Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Bruce062
Durban, South Africa
06 Nov 2019

“Best Restaurant in Pinetown”
Good wholesome home cooked food at great prices, from an establishment that has been hear for ever. A great local hangout, that many people come back & visit long after they have left Pinetown. The best Eisbien in the country - all their meals are good & their curried tripe is the best if that's your thing.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall shutterbugza
Pinetown, South Africa
15 Oct 2018

“German specialties”
A typical German restaurant feel about it. Homely decor and pleasant waiters. The host comes round to chat and adds to the charm. Some of the dishes have been localised, for instance, the sauerkraut. is not sour enough unless you specify that you want the real thing. Definitely will be going more often.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall DaneSalmon
Kloof, South Africa
09 Sep 2018

“Too smokey inside”
This establishment allows patrons to smoke inside and it is awful. You can hardly breathe.Even though there were about 10 patrons having drinks, last rounds were called at 7.30 and at 8 the light were turned off while everyone quickly finished their drinks.We will never be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MarkMShark

24 May 2018

“Never again”
Firstly they do a great eisbein and roast potato.That’s all there is though. Unfortunately the sauerkraut is awful, more like boiled cabbage, the veggies are frozen mixed veg thrown in a microwave. The waitress is surly and unhelpful, the owner unapologetic when we complained about the veggies. He simply stated “we don’t do vegetables well.”It closes at 8 pm sharp whereafter you are told to leave as the gate is closing.This is simply a pub for the desperate locals.Avoid it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Sameera K

29 Mar 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Racist Owner!!!!”
Our first visit to Black Forest Tavern was a pleasant event, the staff was friendly and the atmosphere was excellent. Our second visit started off excellent with great company and service until the arrival of the German owner with the night shift staff who called us (indian's) "Guptas" upon seeing us for the first time. Furthermore my husband tried to assist in fixing the TV sound whereby the owner grabbed the remote out of his hand and stared at us abruptly. We paid for our drinks and left. We will NEVER return due to the racist owner. It was an awful experience!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall DAVID V
Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng, South Africa
05 Mar 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great value for money”
This restaurant serves excellent food, at great value for money and very friendly staff. Heide really goes out of her way to make one feel at home. However, a cleanup and refurbishment is definitely way overdue.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Anthea E G
Sydney, Australia
28 Apr 2017

“Great little family restaurant”
Dined at the Black Forest twice whilst visiting SA and felt very at home. Heidi makes everyone feel so welcome and greets everyone like they are a friend. The food is very good and inexpensive- nothing fancy, but always delicious. The waitress remembered us from the first time and offered to bring us the same drinks.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall TnTdurbs
Durban, South Africa
06 Apr 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Exceptional value for really good food”
This pub venue with a verandah & separate restaurant is overdue a refurb but it's become a frequent haunt due to the incredible value of some excellent food. The eisbein is legendary as should be the lamb curry which melts off the bone. The owner has come to recognise us & the staff are friendly & efficient. The food & drinks are really reasonably priced so even more reason to recommend the venue.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall GDay1044
Durban, South Africa
31 Mar 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Neisbien”
There is nothing fancy about this off the beaten track restaurant – good wholesome food – generous servings especially the Eisbien – reasonable prices and friendly service – if you are hungry this is the place to go - sort of cosy pub for afterwork sundowners.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Elize K
Pinetown, South Africa
25 Aug 2016

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Discovery a gem on our doorstep”
We have now been to this establishment twice. Needless to say, this is our new local eatery. The service is great. The waitress remembers you from your previous visit. The owner is involved and it shows in the service. The food is to die for. My husband had Eisbein on both visits. I opted for the Pork Pot Roast on the first visit and the Oxtail on the second visit. Outstanding. There is a smoking section for the smokers. Definitely worth a visit. To make it even more outstanding, is that the bill will not break the bank.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Black Forest Tavern
Book a Table
Contact Black Forest Tavern
Contact Us
Address
55 Glenugie Road
Pinetown
3610

 

View map
Food Served
Global/InternationalGrillsPub MealsSeafood
Average Price$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Kitchen:
Lunch:12:00 - 14:30
Dinner: 17:00 - 21:30
Last Order at 20:30
Pub: 12:00 till late
Closed Sundays
Facilities
TV/Sports
Smoking Section
Functions
Secure Parking
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT