Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall LanceS517

03 Apr 2019

“A must visit”
This is a must. Tucked away you’ll find excellent food a spotless setting and great service. A table of 4 we had Portuguese rump outstanding, chicken cooked to perfection and prawns (pricey) but excellent. Couldn’t fault our meal. Highly recommended.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Kvolkova
Johannesburg, South Africa
23 Mar 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Yummy and atmosphere is cozy”
Meals have great flavour,nice hidden gem in randburg,what a pleasure to find it and eat there.Good quality meals.Coming back soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Jeremy S
florida
13 Mar 2019

Food
Service
“Delicious prawns”
On Friday March 8th I wanted prawns for lunch, near Sandton. A combination of heavy traffic and an electricity blackout – thank you Eskom – made me late (2:35 pm) but they kept the kitchen open and I had a plate of queen sized prawns, split open and grilled with rice and green beans. With a Windhoek beer to wash it down, hard to beat! A nice welcome from the manager, too.The restaurant is in a shopping mall, not pretentious. Murals of (presumably) Portugal on the walls plus flags and football and bullfight posters. Wooden tables. Altogether a good experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall hvisagie
Durban, South Africa
12 Mar 2019

“Great Portuguese. Great atmosphere”
Small and understated. Easy to miss. But please make sure you don't. Great food. Great atmosphere. Very friendly staff. Highly recommended
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Mandy B
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
10 Mar 2019

“More off a family restaurant than dining out”
upon arriving we got a table that had nothing on it-it was bare, barring some crumbs from the previous patrons.Our waiter appeared-took out drinks order, without writing it down and then got it wrong.This about 9 pm by now, the table behind us had a screaming kid running around which whilst the parents might think it was cute we did not-this was our social evening out and our friends had left their kids behind as we were doing an adult evenemimg-no problem with taking your kids out at night, but go to a restaurant where kids can play on the kids play items-or control them, I did not walk up to their table and blow smoke in their faces( Im not a smoker but considered becoming one to shoe them how inconsiderate of other diners they were being-nonetheless, we wanr=ted a half portion of goat stew to taste the goat which 3 of the able had not done to date-personally I think it is so much tastier than lamb if cooked properly, but no half portion/starter portion allowed so we got a full portion-was very nice-but no client accommodation from partronAll in all the food was ok, definitely not bad but not great either-service a bit slack and the casual attitude of the proprietor damaging to repeat business.\Was IpleasedIwent -yes, ticked off the boxWill I go back-noToo casual( management and staff) and a bit like the local family eatery rather than a restaurant I want to take my date, my wife, out to-bit grubby actually- shorts , slip slops and a tea shirt would be fine here.-sort of impression I got.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall sirbrandonjohnson
Randburg, South Africa
27 Feb 2019

“Dinner”
I had a great dinner at 1920. The restaurant is like eating at a friends house. The portions are decent sized and i left very full. I certainly will return with friends.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall peterflack
Cape Town, South Africa
10 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Surprisingly Poor Portuguese Food”
I am sure I will irritate some people in Johannesburg with this comment - I don't mean to - but, after eating out regularly in town over the last two months at a variety of restaurants recommended by the locals, I have come to the conclusion that most must just have got used to mediocre food. Our lunch at 1920 Portuguese Restaurant this past Saturday was no exception.What a pity because, firstly, I enjoy Portuguese food and, secondly, the restaurant was open, airy and had an inviting atmosphere although, given the recent spate of hot days in Johannesburg, you would have thought by now that restaurants, including this one, would have invested in some decent air conditioning as there is nothing enticing about eating with perspiration trickling down your collar.I don't want to be unfair in this review as the three of us ate fish while one had calamari (and finished our meal with coffee) so I can hardly say we covered a cross section of the menu but, when you eat the special, advertised as fresh kabeljou - my favourite South African fish - you are entitled to expect that is what you will get. Well, it wasn't. The fish was dry and all but tasteless, a product of over-cooked frozen fish. We were only offered one accompaniment with the fish. My French fries were not cooked through despite asking for them to be very crisp. My wife was given reheated, frozen rice and the third member who chose a salad was given a few lettuce leaves and slices of tomato. None of it was inviting and the peri peri which I tried because the fish was so tasteless, burnt my mouth but had very little flavour.I feel as if I should give the restaurant another chance and try some of their signature dishes and maybe we will but next stop for us will be a little French style bistro in Parkhurst we have heard about.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ozbok
Qld
21 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Given the build up, a little bit disappointed”
The venue is good, the wait staff were great but, in the main, the food did not quite meet expectations and was wholesome rather than interesting. Of course, this may have come down to our menu choices but, with the exception of the Queen Prawn dish, we did not come away saying, "wow, that was great!".The Chourico and Trinchado starter were OK but fairly basic. For mains, the Pork chops & mash was just that. The Feijoada & rice was, quite frankly, somewhat lacking in taste and, for me personally, a canteen quality dish. The queen prawn & rice serving was excellent and much enjoyed.The creme caramel and the Peppermint crisp desserts were reasonably tasty.All in all, while it was a pleasant evening and the service was good, we felt the food was not the highlight of the evening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Odyssey14257491124

24 Dec 2018

“Mr”
Once again a superb meal, the prawns were exceptional.Unfortunately being the last day before closing for the holidays they ran out of calamari but the fresh hake was a fantastic substitute.Really enjoy this family restaurant which offers scrumptious Portuguese fare.Trust the new Hyde Park one will continue the tradition of excellent food...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall haraldmossbacher

09 Dec 2018

“Little gem”
We’d a three course dinner. Starting off with the Amêijoas (clams in tomato, onion, port is a must), mains the Lulas and Madeira Espetada accompanied by a bottle Warwick were great too as the desserts. Manager was checking each course and staff extremely attentive. Great food, wine and friendly service on a very moderate price level - what else can one ask for.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at 1920 Portuguese Restaurant - Ferndale
Book a Table
Contact 1920 Portuguese Restaurant - Ferndale
Contact Us
Address
Ferndale Village Shopping Centre
Cnr Main Avenue & Oxford Street
Ferndale, Randburg

 

View map
Food Served
PortugueseGrillsSeafoodTraditional
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Tuesday - Saturday:
11:00 - 15:00 & 17:00 - 21:30
Sunday: 12:00 - 15:00
Monday: Closed
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
TV/Sports
Functions
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT