Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall peterflack
Cape Town, South Africa
13 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Parkhurst for Eating Pleasure”
My wife is a born and bred Joburg girl. I am not. She tells me that, back in the day, Parkhurst used to be a lower middle class suburb, Well, it's not now. And Fourth Avenue is unrecognizable. It is an avenue of cafes, restaurants and, yes, bistros.We have been in Johannesburg for two months and, I confess, apart from steakhouses and the Fishmonger, we have not had a memorable meal. Not all bad, just not memorable. In fact, some eminently forgettable.My son recommended Bistro Vine, which describes itself as a French bistro. From the outside it was unprepossessing last night partly because of the blackout imposed by our beloved Eskom although there was no mention of this on their website. We were met at the entrance to what must have once been a little Parkhurst house and ushered to our seats in the semi-dark. Not an auspicious beginning - although Jane felt the candlelight tables were romantic - and made worse when our helpful and well-informed waitress, Bianca, explained all the things they would not be able to cook given that, although they cooked with gas, some things needed electricity, including the extractor fans.Aah well, we settled on mussels for me and a smoked salmon pancake for my wife followed by sea food pasta for her and duck confit for me. Originally I wanted the roast pork chop with apple, mustard, soya sauce, thyme and honey served with bacon and pommes puree but the blackout rendered this less appealing than it originally was.The decor was nothing to write home about. Big black and white anonymous photos on the wall and not much else except the menu and wine lists written on chalk boards with a long bar counter at the back but the place was packed, Not an empty seat and on the Wednesday before Valentine's Day! Good sign, I thought and so it turned out to be. My wife could not eat all her delicious pasta but enjoyed it so much she took the rest home in a doggie bag but no doggie is going to get anywhere near it if I know her. And the same went for the second duck leg on my plate deliciously complemented by sweet potatoes and braised red cabbage, which added just a touch of sweetness along with the apple and salsa verde. Excellent!We then had room for desert and the spoonful of Jane's orange and amarula creme brulee I was given was delicious but not as good as the dark chocolate, hazlenut and meringue semi-freddo which I had.All this complemented but the impeccable service from Bianca. Oh yes, and the wine list included a number of French wines and the South African ones included wines by the glass, a feature which I like. This allowed Jane to have a glass of Villera MCC and me a glass of their sauvignon blanc to begin and yet keep the 2012 Glenelly Estate Reserve which I brought for the main course.The meal, including a generous gratuity, came to R1080.00 which, for Johannesburg, is inexpensive (especially for a meal of this quality) and confirmed that this was the best value for money meal we have had in Johannesburg in the last two months and we will definitely be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall KenH2549
Johannesburg, South Africa
07 Jan 2019

“A cut above”
Small and well-appointed with one of the best wine-lists up on the blackboard, go here for a more upmarket meal in an unpretentious yet classy little place
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall AnnieMack21
Johannesburg, South Africa
02 Dec 2018

“Always great food & service”
This lovely little restaurant has become my favorite local restaurant. Always delicious food and friendly helpful staff. Salmon is yummy as is the steak frites. Mussels also really wonderful and the Camembert spring rolls simply amazing. Friends had the mushroom linguine and for a moment I had food envy, until I tasted my salmon with curry dressing. For pudding the brownie with the burnt vanilla ice cream is a must. Even better are the specials they have on at the moment! Love this place.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Rex W
Johannesburg, South Africa
07 Nov 2018

“Sunday Lunch”
Tucked away in 4th Ave., Bistro Vine is always a good option. Just good food, friendly service and never a disappointment. No airs and graces, genuine small venue for a casual meal.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall THW03
Johannesburg, South Africa
03 Sep 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Pork Belly with a difference and great seafood pasta”
We popped in for an impromptu lunch. We had not heard of Bistro Vine so thought we should give it a try and loved it. Service was good, but it was during the week with little activity. (i.e. I cannot comment on service when it is busy). The menu looked interesting and when we selected the pork belly and the seafood Linguine we were really impressed. I've looked at the online menu again and the seafood Linguine is still on the menu, but I don't see the pork belly. If it is still a treat. Diced, tossed with calamari tubes & heads, chorizo, sweet chili and a a couple other items. Well worth a try if it is still available.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Pakiripost
Auckland, New Zealand
29 Aug 2018

“Excellent dinner”
Had an excellent dinner here last night. Good food. Bouillabaisse was superb as was the pear and blue cheese salad. Highly recommend.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Jus_Lobsure

09 Aug 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Beautiful ending to a great evening”
Quaint eatery with really attentive service, lovely atmosphere and good food, although the Parmesan Crusted Broccoli side dish is worth a miss, ended the evening with the most amazing Lemon Tart-let I've ever had in my life, was a really memorable evening.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall hannetjiee
Johannesburg, South Africa
22 Jul 2018

“Cosy, friendly, fabulous!”
What a charming little restaurant - full of character, lovely service and tasty meals. The food was prepared in unusual ways, but not so way-out that one could not recognise it. My cassoulet portion was enormous, filled to the brim with tasty surprises. Two of our party had the steaks - tender and juicy and the shoulder of lamb was stunning. My panacotta was exceptionally smooth and delicate, but the coulis on top was a bit too overwhelming. Otherwise no complaints, only praise.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall colleen S
Johannesburg, South Africa
03 Jul 2018

“Great French food”
Really enjoyed our third visit to bistro vine. A cozy atmosphere on the viby 4th Ave. can highly recommend the bouillabaisse and steak frites. There specials are also good and varied.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Robin F
Johannesburg, South Africa
31 May 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Excellent food at fair price”
Started with duck liver pate that has to be one of the best I have had in Johannesburg-mmm, very mmm. Moved onto a beef shin stew that was superb and finished off with a poached pear covered in almonds and dark chocolate that was sublime( I am not crazy about dark chocolate but this was simply put excellent)My wife had a lamb rump, and our friends had steak as mains( the chips are excellent), muscles , and a pork belly and chirozo in chili starter-not one person had anything negative to say on their order-quiet the opposite in fact, all were highly complimentaryThe service was good-attentive and friendly but not in your face and the background music was not in competition with ones conversation.Fair to upper price for the meal with drinks but all in all very very good and I will return.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Bistro Vine
Book a Table
Contact Bistro Vine
Contact Us
Address
24 4th Avenue
Parkhurst

 

View map
Food Served
BistroFrench
Average Price$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Tuesday - Sunday:
Lunch: 12:00 - 15:00
Dinner: 17:30 - 21:30
Facilities
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Smoking Section
Functions
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT