Website
Weather
OverviewMenuReviews
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall lindalikes2travel
Cape Town, South Africa
29 Mar 2021

“Poor service”
We went there for Sunday lunch. The restaurant was very empty. It was only my husband and I and a table of 7 people. We ordered our drinks and when it came the waitress asked if we are ready to order. We both ordered steaks.In the meantime another 2 people arrived.We waited about an hour for our food. The waitress was non existent in that hour. Didn't come to find out if we needed more drinks or to even explain why the food took so long. And best of all, the 2 people who came after us got their food before us.Now I understand why the restaurant was so empty obvious because of their lack of service.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall KeithH2874
Cape Town, South Africa
26 Feb 2021

“Oh no”
Covid might have damaged a lot of good bussinesses.Though times for all.Then up your game. BUTT!! THIS RESTUARANT STILL TAKES ITS PRIOR COVID SUCCESS AS A LISCENCE TO BLAZE ONWrds.NO guys .You have lost the plot on the basic fundamentLs on how to cook a steak at a steak house.AS ARNIE SAYS ..I WONT BE BACK..Dont go there chaps There are far far better places to waste your money.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Aeraille
Cape Town Central, South Africa
08 May 2020

“Great Buffet”
We were in the area and decided to have a bite to eat and discovered they had a buffet available that day. The selection was amazing and the quality was very good. Despite it being a buffet the service was good and we were well looked after. On Wednesdays and I think Thursdays lunch there is a special price for pensioners. Well worth a visit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall NeilMarietjie
Western Cape, South Africa
15 Nov 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Cattle Baron not the one we are used to. Definitely.”
I ordered the KWV Sauvignon Blanc and a Jack Black 350 ml on tap.I was then told it's a brand new menu and wine list and they don't have stock of the wine. I then received a draft in a 300ml glass and the waitress confirmed it that i should have received 350ml as on the wine list.I eat pork belly whenever i can and i have never had a worse one in my life. It was so tough i really battled to cut it ,so i took it home for the dog. After complaining about the beer my wife did not want me to complain about the pork,so i left it.I have a great respect for Cattle Baron's ,so i am concerned about the future thereof because the prices have increased and in today's tough times to survive you need to step up your service or at least maintain it. Easy to rectify if have a concerned owner and proper management. It's never the waiters only management to blame.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Anne-Marie V
Knysna
11 Nov 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Dinner”
Great Service and good food! Our waiter was good and friendly. Our food came so quick, we were so surprised because we were so hungry.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall AllanGeorgeJ

03 Nov 2019

“Casual local”
I visited this place recently on a quiet day. Ordered the garlic rump rare. When it was served,itwas so tough I would have realistically needed a surgical scalpel to cut it. Also bionic teeth to chew it. The staff were very food in that they offered me a replacement steak as a take away, and this was a good gesture of atonement. However if you are paying R200 for a lump of dead carrion that could have come from a dehydrated rhinoceros, this is a venue best avoided. Cant complain about the staff.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Marialouwrens
Cape Town, South Africa
09 Oct 2019

“Lunch”
My husband and I had lunch at Cattle Baron Plattekloof. Oh WOW! The steak was the best we had in a long time. The service was excellent. A wonderful experience indeed. We are sure to visit them again. Thanks guys.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall CliffH287
Cape Town, South Africa
30 Sep 2019

“Never been disappointed”
We live quite close, so when we don't feel like cooking, this is the restaurant we chose first, why?Well after some years of patronage, I can't remember a bad experience.The steaks are good, service, Okay sometimes a trainee makes a mistake, but it's always remedy with a smile and apologies. We both feel at home here and certainly recommend it. Try, doubt if you'll be disappointed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall rochelle3103
Cape Town, South Africa
06 Aug 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great steaks to share”
Be sure to make a reservation as it gets very busy. We ordered 2 meat platters to share between 4 and enjoyed every bite. Tasty sides to accompany the good variety of melt-in-the-mouth steak, chops and ribs. Couldn't use the Entertainer app on this meal, but was worth every cent. Will definitely do it again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall CindyLLancaster
Goodwood, South Africa
14 May 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Very disappointing experience”
We have visited this establishment on numerous occasions, including a Monday night when they have a burger special. The service has gotten progressively worse over the last couple of months. Last night in particular we decided to go and try the burgers on a recommendation of family. We always splash out on a good meal at Cattle Baron as we have the entertainer. But, last night was burger night and the special is really good value for money. We understand that on a busy night service will be a bit slower than usual but last night was really not acceptable. The last time we had an issue, the management sorted us out promptly and we were really impressed with how it was handled. Last night we waited 15 minutes for someone to take our drinks order. Her excuse was that all her tables arrived at once..... we waited another 10 minutes for our drinks which arrived with no ice. We were told once again, she was so busy and they ran out of ice buckets. Told her bring it in a glass and 10 minutes later we had our ice. We finally placed our food order and the food was delicious, tasty and warm. Great quantity for a R50 plate of food. Now here is the thing. When management sees that there is a backup in an area, surely they should step in and assist, as he did the last time we were there. I couldn't even find the manager to chat to him/her. The table next to us left about 30 minutes after we arrived and was never cleaned. This really goes to show that this poor waitron was out of her depth but further to this, there was nobody helping her just to clear up. My husband had to actually ask her to remove our plates from our table when we asked for the bill. She just never clicked! The food was great and I will definitely go back, but the question I have is why do they not employ a runner or 2 on busy nights to assist the staff? It just is so sad when you see a well run restaurant backslide on a busy evening. Leaves a bit of a bad taste in the mouth!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Cattle Baron Grill House - Plattekloof
Book a Table
Contact Cattle Baron Grill House - Plattekloof
Contact Us
Address
Plattekloof Shopping Centre, Shop 16
Cnr. Plattekloof St. & Olienhout Drive
Plattekloof
7500

 

View map
Food Served
GrillsSeafoodSteakhouseVegetarian
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Monday - Friday : Lunch 11:30 - 15:30
Monday - Thursday : Dinner 17:30 - 23:30
Friday - Saturday : Dinner 17:30 - 24:00
Sundays & Public Holidays :
Lunch 11:30 - 15:30, Dinner 18:00 - 22:30
Facilities
Takeaways
Smoking Section
Secure Parking
Disabled
Outside Seating
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2021 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT