enticing you to enter. From the moment we walked in the door to when we left was, as always, a lovely experience. Lovely waitress, fantastic food and wine......and excellent value for money. We will always eat here when in Hermanus. It's our go to restaurant. Thanks to all the staff for always making our evenings here so special.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Fabio's Ristorante
Book a Table
Contact Fabio's Ristorante
Contact Us
Address
60 St Peters Lane
Hermanus
7200

 

View map
Food Served
ItalianGrillsSeafoodVegetarian
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday: 11:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
Outside Seating
Functions
Wi-Fi
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT