Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall angela c
Bridgend, United Kingdom
02 Apr 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Always on our Eating Out List”
Great atmosphere if eating out or inside. Pleasant, knowledgeable and efficient staff go the extra mile to explain the menu. We stuck to our old favourites of fillet steaks which, as always, were tender and tasty. Great wine list and dessert menu. Such a pleasant surrounding makes you linger over the food and wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall philipwoolley
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
09 Feb 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Located on the Main Street”
We had lunch here, after looking at many of the other restaurants. My wife is very picky, and few places impress her. We sat outside under the canopies - and had a very nice meal. The Calamari and Avocado salad was excellent but the Chuck Burger was perhaps a little to salty. The atmosphere was quiet but pleasantly filled with the murmur of people enjoying life and a good lunch! The staff and owner were attentive and keen that their guests were content.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall barryasmus0645
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
07 Feb 2018

“Good food with plenty of choice”
We walked from our guest house to this busy high street restaurant which had an extensive menu and decent wine list.Staff were friendly and helpful and the service was great.I had the calves liver, delicious.Quite busy so recommend you book
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall emjay1968
London, United Kingdom
30 Jan 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Outstanding service, good food”
The name of this restaurant suggests that the food here pays more than just lip-service to the incredible heritage of South African food. For the most part, the food we ate drew its influences from this heritage.We ate from the "3 courses for R280" menu which had some interesting offerings and provided plenty of choice. As with most S African eateries, we got some lovely bread and butter to start us off - this included some interesting home made offerings.The descriptions on the menu in my view didn't quite do justice to the flavourful food. I had a fish-based starter and main course and was surprised and pleased that the salads accompanying the fish were brilliant in terms of flavours and textures. Both the fish cakes and the yellowtail could have had a bit more interest to them, but the yellowtail was fresh and very juicy.My dessert was the pineapple tartlet which could have been significantly improved with a really slow-cooked, well-caramelised slice of pineapple and a lot less cream out of a can.For us, the real star of the show was the service. Our server was fantastic as were the one or two others who delivered dishes/drinks. Our server was helpful, offered explanations, managed to get me a glass of rosé instead of the white/red wine offered with the menu and generally went out of the way to make sure we were very well taken care of.The only issue, which for me is a really big issue, is that if you are paying by card and choose (as is generally the case) to add the tip to your bill rather than pay it in cash, THE RESTAURANT TAKES 30% OFF THE TIP BEFORE GIVING THE TIP TO THE MEMBER OF STAFF. In my view this is absolutely scandalous. I can understand tips being pooled to take into account the contribution of seen and unseen members of staff but I can't see how a restaurant owner can "charge" the staff 30% of their card-paid tips. I made sure that I paid out server in cash, I have also made sure not to mention the person's name because there should be no come back for them. This issue makes me feel that I cannot recommend the establishment as highly as I otherwise would. I look forward to a response from the owner/management.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall LesleyJM2014
Zurich, Switzerland
28 Jan 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Relaxed eating with outside seating”
If there was 3.5 stars, I would give it that rating but definitely not 4 stars.This is a relaxed eatery on the main road of Franschhoek with outside seating overlooking the walkway, and tables inside the old Cape Dutch building.Menu: A mixture of traditional South Africa fare meets Steakhouse!We tried calamari and mussels for starters. I had fish for my main whereas my husband had some kind of meat dish. The food was good although it is a little too battered for my taste. Wine: Their wine list is good but I feel there could be a better selection by the glass.Service was friendly and helpful.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Alexis M

23 Jan 2018

“Never Again”
My boyfriend and I went there for lunch. Despite being the only people in the entire restaurant, it still took the waiter forever to bring us menus.He had fish and I ordered what was supposed to be stuffed Chicken. After waiting long enough to have almost finished our wine, the food arrives. My boyfriend's fish was succulent and delicious. He couldn't have been happier. MINE?! Two petrified little bricks laying on top of two charcoaled carrots and a sauce which had been baked into a crumble All this on a plate so hot I couldn't eat for yet another ten minutes. In the time it took my boyfriend to finish his fish, I had managed to choke my way through one little moisture-free chicken pebble. We alerted Management, and they explained it wasn't actually dry and overcooked. This drek is what the Chef intended. And went into a well rehearsed speech about how they cook the chicken 4 times. Suffice it to say. Never again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Peter Jan R

21 Jan 2018

“A great alternative”
If you don’t want to go to one of the so-called ‘top restaurants’, this is a great alternative. Most importantly they have a lovely terrace, and if you want to eat outdoors, this is a good place. We have also enjoyed the food, which was very good and well served. Service was also extremely pleasant. Relaxed fine dining - really something to consider....
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Rolf H
Stockholm, Sweden
18 Jan 2018

“Ok but nothing more”
Dutch East located on the main street has a very limited menu and if you are looking for a tasty salad this is not your place to eat.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchEast, General Manager at Dutch East Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear RolfH,Thank you for taking the time in writing a review based on your experience at our establishment.However, I do find your feedback on the limited menu very surprising, we have a a La Carte as well as a 3-course set menu running which includes a avo, parmesan & rocket salad, garden side salad & a rare venison salad to choose from for a light salad option. Please feel free to give us more feedback regarding your experience at Dutch East, kindly use our e-mail address info@dutcheast.co.zaKind RegardsMarisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Ahmet K
London, United Kingdom
17 Jan 2018

“Nice Dinner”
We had a nice dinner nice atmosphere .. nice wine .. carpaccio was one of best i ever had .!! Place to come back ..
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchEast, General Manager at Dutch East Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear AhmetK,Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your visit!We are very proud of our kitchen and front of house team for pulling of such high standards of food preparation and customer service. I'm so pleased to see that it reflected during your visit at Dutch East Restaurant.Looking forward in welcoming you very soon!Kind RegardsMarisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall negroni68
Toulouse, France
10 Jan 2018

“Very nice surprise”
Went there for lunch and, as in a lot of place in Franschhoek, the food was delicious, the wine was excellent and the service was spot on. Terrace a little crowded but great if you want to share and meet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchEast, General Manager at Dutch East Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Negroni68,We appreciate your feedback on tripadvisor based on your experience at Dutch East restaurant.We strive towards exelent service, outstanding food and a great wine selection and I am glad to see that all of the mentioned above was reflecting during your visit.We do take note of your constructive feedback about the crowded terrace area and will have a closer look into your concern.See you soonest!Kind RegardsMarisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Dutch East Restaurant
Book a Table
Contact Dutch East Restaurant
Contact Us
Address
42 Huguenot Road
Franschhoek
7690

 

View map
Food Served
GrillsBreakfastContemporaryLight Meals
Average Price$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Saturday:
Lunch: 12:00 – 15:00
Dinner: 18:30 – 21:00
Sunday:
Lunch Only: 11:30 – 15:45
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Disabled
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Weddings
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT