Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Lludd
Montreal, Canada
05 Mar 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Good service”
We came here for a brunch and were very happy with the service, which catered to our every need.... the food was nothing too special but the service made it a great experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Manager at Coral Tree Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear Lludd,Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor.I am happy to know that the staff at Coral Tree catered to your every need and exceeded your expectations! We hope you will visit us again for more memorable moments with us.Kind Regards,Jean-Christophe GazzoFood and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Kreolin G

17 Jan 2019

“Very Disappointing”
Average substandard food , basic al carte menu looks like a junior chef comprised, the steak was pathetic and chalky no options of sauses.Coral tree by far most disappointing restuarant.Meals are lazy , bad brownies tasted old and stogie more shocking served with marshmallows at a 5 star establishment.Definitely will not recommend , you can get value for your money somewhere else. I had high expectations was greatly disappointed never again coral tree.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Manager at Coral Tree Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear Kreolin GWe appreciate you taking the time to give us this valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at our restaurant. While we strive very hard to deliver and maintain a high level of service and quality of food for which Fairmont is known for, we recognize that we did not meet your expectations and will take your feedback into account and use it to improve on our guests' experience moving forward.Thank you again for sharing your comments with us.Kind Regards,Jean-Christophe GazzoFood and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall RajaNaicker

16 Jan 2019

“Family lunch”
Wife and I went for lunch at the CoralTree in the Fairmont Hotel. Excellent service and great food.Compliments to the chef and his teamHad the cob and shrimp. It was delicious. Staff were top shelf.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Manager at Coral Tree Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear RajaNaicker,It was our absolute pleasure to host you at Coral Tree and provide you with excellent service and great food! Thank you for sharing your culinary experience with us. We will pass on your compliments to the chef and team gladly, and we thank you for taking the time to express your enjoyment of your meal.We hope to host you again soon.Kind Regards,Jean-Christophe GazzoFood and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall niven2017
Durban, South Africa
06 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Very disappointed with the service at this resturant. Do not go...”
Very disappointed with the service at this resturant. Do not go...Staff most unhelpful and the manager has no management skills either.All staff need serious training.The 2 guys that sang this Saturday, can't string a cord together either. Very disappointed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Manager at Coral Tree Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear niven2017We thank you for sharing your review with us, although it is unfortunate to hear that your expectations were not met.We appreciate your comments and are sorry that you did not feel that your experience met the Fairmont standard. We strive hard to provide our guests with memorable moments, and we apologize if you felt that we fell short of doing this during your time with us. We will discuss your comments with our team as we continually seek to improve as we move forward.Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great experience in the future.Kind Regards,Jean-Christophe GazzoFood and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Karen S
Johannesburg, South Africa
18 Nov 2018

“Good Buffet”
Had breakfast & buffet lunch here. Good selection of tasty food. Great ocean views on the outside deck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Manager at Coral Tree Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear Karen,I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed Coral Tree for a breakfast and lunch buffet and delighted in the selection of food and the tastiness thereof. It is always wonderful to hear positive feedback and we are happy to know that the ocean views also left a lasting impression on you!We look forward to welcoming you back for more memorable moments in the future.Kind Regards,Jean-Christophe GazzoFood and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Rachelv1453
Ballito, South Africa
06 Nov 2018

“Chefs Table at Coral Tree Private Dining”
We had the most amazing evening at the Chef's table with Chef Tony and his amazing team! The setting was intimate and very elegant, the staff was friendly and professional, I felt like royalty being served! Then the food.... O my, the food! Every single drop on the plate had it's own unique taste that was an absolute treat. Each of the 5 courses was plated beautifully and accompanied by a beverage that complemented its taste. The textures, cooking techniques and ingredients used was out of this world and some completely new to me. We had the honor of Chef Tony sitting with us, answering all our questions throughout the experience. We will definitely be at the next one and every one after that, a definite must do and 100% recommended! Thank you Chef Tony and your team for giving us yet another awesome experience!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Manager at Coral Tree Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear Rachelv1453It is an absolute joy to receive your compliments regarding the Chef's Table.Myself, Chef Tony and the Team are delighted to know that you found the setting to be elegant, the staff to be friendly and professional, and the food (and beverage) to be out of this world!Thank you for recommending the evening and we hope to host you again sometime soon.Kind Regards,Jean-Christophe GazzoFood and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Tara C
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
04 Nov 2018

“Most disappointing restaurant I’ve ever been to.”
If you’re thinking of eating at Coral Tree, save yourself the trouble and the money. We waited an hour and a half for our meal, the service was terrible, and when the food finally arrived we were served raw chicken and cold steak. For a 5 star establishment with the prices to match, you’ll be severely disappointed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Manager at Coral Tree Restaurant, responded to this review.
Hello Tara,It is with regret to hear that you left our restaurant dissatisfied.I am sorry that you felt that there was a long wait time and that your food was not up to expectation or calibre. This is not the Fairmont standard and I apologize that you did not leave our hotel enthralled with your meal with us.I hope that you will visit us again in the future allowing us the chance to make a memorable Fairmont impression on you for what we are known for.Kind Regards,Jean-Christophe GazzoFood and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Ashlin M

01 Oct 2018

“1 star Resort!”
Pity there's no zero rating. For a 5 star establishment, this restaurant's service and food is pathetic, not worth the money at all. Even if for free, I would not return. At breakfast they close the doors promptly at 10:30, and you basically barred out of the buffet. So you have to up and leave... Waiters don't seem to care much as well, drinks and any requests happen when ever it wants if it does happen. This visit has left a bitter taste.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Manager at Coral Tree Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear AshlinI am saddened to see that you felt discouraged during your breakfast service with us.We are sorry that you were inconvenienced by the closing time of our breakfast service. We are strict with our times as oftentimes we have set-up for lunch events in the restaurant which require time to facilitate. I apologize for any discomfort placed on you.I hope that you will return in the future, allowing us another opportunity to leave a lasting impression on you.Kind Regards,Jean-Christophe GazzoFood and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall LorindaVoges
Cape Town, South Africa
26 Sep 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Love Buffet meals - this is your place!”
The Coral Tree offers dining with an elegant yet comfortable atmosphere, ideal for family dining with buffet breakfast and dinner on the terrace. Apart from the daily breakfast, we also enjoyed dinner. The dinner buffet brings together the culinary imagination of different countries and cultures. Features include a sushi bar, South African carvery, Mama’s Italian pasta bar, a stir-fry station and tastes of India. Live action stations allow you to customize your meal and engage with our culinary team.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Manager at Coral Tree Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear LorindaVogesThank you for escalating your review to us, we are delighted to receive your kind words.We are thrilled to hear that you found the Coral Tree Restaurant to be accommodating for all people in an elegant yet comfortable atmosphere, ideal for families or a couple or single person alike. Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience with us and for sharing your findings with the Trip Advisor community!We look forward to your next visit with us.Kind Regards,Jean-Christophe GazzoFood and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall mac112
Pretoria
07 Sep 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“very welcoming and delicious food.. pricey though”
So I got married last week and Zambali is where we sent a few days after... first dinner the day after the wedding was the Coral Tree.. the hostess was awesome.. very welcoming and our Waitress Zanele was so friendly and accommodating.. food was amazing.. thank you guys.. we had a wonderful time and a very relaxing day after the madness... to just sit back and take a breather with great food was just what was needed... still $$$ pretty expensive dinner for two.. but in the end.. my wife and i did enjoy it. thank you for the congratulation cake at the end
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Manager at Coral Tree Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear mac112We are delighted to read your review.Firstly, congratulations on your recent nuptials. We wish you and your wife a happy and prosperous future! We are thrilled to know that we were your chosen destination getaway. We are delighted to hear that your experience at Coral Tree left a lasting impression on you, and that Zanele in particular stood out with her friendly and accommodating nature. It is our desire to turn moments into memories for our guests, and we will be sharing Zanele's praise with the team. Thank you.We were delighted to treat you, and we hope you will visit us again.Kind Regards,Jean-Christophe GazzoFood and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Coral Tree Restaurant
Book a Table
Contact Coral Tree Restaurant
Contact Us
Address
Zimbali Coastal Resort & Estate
Level 3, 5 Corkwood Drive
Ballito
4420

 

View map
Food Served
BuffetBreakfastGlobal/InternationalSouth African
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Daily
Breakfast: 06:30 - 10:30
Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30
Facilities
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Functions
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT