Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall electrolabels
Cape Town, South Africa
17 Sep 2018

“Delicious carvery/spit braai lunch”
We shared our friend's 60th birthday party which was a tremendous success. Shaun the manager organized the event so full marks to him! We all had the carvery/spit braai which was enjoyed by everyone. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant and nothing was too much for them. A place to go and relax and enjoy a Sunday lunch whether inside or outside.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review your visit here with us.We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your lunch here with us at our restaurant.We are all about relaxation and enjoyment and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tranquility here with us. Our passion is people and wine and to marry the two together to make a perfect fit we require all our valuable assets - our staff and skilled team that leads us to further heights.Thank you once again for your wonderful feedback and kind words received.Have a lovely day and we look forward in welcoming you back to our home in the winelands soon.Best Wishes,The Backsberg Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall jilliankotze
Paarl, South Africa
11 Jul 2018

“A day out with friends”
What a great day spent with friends over a glass of wine and a platter of cheeses and meats! after a wine tasting. Friendly staff and thanks to Sean, manager of the restaurant, for a wonderful day!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review your visit here with us.We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your lunch with us at our Restaurant. We are all about relaxation and enjoyment and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tranquility here with us whilst enjoying a glass of wine in the garden.Please stop by for a glass of wine or a bite to eat when you are in the area again.Have a lovely day and once again thank you for your wonderful feedback.Best Wishes,The Backsberg Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall EllleBeee

10 Jun 2018

“My new favourite wine farm 😁🍷”
We just had the Sunday buffet at Backsberg. Oh my, it was outstanding! When we walked into the restaurant I mentioned that it was a bit cold. Within minutes both fireplaces were packed and lit up. When we went to dish up our mains the roast potatoes weren’t on the serving table yet and our waitress brought them to our table when they were ready.The food was absolutely delicious. The lamb on the spit and the granadilla meringue were my favourite two dishes.It’s the little things in life that matter. All the extra care we received today will see us back in the very near future. Thank Shoan (our waitress) and the rest of the team.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, General Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review your visit here with us.We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your lunch here with us at our restaurant.We are all about relaxation and enjoyment and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tranquility here with us. Our passion is people and wine and to marry the two together to make a perfect fit we require all our valuable assets - our staff and skilled team that leads us to further heights.Thank you once again for your wonderful feedback and kind words received.Have a lovely day and we look forward in welcoming you back to our home in the winelands soon.Best Wishes,The Backsberg Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall EttieneN
Cape Town, South Africa
02 Jun 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Excellent”
The atmosphere in the restaurant is always nice and the food (and the wine) was delicious....yummy! - The 2018 Chenin Blanc was a good choice. Thank you for a wonderful welcome. We were already spotted in the parking area and received outstanding service by Heydi (well done girl) and Sean.Thank you Chef - your years of experience says it all - Sean, keep up the standard. We had another great experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review your afternoon with us.We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your lunch here with us at our restaurant in the winelands. We are also delighted to hear that our most valuable assets - our staff - have made you feel at home from the start.Thank you once again for visiting us and we look forward in seeing you soon again.Have a lovely week further.Best Wishes,The Backsberg Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Mike W

14 May 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Do pop in here!”
We stopped here for lunch whilst doing wine tasting on the wine tram and what a gem. The food was good, service good and ambiance and the entire atmosphere superb. You cant go wrong with stopping here for lunch and tasting, def a favourite among our group of 12.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review your afternoon with us.We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your lunch here with us at our restaurant in the winelands. Thank you once again for visiting us and we look forward in seeing you soon again.Have a lovely week further.Best Wishes,The Backsberg Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall PaddySA1000
Cape Town Central, South Africa
05 May 2018

“Great Wine, Food and beautiful setting”
This is must stop place. Restaurant is set under oak trees and a perfect place of weather is good. Service and food really good and great value for money. Food well priced too.We also did a wine tasting here but I only really liked their Savignon Blanc and Cabernet Savignon. Perhaps would need to try again in the future as it really is a great place to stop.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review your afternoon with us.We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your lunch here with us at our restaurant in the winelands. When you are in the area again please do let us know so that we can host you and your loved ones for a private wine tasting led by our sommelier to experience the entire range available.Thank you once again for visiting us and we look forward in seeing you soon again.Have a lovely week further.Best Wishes,The Backsberg Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Robert M
London
19 Mar 2018

“Fantastic spot”
The location is amazing , weather is amazing and the wine tating ambiance is the best you can get. The staff expertise on the wine tasting are just great and you will leave believing you know a lot more about wine than when you arrived.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review your visit here with us.We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your wine tasting experience at our Tasting Room overlooking the gardens.We are all about relaxation and enjoyment and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tranquility here with us. Our passion is people and wine and to marry the two together to make a perfect fit we require all our valuable assets - our staff and skilled team that leads us to further heights.Thank you once again for your wonderful feedback and kind words received.Have a lovely day and we look forward in welcoming you back to our home in the winelands soon.Best Wishes,The Backsberg Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall tonynflynn
Cape Town, South Africa
07 Mar 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Restaurant manager too busy”
I booked a table for 5 people for Sunday 4 March in early February as we had visitors from the UK arriving. We arrived half an hour early, was shown to our table. We are happy with it as it was bit away from the musician as one of the party has hearing problems. We asked if we could do a wine tasting first which the staff agreed. When we came back, they had given our table away and tried to move us to one very near to musician. Eventually we settled for an inferior table. I asked 3 times to talk to the restaurant manager but he was too busy with other matters as they had an event on that evening. I also asked 3 times that he call me on Monday leaving my number. It is now Wednesday and he has failed to call.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, General Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Tony,I trust that you are well.Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us on Sunday. I was at the restaurant on Sunday in fact.Sally-Ann mentioned the afternoon that they have made a mistake and gave other guest your table by mistake. I can assure you that this has never happened in the past as we always take extra care of our guests.The restaurant is closed on a Monday & Tuesday weekly therefore I was only back today at work being Wednesday. I received your message that I should call you and now received the message on Tripadvisor that i have not called you as yet.As far as our floor manager explained to us that the situation was managed and a tables was made available on the day. From our side we would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused and we would like to give you a call at a suitable time to explain from our side what went wrong.We fully understand your frustration and value your feedback.Kind Regards,The Backsberg Familly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Wattie60

02 Mar 2018

“Restaurant feedback”
Good dayToday 2 March 2018 we visit Backsberg wine farm as we did previously. Best redwine is the reason visiting the farm.Today was a great disappointment for us due to the fact that the chees platter we ordered was by far sub standard. Hardly any cheese and just cheap dry bread and crackers. Lots of grape and two strawberries. No cold meat or olives.We did eat cheese platters for cheaper but much more value for money at other wine farms.Their was guests that was also disappointed.Sorry to say Backsberg will not see us again and neither support them with purchacing any wine. We did speak to the staff but the feedback was that this is the platter they serve.Our friends will also be informed.Greetings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, General Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Guest,Thank you for your feedback received.From our side we would like to state the following as clearly stated on our menu and all material available to guest on the estate:Platters - Served all dayCharcuterie Platter R220Charcuterie, locally sourced cheeses, pickles, spreads, nuts, fresh fruit & fresh bread (Serves 2)Cheese Platter R185Locally sourced cheeses, preserves, spreads, nuts & fresh bread (Serves 2)Winelands Platter R400Locally sourced cheeses, preserves, spreads, nuts, fresh bread, quiches, spring rolls, summer salad, fruit skewers, lamb cutlets, smoked chicken, beef sausage & hake goujons (Serves 2 to 4)Picnic Basket R365Locally sourced cheeses, preserves, spreads, nuts, fresh bread, quiches, spring rolls, summer salad, fruit skewers, chocolate brownies, crackers, water & a bottle of wine (Serves 2)*Pre-booked. Please ask your waitron for additional informationWe are sure that should your feedback been raised with a manger on duty on the day the misunderstanding could have been avoided and a solution given to your platter experience with us.We would like to invite you and your family back to Backsberg to experience the full experience that the restaurant has to offer.We look forward in hearing back from you soon.Warm Regards,The Backsberg Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Ashsaw
Surrey, United Kingdom
25 Feb 2018

“Sunday Spit-Roast”
Good for a group and always popular the tables and chairs are set up under umbrellas in the paved courtyard.Definitely go with a healthy appetite as there is a lot of food!Self-service starter with lots of choices. Followed by the main event of a lamb spit-roast with side dishes. Then there are the desserts ... Fantastic singer to entertain and make the day go with a swing!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us at our restaurant.We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your Sunday afternoon with us for our Sunday Lunch Buffet.We look forward in welcoming you back to our estate soon and wish you all the best.Have a lovely day further.Warm Regards,The Backsberg Familly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Backsberg Restaurant
Book a Table
Contact Backsberg Restaurant
Contact Us
Address
Backsberg Estate Cellars
Simondium Road, Klapmuts
Paarl
7925

 

View map
Food Served
South AfricanLight Meals
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Wednesday - Saturday:
A la Carte menu from 09:00 - 15:30
Monday & Tuesday: Closed
Sunday: Lamb on the spit buffet
Dinner functions on request for groups above 20
Facilities
Child Friendly
Outside Seating
Disabled
Functions
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT