Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall KimduplessisTTS

12 Dec 2018

“Beautiful setting under the trees!”
This was our first stop on the Wine Tram and what a lovely welcome and perfect beginning to our tour.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review your afternoon here with us.We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your lunch at our restaurant in the winelands and the surrounding gardens.Thank you once again for visiting us and we look forward in seeing you again soon.Have a lovely day further.Best Wishes,The Backsberg Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall LongHaulMonkey
Manchester, United Kingdom
24 Nov 2018

“Good Food, but very little for vegans”
We were at the wine estate for wine tasting on the wine tram, and had lunch here. Unfortunately, only one item on the lunch menu was suitable for vegans. Otherwise a great experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Geoff C
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
24 Nov 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“EXCELLENT FOOD AND WINE”
I hadn't been to Backsberg for years, A massive improvement. Their wine was always good but their food, everyone enjoyed.A had the hake.... very good, but the rest of the family and friends had the lamb burgers.... this was a huge quantity of sliced lamb off a spit... comes with roast potatoes etc.The chenin blanc was ridiculously cheap, table price same as the cellar.It was a Friday. Not crowded. Table Service poor.... very slow!We shall return over next couple of months.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review your afternoon here with us.We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your lunch at our restaurant in the winelands. We have noted your comments regarding the service received and management has been informed of this accordingly.Thank you once again for visiting us and we look forward in seeing you again soon.Have a lovely day further.Best Wishes,The Backsberg Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall grobbelaard69
Cape Town, South Africa
07 Nov 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“What a pleasant suprpise”
Very warm and friendly atmosphere. Very good food and service. A nice place to sit down, relax and have a conversation without having to shout at one another
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review your visit here with us.Our main aim which we strive towards is to create a environment of relaxation and enjoyment whilst providing our guests with a holistic view of the surrounding gardens.Thank you once again for visiting us and we look forward in welcoming you back to our estate soon.Kind regards,The Backsberg Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall desmond e

22 Oct 2018

“Birthday party”
My favorite outing is to backsberg. Good food, great service and a friendly staff. (Ask for Sally-Ann)Enjoy a Sunday lunch with wine tasting, all under one roof.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review your afternoon here with us.We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your Birthday luncheon at our restaurant in the winelands.It is always lovely to hear that our most valuable assets - our staff - have made you feel at home from the start we have relayed the message of thanks to Sally-Ann.Thank you once again for visiting us and we look forward in seeing you again soon.Have a lovely day further.Best Wishes,The Backsberg Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MiloDexter
Cape Town, South Africa
13 Oct 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Leisurely Lunch”
We were a family of 4 who visited Backsberg Restaurant a few weeks back. We first had a walk around the beautiful garden before doing a little wine tasting & then lunch. The lunch was very good & moderately priced except for 3 very small quiche our daughter selected, which really were over-priced and a definite draw-back compared to the other meals. My husband selected the lamb cutlets with salad, our grand-daughter chose a burger and I settled for a chicken pot pie which was quite tasty. Service was adequate & the waitrons friendly. Our first visit & we may decide to go again sometime - giving the quiche a miss of course. They are also on Entertainer which is a bonus.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review your afternoon here with us.We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your lunch at our restaurant in the winelands. We have noted your comments regarding the items ordered and management has been informed of this accordingly.Thank you once again for visiting us and we look forward in seeing you again soon.Have a lovely day further.Best Wishes,The Backsberg Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ZenaB90

08 Oct 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Fantastic service and great food”
We had lunch on one of our tram stops at this establishment. The staff were all very accommodating and helpful, they even arranged for us to do our wine and brandy tasting at the restaurant while we had our lunch. Thank you for the lovely service, especially Jonathan!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review your afternoon here with us.We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your lunch at our restaurant in the winelands. We are also delighted to hear that our most valuable assets - our staff - have made you feel at home from the start we have relayed the message of thanks to Jonathan.Thank you once again for visiting us and we look forward in seeing you again soon.Have a lovely day further.Best Wishes,The Backsberg Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall hcoertze
Great Brak River, South Africa
03 Oct 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Lovely”
Everything, from the waiters to the food was splendid. The wine tasting was a huge success and we can recommend this stop definitely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Guest,Thank you for writing this review about your visit here with us at Backsberg.We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed it so much.Your kind words about the team has been relayed to them - we always aim to accommodate our guest’s preferences as much as possible!It would be so wonderful welcoming you back for another visit here with us on the estate.Warm RegardsThe Backsberg Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall electrolabels
Cape Town, South Africa
17 Sep 2018

“Delicious carvery/spit braai lunch”
We shared our friend's 60th birthday party which was a tremendous success. Shaun the manager organized the event so full marks to him! We all had the carvery/spit braai which was enjoyed by everyone. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant and nothing was too much for them. A place to go and relax and enjoy a Sunday lunch whether inside or outside.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review your visit here with us.We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your lunch here with us at our restaurant.We are all about relaxation and enjoyment and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tranquility here with us. Our passion is people and wine and to marry the two together to make a perfect fit we require all our valuable assets - our staff and skilled team that leads us to further heights.Thank you once again for your wonderful feedback and kind words received.Have a lovely day and we look forward in welcoming you back to our home in the winelands soon.Best Wishes,The Backsberg Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall jilliankotze
Paarl, South Africa
11 Jul 2018

“A day out with friends”
What a great day spent with friends over a glass of wine and a platter of cheeses and meats! after a wine tasting. Friendly staff and thanks to Sean, manager of the restaurant, for a wonderful day!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review your visit here with us.We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your lunch with us at our Restaurant. We are all about relaxation and enjoyment and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tranquility here with us whilst enjoying a glass of wine in the garden.Please stop by for a glass of wine or a bite to eat when you are in the area again.Have a lovely day and once again thank you for your wonderful feedback.Best Wishes,The Backsberg Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Backsberg Restaurant
Book a Table
Contact Backsberg Restaurant
Contact Us
Address
Backsberg Estate Cellars
Simondium Road, Klapmuts
Paarl
7925

 

View map
Food Served
South AfricanLight Meals
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Wednesday - Saturday:
A la Carte menu from 09:00 - 15:30
Monday & Tuesday: Closed
Sunday: Lamb on the spit buffet
Dinner functions on request for groups above 20
Facilities
Child Friendly
Outside Seating
Disabled
Functions
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT