Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Morton F

24 Mar 2020

“Very imaginative menu”
We looked at the online menu and were intrigued. We decided to try the restaurant, even though it was reasonably far away. The beautiful views encountered during the trip made it the long trip worthwhile. The menu was extremely imaginative, however, each dish had so many different parts to it, that it was difficult to make it all work .Deconstructed paella was lukewarm rice with small shrimp. The salmon bisque was served nicely but was barely edible. Coconut seared salmon with red spaghetti made an interesting and tasty appetizer. The dark chocolate fondant dessert was the best part of the dinner.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Z1389QIbarbarak
Pretoria, South Africa
02 Mar 2020

“Went there for an early dinner.”
Went there for an early dinner. Loved the atmosphere and ambience. Excellent service and a really different menu. Hubby had the pork belly said it was delicious. Being a vegetarian was wonderful to get a different well prepared and absolute delicious vegetarian meal. Thank you to the Chef & Staff for amazing experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Adventurer589520
Pretoria, South Africa
30 Dec 2019

“Booking confirmed then cancelled”
Booking was confirmed the day before when I contacted them they let me know that the restaurant is closed and my booking is cancelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall yachelcrofts

14 Dec 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Wizardry of the Taste Buds”
The restaurant is "fancy" but not so fancy that you feel out of place, or feel like the other patrons can see through your carefuly tucked in shirt and observe that you're the type of person that changes your own flat tyre. We sat near a table of rowdy lesbians who had a very loud and lengthy conversion that culminated in the epiphany that Salmon is basically like fish fingers.All of this however was more entertaining than distracting. The food...the food.... the Fahood! That chef definitely studied at Hogwarts because there was a whole lot of magic happening all up in my mouth. An eccentric menu to a laymen but the flavours, textures and fragrances are expertly arranged and masterfully executed, each one of our three courses blew my mind, I literally almost shed a tear. And then, half way through the main course, just as that cloud of edible ecstasy seemed to start to fade I had a sip of the optional paired wine,,, wow. I think we did more waiting than our waiter as we sat in a corner, he probably took a little longer than he should have but there were so many sensations to take in and discuss that it simply didn't matter. An all round delightful experience!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Willem A

09 Dec 2019

“Beautiful setting, but not fine dining”
The view is great, especially during daytime. The atmosphere and service, although above averaqge, lacked a litlle finesse. A small group entered, looked around and mentioned "This is not fine dining "and left - I tend to agree. The menu seems attractive. We had the "Weiveld" which is a sirloin or fillet steak and gemsbok stroganoff. The fillet choice was good, but the sirloin, although medium rare, was dry and salty - I think they forgot the oxtail jus. The miniature gemsbok stroganoff seemed to have been dried out in the microwave. Service was acceptable. It was surprisingly quiet for Friday evening in December.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 714adamv

09 Oct 2019

“Amazing tasting menu”
We loved the visit to De Kloof! The tasting menu was especially very good value for money, as well as being delicious. The staff were al very friendly!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall RiddyB2

26 Jun 2019

“Breezy”
enjoyed the surrounding of the golf estate within this restaurant. had the burger it was good. their drinks menu was ok needs a bit of an update otherwise its a really cool spot especially on a hot summer's day!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall NeilWesson

30 May 2019

“Dinner”
Very good food, great service. Strongly recommend. Menu explained well. 3 or 5 course fine dining experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall gustaafw2014
Pretoria, South Africa
09 May 2019

“A winner.”
Always a great culinary experience. Cutting edge cuisine at a great venue. My advice is try the testing menu.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Ockert M
Pretoria, South Africa
03 May 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Reasured: Still a wonderful restaurant.”
For our 3rd excursion for Restaurant Week, we enjoyed a lovely 3 course dinner at De Kloof restaurant.We were warmly greeted and served by the very friendly and attentive staff during our visit. As a complimentary appetizer we received some freshly baked bread served with smoked butter and butternut puree alongside fresh salmon ceviche on crisp wavers. For starters we loved their “Fondant aux Choufleur” which was a cauliflower & cream cheese fondant, served with roasted apple puree, caramelised walnuts and cider poached apple. The fondant was perfectly prepared and creamy; the apples and walnuts were great compliments to it. We also enjoyed their “Paella deconstructed” which was exactly that – prawns served with saffron risotto, crispy chicken skin, bouillabaisse sauce, pea puree, prawn butter and chorizo. The flavours blended perfectly with each component beautifully prepared and flavoured. For mains we had the “Bees vs Bok”, a dish comprising of Beef Pincanha, béarnaise, potato & kale dauphinoise, feta, baby carrots, Waterbok moneybags, jus, and smoked pepperonata. The Pincanha was quite interesting to taste, and a good pairing with the mouth-watering potato & kale. The Waterbok moneybags were a great treat with wonderful flavour. The “Chicken bang-bang” consisted of a chicken breast roulade with onion stuffing, a chicken wing lollipop, chicken thigh dim sum and aubergine puree with a pea and soy risotto. This entire dish was delicious, tasty and a wonderful blend between the different types of chicken. For dessert we shared their “Garden Brulee”, a lavender brulee served with a cardamom biscotti and a lemon verbena brulee with mint crisp. Both brulees were pleasant, Their “Asian Persusian” which was a chocolate & lime soufflé, served with naartjie sorbet, miso yaki tuille and citrus sherbet. The soufle was perfectly prepared and a wonderful balance with the sorbet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at De Kloof Restaurant
Book a Table
Contact De Kloof Restaurant
Contact Us
Address
Waterkloof Golf Estate
Johann Rissik Drive
Waterkloof, Pretoria

 

View map
Food Served
Fine DiningBistroGlobal/International
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Mondays:
Dinner from 18:00

Tuesdays - Saturdays:
Lunch 12:00 - 15:00
Dinner 18:00 - 22:00

Sundays:
Lunch 12:00 - 15:00

Gourmet Burgers & Craft Beers available Tuesday to Sundays all day in our Bar
Facilities
Functions
Fireplace
Secure Parking
Disabled
Outside Seating
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT