Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall M2582KGcherylh

09 Mar 2020

“Delicious food and incredible service”
My husband and I came here for dinner last night and were pleasantly surprised! We weren’t quite sure what to expect but everything we ate was delicious. What really blew us away though was the incredible experience we had with Rakesh. He took the time to chat with us, get to know us and gave us advice on great places to see in the area and things to do. He was attentive and made our experience top notch! Thanks for such a memorable evening!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Manager at Coral Tree Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear Cheryl,We are thrilled to hear that your husband and yourself had an outstanding experience at our Coral Tree Restaurant.It is wonderful to hear that you delighted not only in the delicious food offering, but also to hear that Rakesh contributed largely in turning your moments into memories with his brilliant service and by going the extra mile in every way.We look forward to hosting you again soon and thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and the Trip Advisor community.Kind Regards,Jean-Christophe GazzoFood and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall louisep345
Bloemfontein, South Africa
06 Jan 2020

“Rakesh”
We've gotten to know Rakesh from our visits to the Oyster Box and how excited were we when we saw him at The Fairmont in Zimbali. Always willing to go the extra mile and always on our tongues when we tell our friends about the amazing service we receive. Fairmont Zimbali.... I hope you realise what a gem you have in your employ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Manager at Coral Tree Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear louisep345,Your high praise of Rakesh is invaluable, thank you for recognizing him publicly for his amazing service!We are pleased that you had a great visit at Coral Tree Restaurant, and to hear your delight for seeing Rakesh. Your comments have been shared with our entire team, and he has been rewarded on account of your review.We look forward to hosting you at Coral Tree Restaurant again soon.Kind Regards,Jean-Christophe GazzoFood and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall AsaB86

30 Nov 2019

“Short Changed!”
Where do I begin?!!! Simply put, the food was Horrible.No roasts in sight. Over cooked broken rice, tough meat in lamb curry, over cooked and dry chicken breast. I mean, the appearance alone was not matching the so called standard of the entire resort. Not much variety, VERY BASIC. Then there were items which were finished and not replaced, this was at 8:15pm. You’d think they’d prepare enough since there were at least 3 groups including ours with a reservation there last night. A jug of juice cost R130, and tasted like it was half water and half juice. The only thing there seemed to be a variety of was dessert, However, even that ran out very early into the evening and not replaced. All in all we had a very unpleasant experience. I honestly wanted to ask for change from the R295 we each paid and the service fee of more than R500 for our group. That menu did not even deserve R100. Never setting foot there again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Manager at Coral Tree Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear AsaB86,We are sorry to hear that your time with us did not meet your expectations.We apologize for the challenges that you faced and assure you that we will address them moving forward.We hope that you will visit us again allowing us another opportunity to provide you with a memorable experience.Kind Regards,Jean-Christophe GazzoFood and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall durbza

09 Oct 2019

“Dinner buffet”
Average goodFor the location and price, average array of food.Not really worth eating there.Lamb stew was ok.Lamb roast...was overdone and dry.Stale bread rollsThe desserts were the only thing worth trying.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Manager at Coral Tree Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear durbza,We appreciate your candid feedback of your experience with us.It is unfortunate that the dinner buffet did not exceed your expectations. We have shared your comments with the culinary team for constructive action.We hope that you will decide to dine with us again sometime in the future allowing us the opportunity to turn your moments into memoriesKind Regards,Jean-Christophe GazzoFood and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 143blessed
Johannesburg, South Africa
09 Sep 2019

“Great Selection”
A wide selcetion both at breakfast and lunch. Stunning view and relaxed atmosphere. Good service, friendly staff!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Manager at Coral Tree Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear 143blessed,It is wonderful to hear that you captured the essence of Coral Tree Restaurant with the wide buffet food selection, stunning ocean view and the relaxed atmosphere. Thank you for your compliments, particularly pertaining to the good service you received and friendly staff. We appreciate your feedback.We hope to see you again soon.Kind Regards,Jean-Christophe GazzoFood and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 481stuartr
Port St Francis, South Africa
18 Aug 2019

“2 star buffet in 5 star hotel”
Shocking, the standard of the buffet was such that we had to go out in search of a decent meal after a full day travelling.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Manager at Coral Tree Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear 481stuartr,We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback with us.It is disheartening to hear that you were not satisfied with the buffet offering, and we hope that you will be back in future for a better impression to be made on you.Kind Regards,Jean-Christophe GazzoFood and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall marciama2018
Gaborone, Botswana
10 Jul 2019

“Simply Delicious!”
I loved the food, so much variety on the buffet menu, it was amazing. All I can say is, it was - "Simply Delicious!"
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Manager at Coral Tree Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear marciama2018,How wonderful to receive your positive feedback regarding our buffet menu.I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the food so much and I thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.We look forward to hosting you again in the future!Kind Regards,Jean-Christophe GazzoFood and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall AngelicaPelati
Durban, South Africa
10 May 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
Atmosphere
“My Coral Tree experience”
We went on a Friday evening which was seafood evening.The food was quality, the atmosphere was lovely. There was live entertainment which was tasteful and relaxing and the service was excellent.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Manager at Coral Tree Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear Seaside52833579822,It really inspires our team when we receive excellent feedback such as yours! Thank you for sharing.We are happy to hear that all aspects of your dinner at Coral Tree were appreciated by yourself and that you truly enjoyed every aspect of the evening.We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!Kind Regards,Jean-Christophe GazzoFood and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Rachelv1453
Ballito, South Africa
25 Apr 2019

“Chief's Table - Private Dining, April '19”
So tonight was our monthly spoil at Chef's table for April. It has become a set date for hubby and I every month, and I am astound every time we go. It is so worth it to spend a night out with incredible food and awesome friends.We get 5* service from the moment we walk in through every meal!Tonight Chef Tony had his very capable young chefs each prepare a course of their own while he dazzled our tastebuds with a Duck trio main course that was simply to die for!Each time is a unique experience that just never seem to disappoint! Our places are booked for the next one the 30th of May and I can't wait to see what the team has in store for us then!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Manager at Coral Tree Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear Rachelv1453,It is a huge compliment to know that your monthly date night can be celebrated with us! Thank you for joining us at our Chef's Table and for your support in each event.Chef Tony and his team are masters in the culinary art and it is a pleasure to hear the feedback from happy guests.We look forward to hosting you at the next Chef's Table in May.Kind Regards,Jean-Christophe GazzoFood and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Sibs08
Harare, Zimbabwe
31 Mar 2019

“Average”
Whilst the service was good, particularly in the context of the poor service in the Fairmont Hotel, the main course dishes were terrible.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Manager at Coral Tree Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear Sibs08,I am happy to hear that you were impressed with the service at the Coral Tree Restaurant, however sad to hear too that the food did not meet your expectations.I hope that you will be back to visit us again allowing us another opportunity to provide you with a truly memorable dining experience at the Coral Tree Restaurant.Kind Regards,Jean-Christophe GazzoFood and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Coral Tree Restaurant
Book a Table
Contact Coral Tree Restaurant
Contact Us
Address
Zimbali Coastal Resort & Estate
Level 3, 5 Corkwood Drive
Ballito
4420

 

View map
Food Served
BuffetBreakfastGlobal/InternationalSouth African
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Daily
Breakfast: 06:30 - 10:30
Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30
Facilities
Functions
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT