Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
  • Media Reviews
Overall Camper817643
England, United Kingdom
23 Sep 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Worth every cent”
Very friendly to solo diner. Had the 7 course tasting menu, very expensive (1190 rand + tip + drinks+ water = 1650 total), but worth it. Lots of small dishes so not too filling, the paired wines to go with it would have been too much for me to drink so had a couple of glasses but was given some extras, wine a bit disappointing but food and ambience outshone everything. Restaurant is a smart, long, chandeliered room with good views over Paarl (ask for a window table if your dining companions are boring!). Service brilliant but sedate (3 hours total for meal). If you are eating shortly after sundown and the weather is good get there early and sit on the veranda for a spectacular sunset view of the mountains.Stand-out courses amongst an excellent series were the refreshment before the meat course of a raspberry and strawberry sorbet, the springbok meat course, and the banannas flambeed at the table for dessert. Disappointing was a fish course that was overly salted for my taste and a mushroom amuse boche where the pastry could have been flakier.If going for the 7 course tasting menu, don't take the cheese option - you will want to sample both dessert courses!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Camper817643Thank you for your feedback on your experience in Bosman's Restaurant. It is our passion that guests leave the Winelands with happy memories and always return wherever possible. We do hope that it will be possible for you to return to us one day. Kind regardsThe Grande Roche Management Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 501PaoloC
Bologna, Italy
04 Sep 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“perfect evening”
here fo dinner. great location and very professional and welcoming staff. we had an aperitif sitting on a sofa in front of a fire place then moved to the table where we had the degustation menu.7 course meal with pairing wines for all courses: food was nicely cooked and very well presented. you can see that the chef is Austrian cos there are a lot of European influences and that's not necessarily a bad thing. I just expected more fantasy in every dish. anyway, nothing to complain and the sommelier was great for all the dinner. definitely an experience and I'd love to come back again to South Africa just to eat at this place.don't forget it's a formal restaurant so no shorts or open shoes (for men of course)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Paolo CThank you again for your kind words and your feedback on Bosman's restaurant. It is our passion that guests leave the Winelands with happy memories and always return wherever possible. We do hope that it will be possible for you to return to us one day. Kind regardsThe Grande Roche Management Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ARCHIE0410
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
22 Jul 2018

“High expectations....”
I had high expectations from the website, however the food was good but just not what I was expecting. The vegetarian offering was limited and what I was served was FINE but not worth the hefty cost. May be for meat eaters it would be a different experience but for me it was no more than fine. The restaurant is also randomly located in the hotel reception. The lights don’t dim so it lacks atmosphere of a fine dining restaurant. My table was the closest to the reception desk, so during dinner I was distracted by guests checking in, only a couple of feet from my table. Huge potential but it needs some dividing screens for privacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Sales and Marketing Administrator at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Archie,Thank you for your review and your feedback on Bosman's Restaurant.We take pride in the food we serve, and we are most disappointed that we failed to impress you. your constructive criticism is much appreciated, and we will use it to implement the necessary policies.May you return to us in the future and enjoy a better experience of the Bosman's Restaurant.Kind Regards,The Grande Roche Management Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall HenricovL
Wellington, South Africa
24 May 2018

“Fantastic birthday lunch”
Yesterday was an amazing experience at Bosman's Restaurant. From the start everything went smooth. We were greeted by Mercia at the door, so friendly and knowledgeable. Food was on the lunch menu was outstanding but our highlight of the meal was the duck dish. Very pleasurable afternoon indeed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear HenricovLThank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are very glad that we were able to give you an enjoyable and memorable afternoon. Thank you for the special mention of Mercia's friendly and knowledgeable service and the outstanding duck dish.We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regardsThe Grande Roche management team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Dewald R
Cape Town Central, South Africa
22 May 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Service Let Them Down A Bit”
We visited them for a breakfast buffet - it included all your standard items as well as 4 oysters (which were very nice) and a glass of MCC . If you however prefer an "a la carte" menu, they also have that option available for breakfasts. The selection catered for most tastes and everything was fresh. Their outside seating area looks out over Paarl valley and the mountains in the distance, but they also have a inside area for when the weather isn't so great. Their service let them down a bit, with the waiters being a bit slow and infrequently clearing our tables - we were often left with empty plates on our tables which took up space. Overall I do think the breakfast buffet with the view is worth it and I recommend that you give them a try.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Dewald R, Thank you for taking the time to write about your breakfast experience at the Grande Roche Hotel. It is our passion that guests leave the Winelands with happy memories and always return wherever possible. We would like to sincerely apologize that we failed to deliver our promise to impress with service delivery. Your constructive criticism is much appreciated and we will use it to implement the necessary policies. We hope that you return to us in the future so we may live up to our standards and offer you the full 5 Star experience. Kind RegardsThe Grande Roche Management Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall AndrewLewisZA

17 May 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Best Mothers Day ever - according to my wife & mom-in-law”
What a fantastic restaurant and hotel ... need to come back here and stay for a weekend I think.Friendly staff greeting us on arrival and taking care of our every need. The food was spectacularly delicious.And the views ... well, they're pretty amazing at this time of year. Vineyards all sorts o f beautiful colours, and our walk around the hotel grounds after lunch was really spectacular.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Sales and Marketing Administrator at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Andrew,Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Grande Roche Hotel and Bosman's restaurant. We are so pleased that we were able to make their Mothers day even more memorable.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind RegardsGrande Roche Management Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall martiejkrone
Gauteng, South Africa
20 Apr 2018

“A Sommelier of note”
We recently dined at Bosman's and were in for a wonderful evening. It was a wedding anniversary celebration. Had it not been, we would not have indulged in such a pricey meal as portions are not large, especially not for a 6foot man who cycles and myself who has a healthy appetite. We made an allowance for this by my husband having a 4 course and me the 3 course menu. Lovely freshly baked rolls and breads helped. The food was sublime and worth its weight in gold. Absolutely delicious. Why would anyone want quantity over quality? Each plate was an artistic masterpiece and the taste lived up to its visual creation. However the highlight for us was the attentions of our sommelier Duane Hendricks. He provided excellent advice, interesting facts and wonderful service starting with the drinks out on the patio as the setting sun bathed the surrounding mountains in glowing rosy hues to assisting us with our wine choices for each course.... which were many since our menus were different and we delighted in feasting on all the great tastes. We enjoyed such a delightful wedding anniversary dinner. A beautiful evening to remember. Thank you Duane; thank you all at the Grande Roche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall richdrkt
Kinglake, Australia
30 Mar 2018

“Elegent”
The staff were excellent. I could not fault the food. Having breakfast on the terrace was a treat in itself with breathtaking views.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall trudy2410
wiltshire
19 Feb 2018

“Nice quality food but we left this restaurant still hungry!”
We returned here after having a superb lunch exactly a year ago. The view and ambiance are lovely and the service is also very good. I was surprised at the higher prices this year and expected even better food than last year, but alas I was disappointed. My husband and I ordered the steak which was very tasty, but there was nothing else on the plate apart from 2 mange tout, 4 green beans and 4 blobs of mashed potato which was a bit tasteless. The steak was probably about 200g. It didn’t take long to finish it and I still felt hungry. Vegetables are an important part of a meal but definitely didn’t figure in this one at all.The banana bread dessert was very good with great taste combinations but again consisted of two very thin slices of banana bread, some thicker more generous slices would have been good.When we received the bill I was shocked to see that we had been charged 40R for a bottle of wine, way too much!!!So all in all, I came away disappointed and hungry which is not good considering the large bill. We will not be returning and we will also not be recommending.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Vanessa E

18 Feb 2018

“Great food and staff”
Always worth visiting this restaurant. Never had a bad meal yet.A bit pricey but worth it. The view is great and staff are very friendly.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Bosman's Restaurant @ Grande Roche Hotel
Book a Table
Contact Bosman's Restaurant @ Grande Roche Hotel
Contact Us
Address
Grande Roche Hotel
Plantasie Street
Paarl
7646

 

View map
Food Served
Fine DiningBistroGlobal/InternationalLight MealsSeafood
Average Price$$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 19:00 - 23:00 (kitchen closes at 21:30)
Facilities
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Disabled
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Accommodation
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT