Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall NeilWesson

30 May 2019

“Dinner”
Very good food, great service. Strongly recommend. Menu explained well. 3 or 5 course fine dining experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall gustaafw2014
Pretoria, South Africa
09 May 2019

“A winner.”
Always a great culinary experience. Cutting edge cuisine at a great venue. My advice is try the testing menu.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Ockert M
Pretoria, South Africa
03 May 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Reasured: Still a wonderful restaurant.”
For our 3rd excursion for Restaurant Week, we enjoyed a lovely 3 course dinner at De Kloof restaurant.We were warmly greeted and served by the very friendly and attentive staff during our visit. As a complimentary appetizer we received some freshly baked bread served with smoked butter and butternut puree alongside fresh salmon ceviche on crisp wavers. For starters we loved their “Fondant aux Choufleur” which was a cauliflower & cream cheese fondant, served with roasted apple puree, caramelised walnuts and cider poached apple. The fondant was perfectly prepared and creamy; the apples and walnuts were great compliments to it. We also enjoyed their “Paella deconstructed” which was exactly that – prawns served with saffron risotto, crispy chicken skin, bouillabaisse sauce, pea puree, prawn butter and chorizo. The flavours blended perfectly with each component beautifully prepared and flavoured. For mains we had the “Bees vs Bok”, a dish comprising of Beef Pincanha, béarnaise, potato & kale dauphinoise, feta, baby carrots, Waterbok moneybags, jus, and smoked pepperonata. The Pincanha was quite interesting to taste, and a good pairing with the mouth-watering potato & kale. The Waterbok moneybags were a great treat with wonderful flavour. The “Chicken bang-bang” consisted of a chicken breast roulade with onion stuffing, a chicken wing lollipop, chicken thigh dim sum and aubergine puree with a pea and soy risotto. This entire dish was delicious, tasty and a wonderful blend between the different types of chicken. For dessert we shared their “Garden Brulee”, a lavender brulee served with a cardamom biscotti and a lemon verbena brulee with mint crisp. Both brulees were pleasant, Their “Asian Persusian” which was a chocolate & lime soufflé, served with naartjie sorbet, miso yaki tuille and citrus sherbet. The soufle was perfectly prepared and a wonderful balance with the sorbet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Cheryl v
Pretoria, South Africa
21 Apr 2019

“Birthday Dinner”
Great service, delicious mains - the prawn & saffron risotto was delicious, and the chicken highly recommended. House wine complemented the food well. A quiet evening, lovely setting and the chocolate Happy Birthday was a nice touch.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall LielaD
Cape Town Central, South Africa
20 Mar 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“ALWAYS AMAZING”
De Kloof is our go to for a special celebration or treat. The view is fabulous, the food extra-ordinary and the wine pairings exquisite. The food is truly unique and the effort from the chef is clearly visible. If you are looking for something special, De Kloof is the way to go.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Mullinscincy
Cincinnati, Ohio
05 Mar 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Good Food, Service Needs Work”
After a long day at the Lion & Safari Park, my sister who is currently living in Pretoria highlights recommend we have dinner at DeKloof. She said the food was pretty good, but the view was the best park.Location: DeKloof is in an upscale restaurant, so in order to get to the actual restaurant you will not only get stopped by a guard, that has both a barrier a automatic ground spikes. The most odd thing was I had to provide them with my thumb print on an electronic pad. That's the first time I had to do something like that, but I guess it's for our protection. The location of DeKloof is the view. We made it just in time for sun down and it was amazing. Service: Unfortunately the service wasn't that great. Besides my family, there was just one other table. I lost track of time on how long it took for the food to come, but I would say it was close to 45 minutes. I checked with the waiter a few times on the status, but he just kept saying, "It's coming". Food: We all pretty much went with the chicken sandwich and we all pretty much agreed it was good, but nothing that warranted a 45 minute wait.Overall: View was amazing, service needs work, and view was ok. Would I recommend going, maybe just for drinks and to enjoy the food.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall LaraManig
Centurion, South Africa
13 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Beautiful View and Great Food”
Took my husband here for his birthday and despite a very stormy night we sat on the balcony and had a brilliant meal with lightning show. The service was very efficient and helpful. We opted for the 3 course Ala Carte menu and enjoyed a variety of dishes which were beautifully presented and very tasty. Only criticism is that the amount of food vs the price was not quite balanced.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall mvpdube
Pretoria, South Africa
10 Feb 2019

“Great views great food”
Took my wife here for her birthday after a long day at work. The food was was delicious, our table was just at the right spot to enjoy the views. Thoroughly enjoyed our meals and service. It was definitely worth the drive from the east.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Laetitia B
Pretoria
26 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Will not recommend DeKloof to anyone”
Whilst the staff were friendly & helpful, the kitchen could obvioulsy not deal with the number of patrons. Waiting for the first dishes to arrive took more than an hour; resulting in food being cold.In my opinion the chef is trying to copy the Orient menu and simply cannot deliver at the same level! Whilst the Seafood Paelle was good, the Porkbelly dish was cold and untasteful. The fillet dish was served with inedible sirloin.Creme Brulee was certainly the worst I’ve ever tasted with no real caramalized topping & gluey custard. We then departure was a better option!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall DopsyNG

07 Dec 2018

“Great food!”
We had the 3 course option. The food was great and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The view from the patio even made it better and the room ambience was very relaxing.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at De Kloof Restaurant
Book a Table
Contact De Kloof Restaurant
Contact Us
Address
Waterkloof Golf Estate
Johann Rissik Drive
Waterkloof, Pretoria

 

View map
Food Served
Fine DiningBistroGlobal/International
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Mondays:
Dinner from 18:00

Tuesdays - Saturdays:
Lunch 12:00 - 15:00
Dinner 18:00 - 22:00

Sundays:
Lunch 12:00 - 15:00

Gourmet Burgers & Craft Beers available Tuesday to Sundays all day in our Bar
Facilities
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Disabled
Functions
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT