Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall magiel977

20 Feb 2020

“Food Galore”
At the Bosveld Lapa, you can't feel anything but at home with a view over lake umuzi. A menu with diverse choices and with the taste of ouma's food. Well-prepared, tastefull and well portioned.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marthelenej, Owner at Bosveld Lapa Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you for the comprehensive review Magiel. Our pleasure. See you soon for another rrroooaaring experience
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall traveldlite

14 Oct 2019

“Tired, Slow, Awful Cuisine”
We opted to have dinner at Bosveld. Poor service - waiters seem confused. Down scale wine list and really dated decor.Food is greasy, awful flavours and not light and fresh. DO NOT ORDER SOLE HERE....Worst fish I have ever attempted to eat - did give up,paid and left. I don't believe the kitchen has one inspired cook residing there!!!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marthelene J, Owner at Bosveld Lapa Restaurant, responded to this review.
You seem like a busy traveller to me...very interesting review. Like at Cappuccinos...please leave your number so I can follow up with you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JurieJohannesJacobs
Piet Retief, South Africa
26 Nov 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Lunch with family”
We meet with our kids and have a great time on there outside area looking over the water area. The steaks was great nice and soft, and the service from waiter was very good. It was a very relaxing morning afternoon while enjoying a great time.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marthelene J, Owner at Bosveld Lapa Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you for your review and the support Johan -
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 295colins
Leyland, United Kingdom
25 Oct 2018

“Ordinary”
I had previously been to Crawdaddy’s but was told this place was much better, sadly it isn’t not by a long stretch. Food and ambiance not as good, however the service was pretty good but not outstanding.I would not come again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marthelene J, Owner at Bosveld Lapa Restaurant, responded to this review.
Good day Chris, thank you for this review. We have had a revamp relaunch and worked on all the elements in the restaurant. Looking forward in having you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall debeergerrie67
Secunda, South Africa
18 Jun 2018

“Gerrie”
Arrival nobody to show us a tableWe wait a while before somebody assist usThe delivery of our order took a whileFood not very good and some coldThe rest rooms need some attention People not very friendlyNot the best value for money
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marthelene J, Owner at Bosveld Lapa Restaurant, responded to this review.
We have listened and invite you to come and enjoy our updated menu, revamped atmosphere/decor and retrained staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall chriscK443WW
Greater Perth, Australia
23 May 2018

“Great atmosphere and great food”
This was the second time I have been to the laps, once again the relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff and great food made for an awesome night. The Lara is a great place to have a chilled meal with friends and enjoy africa. My trip would be to try the chocolate mouse in its own chocolate pot, however be warned it maybe too much for one person.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marthelene J, Owner at Bosveld Lapa Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you for the review and your support Chris - looking forward being at your service again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Suzette B

22 Apr 2018

“Layed Back and Family Friendly”
We enjoyed the layed back atmosphere of a superbly set South African Family Restaurant with Lake “Umuzi” as the backdrop. We absolutely love the “Bosveld” feel of the “Lapa”. Staff are friendly and customers are greeted when entering the Restaurant. Dishes are unique prepared to give one that homely feeling of warmth and comfort. Well done to the Team and the Managers from Bosveld Lapa.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marthelene J, Owner at Bosveld Lapa Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you for the great review Suzette - looking forward being at your service again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall chriscK443WW
Greater Perth, Australia
22 Apr 2018

“Good value for money, nice atmosphere”
We were in secunda on business for four weeks so decided to eat out at as many restaurants as we could during that time. We visited the Bosveld Lapa in the first week are on local reviews. The setting is very African and the menu choice extensive, the prices are mid range, the wine list is ok and the service is good. It is a good restaurant if you are looking for a change. We will be back on our next rotation.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marthelene J, Owner at Bosveld Lapa Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you for the review Chris - looking forward in seeing you back again to enjoy our improved menu and revamped atmosphere
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall theJoshinator66
Pretoria, South Africa
19 Apr 2018

“Pleasant”
Nothing special really. Nice placement next to a lake but there are better places next door to the place.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marthelene J, Owner at Bosveld Lapa Restaurant, responded to this review.
We are inviting you back to come and indulge in our improved menu, revamped atmosphere/decor and retrained staff!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall GrahamP28
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
10 Feb 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Cheesy Ending”
I and several colleagues had 3 nights of great food and service, then unfortunately on our last evening a garlic roll served as a starter. It comprised an oversized bun completely lacking garlic or butter and simply smothered with cheddar cheese. My colleague refused to eat it, describing it as disgusting and inedible.I ordered kingklip with a lemon butter sauce identical to that my colleague and I had eaten and enjoyed earlier in the week. To my dismay the kingklip arrived covered in a thick layer of cheddar cheese, the underlying fish was dried out and beyond tough. The meal was returned with a request to not overcook the fish and to not add cheese. Clearly, the "chef" had attempted to cover his failings with cheddar.To my dismay the replacement was covered in the same, disgusting thick layer of cheddar.The manager was summoned and to my anger, his only reaction was to accuse me of wrongly ordering, refusing to accept the logic of why would I return a plate covered in cheese and want an identical replacement. His logic was further tested when it was highlighted to him that the dish he said I'd ordered had shrimp with it and neither of the plates delivered to me had any shrimps.My colleagues and I did enjoy several meals there, but we can only conclude there was a different crew working 2018-02-08. I'd suggest to the owner that the manager on duty will only do the business extreme damage and that covering errors with cheese will never fool anyone.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Bosveld Lapa Restaurant
Book a Table
Order Food at Bosveld Lapa Restaurant
Order Food
Contact Bosveld Lapa Restaurant
Contact Us
Address
1 Kiewiet Street
Lake Umuzi Waterfront
Secunda, Mpumalanga

 

View map
Food Served
TraditionalGameGrillsSouth African
Average Price$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday: 12:00 till late
Tuesday - Saturday: 10:00 till late
Sunday: 11:30 - 20:00
Facilities
Child Friendly
TV/Sports
Deliveries
Takeaways
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Fireplace
Secure Parking
Disabled
Outside Seating
Weddings
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT